Important Note About Access to Databases
Be sure to read the Database Access Guide carefully before beginning your research.
Georgetown Law Library's Treatise Finder
|
|
Preeminent treatises, identified by a "gold metal," are recognized by scholars and practitioners as one of the leading authorities on a specific subject. |
![]() |
Study aids, identified by a light bulb, are useful resources for introduction or brushing up on a new subject specialty. |
- Treatise FinderBrowse over 50 practice areas.
Guide Outline
- General Encyclopedias and Guides
- Topical Annotations, Selected Topics
- Rutter Group Practice Guides
- Accounting for Lawyers & Law Practice Management
- A.D.A. (Americans with Disabilities Act) Practice
- Administrative Law
- Admiralty/Maritime Law
- Antitrust/Trade Regulation
- Appeals/Appellate Procedure (See also: Trial Technique/Advocacy)
- Arbitration/Mediation
- Attorney Fees
- Automobiles (See also: Insurance)
- Aviation
- Banking
- Bankruptcy
- Bar Exam
- Business (See also: Contracts, Commercial/UCC)
- Civil Procedure (See: Court Practice)
- Civil Rights/Discrimination (See also: A.D.A. Practice, Employment Law)
- Class Actions
- Collective Bargaining/Public Sector (See: Labor Law)
- Commercial/UCC
- Community Property (See: Family Law)
- Constitutional Law
- Construction
- Consumer Protection & Advertising Law (See also: Debt Collection, Bankruptcy)
- Contracts
- Copyright (See: Intellectual Property)
- Corporations/Partnerships/LLCs (See also: Nonprofits)
- Court Practice (See also: Form Books, Discovery, Jury Instructions, Sentencing, and Trial Technique)
- Criminal Law and Procedure
- Damages (See also: Remedies and individual subject areas, e.g. Insurance, Torts, etc.)
- Data Protection (See: Privacy, Internet Law)
- Debt Collection (See also: Bankruptcy)
- Discovery (See also: Court Practice)
- Discrimination (See: Civil Rights, A.D.A. Practice, and Employment Law)
- Education Law
- Elder Law
- Elections & Lobbying
- Employment Law (For Collective Bargaining/Public Sector, see Labor Law)
- Entertainment, Sports and Art Law
- Environmental Law
- Estate Planning/Wills/Trusts (See also: Probate)
- Evidence
- Family Law/Community Property
- Form Books (See also: Court Practice, Discovery, Jury Instructions)
- Government Liability
- Health Law (See: Medical Malpractice)
- Immigration
- Insurance
- Intellectual Property
- Internet Law (See also: Privacy/Data Protection)
- Jury Instructions
- Juveniles
- Labor Law/Collective Bargaining (See also: Employment Law)
- Land Use (See also: Real Property)
- Landlord-Tenant/Commercial Leases (See also: Real Property)
- Legal Ethics/Professional Responsibility
- Legal Writing (See also: Style Manuals)
- Licensing
- Local Government/Municipal Law
- Maritime Law (See: Admiralty)
- Medical Malpractice/Health Law/Health Care
- Medicare (See: Social Security)
- Mortgages (See: Real Property)
- National Security
- Nonprofits
- Paralegals
- Partnerships (See: Corporation/Partnership)
- Patents (See: Intellectual Property)
- Pensions
- Personal Injury (See: Torts)
- Police Liability (See: Government Liability, Torts)
- Prisons & Prisoners
- Privacy/Data Protection (See also: Internet Law)
- Probate (See also: Estate Planning)
- Products Liability (See: Torts)
- Professional Responsibility (See: Legal Ethics)
- Real Property/Mortgages (See also: Landlord-Tenant/Commercial Leases, Land Use)
- Remedies
- Securities Regulation
- Sentencing (See also: Criminal Law and Procedure)
- Social Security/Medicare
- Statutory Construction
- Style Manuals
- Taxation
- Torts (See also: Government Liability, Medical Malpractice)
- Trademarks/Unfair Competition
- Trial Technique/Advocacy/Jury Selection (See also: Court Practice, Jury Instructions)
- Trusts (See: Estate Planning)
- UCC (See: Commercial)
- Unfair Competition (See: Trademarks)
- Wills (See: Estate Planning)
- Workers' Compensation
- Zoning (See: Land Use)
Introduction
This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides, most often in loose-leaf format. However, for those subject areas where the Library owns few print sources, the links to the subscription databases on Lexis and Westlaw are provided. Please see the Database Access Guide for more information.
The guide is arranged by subject, then arranged alphabetically by title. Each subject area page includes a link to the Guide Outline (top right-hand corner), which will take you to the box on the Introduction tab (to the left of this box). The Guide Outline includes direct links to subject area pages, as well as cross-references to related subject areas. You can also use the 11 main tabs and multiple subtabs to navigate to the various subject areas. The main tab page includes the first subject area listed on that tab. Each page may be printed out by using the "print" feature located above the tabs.
The call number for each title is hyperlinked to the library catalog. View the catalog record to check the Library's holdings and the most recent update of that title. In some cases, the Library no longer updates the print copy, but provides online access through a UCLA or UCLAW database. The library catalog record includes a link to "Online Access."
All titles are located in the law library stacks unless otherwise indicated. Very few of these publications can be checked out. In general, if a title is a loose-leaf, it may not be checked out. "Reserve" indicates that the title must be requested at the Circulation Desk, may be checked out for two hours and may not be taken outside Library.
The boxes directly below this one list General Encyclopedias, such as AmJur, the Witkin publications, ALR, and the Rutter Group Practice Guides.
Finally, while the primary focus of this guide is on the Library's print titles, law students and others who would like to access legal treatises online may wish to take a look at the box Tips on Finding Treatises Online (below, right column).
General Encyclopedias & Guides
American jurisprudence, 2d. (AmJur) (Thomson/West)
KF 154 .A42 1962
American jurisprudence legal forms, 2d. KF 170 .A542
American jurisprudence pleading and practice forms annotated.
KF 8869.1 .A44
American jurisprudence trials. KF 8917 .A53
American jurisprudence proof of facts, 3d. KF 8933 .A43
Corpus juris secundum (CJS). (West) KF 154 .C56
♦
California:
Action guides (Continuing Eduation of the Bar--California) ("How to . . . "). (CEB) KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve)
Click here: CEB Action Guides for a list of print guides owned by the law library. Sort by date or by title (drop-down menu on top left).
California jurisprudence, 3d. (Cal Jur) KFC 65 .C33
Witkin (published by the Witkin Legal Institute):
Summary of California law, 10th ed. KFC 80 .W5 2005
California procedure, 5th ed. KFC 995 .W52 2008
California evidence, 4th ed. KFC 1030 .W5 2000
California criminal law, 3rd ed. KFC 1100 .W52 2000
Topical Annotations, Selected Topics
American law reports (ALR), 6th. (Thomson/West) KF 132 .A56
American law reports (ALR), Federal 2d. (Thomson/West)
KF 105 .A542
Rutter Group Practice Guides
Please note that most Rutter Guides are kept on Reserve. Ask for Reserve titles at the Circulation Desk. Titles marked with an asterisk are in the Stacks.
Alternative Dispute Resolution (Knight, Fannin, Disco) KFC 1093 .K65 1992 (Reserve)
*Bankruptcy (March, Ahart, Tchaikovsky) KFC 365 .A6 M37
*Bus. & Prof. C. [section] 17200 practice [California Unfair Business Practices Act] (Stern) KFC 375 .S827
*California Criminal Procedure (Levenson) KFC 1155 .L482
*California Law and Motions Authorities (Parker, Finley, Maze) KFC 1012 .P37
*California Three Strikes Sentencing (J. Richard Couzens, Tricia A. Bigelow) KFC 1172 .C68
Civil Appeals and Writs (Eisenberg, Horvitz, Weiner) KFC 1075 .E47 1989 (Reserve)
Civil Procedure Before Trial (Weil & Brown) KFC 995 .W4 (Reserve)
Civil Procedure Before Trial: forms (Rivera) KFC 995 .A65 R58 (Reserve)
Civil Procedure Before Trial: statutes of limitations (Rylaarsdam & Turner) KFC 1020 .R95 (Reserve)
Civil Trials and Evidence (Wegner et al.) KFC 1025 .A6 W43 (Reserve)
Corporations (Friedman) KFC 345 .A6 F75 (Reserve)
*Elder Abuse Litigation (Balisok) KFC 111 .A34 B35
Employment Litigation (Chin) KFC 572 .A6 C35 (Reserve)
Enforcing Judgments and Debts (Schwartz & Ahart) KFC 1065 .S37 1988 (Reserve)
Family Law I (Hogoboom) KFC 126 .H65 1982 (Reserve)
Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial (Schwarzer, Tashima, & Wagstaffe) KF 8900 .S39 1989 (Reserve)
*Federal Civil Trials and Evidence (Jones, Rosen, Wegner, & Jones) KF 8935 .F37
Federal Employment Litigation (Rosen et al.) KF 3319 .F43 (Reserve)
Federal Ninth Circuit Civil Appellate Practice (Nelson, Goelz, & Watts) KF 9054 9th .N44 (Reserve)
Insurance Litigation (Croskey, Johnson, Heeseman) KFC 290 .C76 2007 {Law School ed.} (Reserve)
Insurance Litigation (Croskey et al.) KFC 290 .A6 C76 (Reserve)
Landlord-Tenant (Friedman, Garcia, Hagarty) KFC 145 .F75 1989 (Reserve)
*Law Office Procedures Manual KFC 77 .L422
Personal Injury (Flahavan, Rea, Kelly) KFC 1028 .P4 F52 (Reserve)
*Probate (Ross) KFC 205 .Z9 R67 1986
Professional Responsibility (Vapnek, Tuft, Peck, Wiener) KFC 76.5 .A2 C37 (Reserve)
*Real Property Transactions (Greenwald & Asimow) KFC 169 .A6 G74
*Sex Crimes: California law and procedure (Couzens, Bigelow) KFC 1122 .C68
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Law Library Information
- Law Library HoursView the Library's hours of operation and the reference desk hours. We follow an academic schedule, which means our hours are shortened during law school holidays and summers.
- Access to the Law LibraryThe Law Library has a limited access policy. Please read for further information.
- Law Library Online TourFor a virtual tour of the Library and detailed collection maps.
- Law Library Digital Collection LibGuideOnline access to a handful of treatises is provided on this page. See box below for details.
LexisNexis Academic's Am Jur & Legal Reference Sources
LexisNexis Academic Universe is a UCLA subscription database. Please see the Database Access LibGuide for more information on subscription databases.
Academic Universe includes the full-text of American Jurisprudence 2d as well as several other Legal Reference Sources such as Ballentine's Law Dictionary, Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations, A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage, Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession, Martindale-Hubbell Legal Professionals Listings, and Martindale-Hubbell Law School Directory.
Tips on Finding Treatises Online
The Law Library's Digital Collection page provides links to a variety of online resources to assist law students and faculty with their research. Some databases are available to the entire campus. The following databases include legal secondary sources:
- CCH IntelliConnect
- RIA Checkpoint
- Bureau of National Affairs (BNA)
- OnLaw (CEB)
- Loislaw (if you are on campus, you will be signed on as UCLA, click "Continue" (under "Welcome") on the upper left)
Please note that due to licensing restrictions, the databases that include a "Law School Only" note are restricted to users with UCLA Law School IP Addresses.
For a list of CCH titles available on IntelliConnect, open the 4-page Word document linked below.
(More) Tips on Finding Treatises Online
The links below will help users find treatises using OnLaw, LexisNexis, and Westlaw.
- LibGuides CEB OnLaw Instructions & Title ListProvides instructions and links to CEB's OnLaw, which is available to the UCLA Law School community. Also lists CEB titles by subject area.
- LexisNexis' Searchable Directory of Online SourcesSearch by publication title or search by publication type (select "Treatises & Analytical Materials) and limit by Legal, Subject Area (e.g. Constitutional Law). Note the Library/File names and enter into "Find a Source" tab on Lexis.
- Westlaw's Database DirectorySearch directory without signing on. The default search is natural language, but if you know the title of the publication, switch to terms & connectors. Another option is to browse databases by selecting "Topical Materials by Area of Practice."




Loading...
