Skip to main content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Evidence

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/secondarypractice

Evidence

See Also: Court Practice; Criminal Law & Procedure

Courtroom criminal evidence, 6th ed. Edward J. Imwinkelried et al. (LexisNexis, 2016- )  KF 9660 .C68 2016 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Evidence: practice under the rules, 5th ed. Christopher B. Mueller et al. (Wolters Kluwer, c2018) Online access via Cheetah

Federal civil trials and evidence. Robert E. Jones, et al. (Rutter Group, 1999- )  KF 8935 .F37 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal courtroom evidence, 5th ed. Joseph W. Cotchett. (Lexis Publishing, 2003- )  KF 8935 .C6822 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal rules of evidence manual, 11th ed. Stephen A. Saltzburg, et al. (LexisNexis, 2015- )  KF 8935 .S2  2015 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Handbook of federal evidence. Michael H. Graham. (West, c2018)  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Hearsay handbook. David F. Binder. (West/Thomson Reuters, c2011- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*      

Jones on evidence, civil and criminal, 7th ed. Clifford S. Fishman. (West Group, c2003- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Litigator's guide to expert witnesses.  Cecil C. Kuhne III.  (ABA, c2019) KF 8961 .K84 2019

McCormick on evidence, 7th ed. Practitioner Treatise Series. Kenneth S. Broun, ed. (Thomson-West, 2013- ) KF 8935 .M29 2013 (Reserve)

Military rules of evidence manual, 8th ed. Stephen A. Saltzburg et al. (LexisNexis, c2015- )  KF 7628 .S25 2015 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Modern scientific evidence: the law and science of expert testimony. (Thomson-West, c2005- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Myers on evidence of interpersonal violence: child maltreatment, intimate partner violence, rape, stalking, and elder abuse. John E.B. Myers. (Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, c2011)  KF 8935 .M94 2011  (Reserve)

The new Wigmore: a treatise on evidence: evidentiary privileges, 3rd ed. Edward J. Imwinkelried (Aspen Publishers, 2017- )  KF 8935 .I49 2017 

Practical guide to federal evidenceAnthony J. Bocchino (National Institute for Trial Advocacy, c2018) KF 8935 .Z9 B596 2018

Testimonial privileges. David M. Greenwald et al. (West, c2017-18 ed.) Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Weinstein’s federal evidence: commentary on rules of evidence for the United States courts and magistrates, 2nd ed. (Matthew Bender, 1997- )  KF 8935 .W39 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Wharton’s criminal evidence. Barbara Bergman. (West, 2018)  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Wigmore on evidence:  evidence in trials at common law.  John Henry Wigmore.  (Little, Brown, 1940- ) KF 8935 .W55 Online access via Cheetah 

California:

California courtroom evidence, Joseph W. Cotchett and Fulton Haight. (LexisNexis, Matthew Bender, 2006- )  KFC 1030 .A333 C35 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California evidence, 5th ed. Bernard E. Witkin. (2012- ) KFC 1030 .W5 2012 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California evidence courtroom manual, Eileen A. Scallen & Glen Weissenberger. Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California evidentiary foundations, 5th ed. Edward J. Imwinkelried & Thomas J. Leach. (LexisNexis, c2017- )  KFC 1030 .I49 2017 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California expert witness guide, 2nd ed. Raoul D. Kennedy, James C. Martin. (CEB, 1991- )  KFC 1042 .K46 1991

California practice guide. Civil trials and evidence. William E. Wegner, et al. (Rutter Group, 1993- )  KFC 1025 .A6 W43 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Effective introduction of evidence in California, 2nd ed. (CEB, 2000- )  KFC 1030 .E441 & Online via CEB OnLaw

Handling expert witnesses in California courts: here's how and when to do it. Robert Aitken; judge's perspective by Curtis E.A. Karnow. CEB Action Guide. (Regents of the Univ. of California, c2017)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve)

Jefferson’s California evidence benchbook, 4th ed. (CEB, c2009- )  KFC 1030 .J432 & Online via CEB OnLaw

Laying a foundation to introduce evidence: (preparing and using evidence at trial): here's how and when to do it. Donald F. Miles; judge's perspective, Gregory Alarcon. (CEB, c2018)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserves) & Online via CEB OnLaw

Scientific evidence and expert testimony in California.  (CEB, c2015- )  KFC 1165 .S35

Simons California evidence manual. Mark B. Simons. (West Group, 2002- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Trial attorney's evidence code notebook. (CEB, c2006- )  KFC 1030 .A29 T75

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, Lexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.