Skip to main content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Privacy/Data Protection

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/secondarypractice

Privacy/Data Protection

See Also: Internet & Computer Technology Law

ABA cybersecurity handbook: a resource for attorneys, law firms and business professionals, 2nd ed. Jill D. Rhodes and Robert S. Litt. (ABA, c2018) KF 318 .A7518 2018

CCH financial privacy law guide.  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Compilation of state and federal privacy laws. Robert Ellis Smith. (Privacy Journal, c2013- )  KF 1262 .A3 2013

Corporate counsel's guide to privacyWestlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Cybersecurity law Jeff Kosseff. (Wiley, c2017)  KF 1263 .C65 

Cybersecurity:  A practical guide to the law of cyber riskVivek K. Mohan, et. al.  Online access via PLI Plus 

Cybersecurity for the home and office: the lawyer's guide to taking charge of your own information security. John Bandler.  (ABA, c2017) KF 390.5 .C6 B36 2017

Data security and privacy lawWestlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

HIPPA: a guide to health care privacy and security law. Lisa M. Boyle. (Aspen, c2002- )  KF 3827 .R4 K59

The information privacy law sourcebook. (ABA, c2012)  KF 1263 .C65 A3 2012

Information security and privacy: a practical guide to federal, state & international law. Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

The law of electronic signatures and records. (West Group, 2010- )  KF 2763.4 .L39

Law of electronic surveillance. (West, 2009- )  KF 9670 .C372 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Law of financial privacy, 3d ed.  L. Richard Fischer.  Lexis subscription database  (ID/password required)*

Medical records privacy under HIPAA. N. Peter Lareau. (Matthew Bender)  Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Privacy and cybersecurity law deskbook. Lisa J. Sotto (Wolters Kluwer, 2018) Online access via Cheetah

Privacy in employment law, 5th ed. Matthew W. Finkin. (BNA, c2018-)  KF 3457.5 .F56 2018

Privacy torts.  David A. Elder.  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Proskauer on privacy: a guide to privacy and data security law in the information age, 2nd ed.  Kristen J. Mathews. (PLI)  Online access via PLI Plus

The rights of publicity and privacy. (Thomson West, 2004- )  KF 1262 .R55 (last print edition 2017) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California:

Consumer privacy and identity theft: a summary of key statutes and guide for lawmakers, 3rd ed. Saskia Kim. (California Senate Office of Research, 2008)  Online Access & SRLF

Privacy compliance and litigation in California. Jonathan D. Avila et al. (CEB, c2008- )  KFC 312 .P75

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, Lexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.