Skip to main content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Court Practice — Discrimination

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.

Court Practice

See Also: Discovery; Form Books; Jury Instructions; Sentencing & Trial Technique/Advocacy/Jury Selection

Am Jur trialsKF 8917 .A53

Am Jur proof of factsKF 8933 .A43

Anatomy of a trial: a primer for young lawyers. Paul Mark Sandler. LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide. Federal civil procedure before trial. William W. Schwarzer, et al. (Rutter Group, 1989- )  KF 8900 .W34  (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal civil trials and evidence. Robert E. Jones. (Rutter Group, 1999)  KF 8935 .F37 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal local court rules, 4th ed. (Thomson Reuters Westlaw, 2013- )  KF 8816 .A1938

Federal Ninth Circuit civil appellate practice. Dorothy W. Nelson, et al. (Rutter Group, 1995- )  KF 9054 9th .N44 (Reserve)

Federal practice and procedure. Charles Alan Wright. (West Group, 1969- )  KF 8840 .W68 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal rules service, 3rd series. (Callaghan, 1939- )  KF 8830 .F52

Federal trial guide. George E. Golomb et al. LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Handbook of federal civil discovery and disclosure, 3rd ed. Jay E. Grenig & Jeffrey S. Kinsler. (West/Thomson, c2010)  KF 8900 .G75 2010 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Moore's AnswerGuide: federal pretrial civil litigation. (Matthew Bender)  LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Moore’s federal practice, 3rd ed. James Wm. Moore. (Matthew Bender, 1997- )  KF 8820 .A313 M631

Shepard’s causes of action. (West Group, 1993- )  KF 8863. S53

Sinclair on federal civil practice, 5th ed. Kent Sinclair. (Practising Law Institute, c2008- )  KF 8840 .S553 

Supreme Court practice: for practice in the Supreme Court of the United States, 10th ed. Eugene Gressman, et al. (Bureau of National Affairs, 2013)  KF 9057 .S8 2013 (Reserve) and Bloomberg Law subscription database (ID/password required)*

West’s federal forms. KF 8836 .W4

California:

California civil appellate practice, 3rd ed. Mitchell E. Abbott, et al. (CEB, 1996- )  KFC 1075 .C352

California civil litigation forms manual. (CEB, 1980- )  KFC 995 .A65 C34

California civil practice. (West Group, 1992- )  KFC 995 .C3 1992 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California civil procedure before trial. 4th ed. (CEB, 1990- )  KFC 995 .C34 2004 (Reserve)

California civil writ practice. 4th ed. (CEB, 2008- )  KFC 1075 .C3422

California forms of pleading and practice, annotated. (includes Judicial Council Forms) (Matthew Bender, 1962- )  KFC 1010 .A65 C15 &  LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California law & motion authorities. Douglas R. Parker et al. (Rutter Group, c2009- )  KFC 1012 .P37

California motions. Eric E. Younger & Donald E. Bradley. (Thomson/West, c2002- )  KFC 1012 .Y68

California motions in limine. Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California points and authorities. (Matthew Bender, 1981- )  KFC 1010 .B5 &  LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide. Civil appeals and writs. Jon B. Eisenberg, et al. (Rutter Group, 1989- )  KFC 1075 .E47 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide.  Civil procedure before trial. Robert I. Weil, Ira A. Brown, Jr. (Rutter Group, 1983- )  KFC 995 .W4 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide.  Civil procedure before trial, forms. Maria P. Rivera. (Rutter Group, 2005- )  KFC 995.A65 R58 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide. Civil procedure before trial, statutes of limitations. William F. Rylaarsdam, et al. (Rutter Group, 2007- )  KFC 1020 .R95 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide. Civil trials and evidence. William E. Wegner, et al. (Rutter Group, 1993-)  KFC 1025 .A6 W43 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California practice guide. Summary judgment and related termination motions. Donna Bader. (Rutter Group, 2010- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California procedure, 5th ed. B.E. Witkin. (Witkin Legal Institute, 2008- )  KFC 995 .W52 2008 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California summary judgment. (CEB, c2010- )  KFC 1052 .A15 C35

California trial guide. (Matthew Bender, 1986- )  KFC 1025 .C337 1986

California trial objections. (Thomson/West, 2008- )  KFC 1030 .A15 C35 

California trial practice: civil procedure during trial, 3rd ed. (CEB, 1995- )  KFC 1025 .C346

Disqualification motions and appeals. Richard E. Flamm. (Banks and Jordan Law Publishing Company, c2009)  KFC 76.5 .A2 F53 2009  

Handling civil writs in the courts of appeal: here's how to do it and when to do it. Sharon Baumgold. CEB Action Guide (CEB, c2013)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve)

Handling subpoenas: here's how and when to do it. Katherine S. Eaton. CEB Action Guide (CEB, c2014)  KFC 995. A1 C34 (Reserve)

Making and opposing a summary judgment motion: here's how and when to do it. Roy G. Weatherup. CEB Action Guide (CEB, c2009)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve)

Meeting statutory deadlines: during and after litigation. Martin L. Dean. CEB Action Guide (CEB, c2011)  KFC 995 .A1 C34  (Reserve & Online via CEB OnLaw)

Obtaining a writ of attachment: here's how and when to do it. Peter M. Rehon. CEB Action Guide (CEB, c2012)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve & Online via CEB OnLaw)

Preparing for trial: here's how and when to do it. Jeffrey D. Polsky. CEB Action Guide (CEB, c2015)  KFC 995 .A1 C34  (Reserve & Online via CEB OnLaw)

West’s California code forms with practice commentariesKFC 68 .W4

West’s California judicial council forms. KFC 30.5 W4 (Reference & Stacks & Internet at http://www.courts.ca.gov/forms.htm)

Younger on California motions. Eric E. Younger with Donald E. Bradley. Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty and staff only.