Skip to Main Content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Prisons & Prisoners

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/secondarypractice

Prisons & Prisoners

See Also: Criminal Law & Procedure; Sentencing

ABA standards for criminal justice: treatment of prisoners, 3rd ed. (ABA, Criminal Justice Standards Committee, c2011)  KF 9731 .A44 2011 

Another bite at the apple: a guide to section 2255 motions for federal prisoners. (ABA, Criminal Justice Section, c2009)  KF 9011 .B47 2009

Constitutional rights of the accused, 3rd ed. Joseph G. Cook (Clark Boardman Callaghan, c1996- ) Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Constitutional rights of prisoners, 9th ed. John W. Palmer.  Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal habeas corpus practice and procedure, 7th ed. Randy Hertz & James S. Liebman. (LexisNexis/Matthew Bender, c2015)  KF 9011 .L54 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal habeas manual. Brian R. Means. Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal postconviction remedies handbook. Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Postconviction remedies. (West, c2009- )  KF 9690 .P65

Prisoners' rights: a legal research guideCarol Fichtelman.  (William S. Hein, 2017) KF 9731 .A1 F53 2017

Rights of prisoners, 4th ed. Michael B. Mushlin. (West, c2009)  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Lexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.