Skip to main content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Evidence

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.


See Also: Court Practice; Criminal Law & Procedure

Courtroom criminal evidence, 5th ed. Edward J. Imwinkelried et al. (LexisNexis, 2011- )  KF 9660 .C68 2011 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Evidence in negligence cases. Thomas A. Moore & Kevin P. McMullen. (PLI, Nov. 2011- )  Bloomberg Law subscription database  (ID/password required)*

Evidence: practice under the rules, 4th ed. Christopher B. Mueller et al. (Wolters Kluwer, c2012) Online access via Intelliconnect

Federal civil trials and evidence. Robert E. Jones, et al. (Rutter Group, 1999- )  KF 8935 .F37 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal courtroom evidence, 5th ed. Joseph W. Cotchett. (Lexis Publishing, 2003- )  KF 8935 .C6822 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal rules of evidence manual, 10th ed. Stephen A. Saltzburg, et al. (LexisNexis, 2011- )  KF 8935 .S2  2011 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Handbook of federal evidence, 7th ed. Michael H. Graham. (West, c2012)  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Hearsay handbook. David F. Binder. (West/Thomson Reuters, c2011- )  KF 8969 .B563 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*      

Jones on evidence, civil and criminal, 7th ed. Clifford S. Fishman. (West Group, c2003- )  KF 8935 .J62 1992 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Litigators on experts: strategies for managing expert witnesses from retention through trial. (ABA, Section on Litigation, First Chair Press, c2010)  KF 8961 .L58 2010

McCormick on evidence, 7th ed. Practitioner Treatise Series. Kenneth S. Broun, ed. (Thomson-West, 2013- ) KF 8935 .M29 2013 (Reserve)

Military rules of evidence manual, 7th ed. Stephen A. Saltzburg et al. (LexisNexis, c2011- )  KF 7628 .S25 2011 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Modern scientific evidence: the law and science of expert testimony. (Thomson-West, c2005- )  KF 8961 .M63 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Myers on evidence of interpersonal violence: child maltreatment, intimate partner violence, rape, stalking, and elder abuse. John E.B. Myers. (Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, c2011)  KF 8935 .M94 2011  (Reserve)

The new Wigmore: a treatise on evidence, 2nd ed. Edward J. Imwinkelried (Aspen Publishers, 2010- )  KF 8935 .I49 2010

Testimonial privileges. David M. Greenwald et al. (West, c2012) Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Weinstein’s Federal evidence: commentary on rules of evidence for the United States courts and magistrates, 2nd ed. (Matthew Bender, 1997- )  KF 8935 .W39 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Wharton’s criminal evidence, 15th ed. Barbara Bergman. (West Group, 1997- )  KF 9660 .W43 1997 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*


California courtroom evidence, Joseph W. Cotchett and Fulton Haight. (LexisNexis, Matthew Bender, 2006- )  KFC 1030 .A333 C35 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California evidence, 5th ed. Bernard E. Witkin.  KFC 1030 .W5 2012 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California evidentiary foundations, 4th ed. Edward J. Imwinkelried & Thomas J. Leach. (LexisNexis, c2009- )  KFC 1030 .I49 2009 & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California expert witness guide, 2nd ed. Raoul D. Kennedy, James C. Martin. (CEB, 1991- )  KFC 1042 .K46 1991

California practice guide. Civil trials and evidence. William E. Wegner, et al. (Rutter Group, 1993)  KFC 1025 .A6 W43 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Effective direct and cross examination. (CEB, 1986- )  KFC 1040 .B76

Effective introduction of evidence in California, 2nd ed. (CEB, 2000- )  KFC 1030 .E441

Handling expert witnesses in California courts: here's how and when to do it. Robert Aitken; judge's perspective by Curtis E.A. Karnow. CEB Action Guide. (Regents of the Univ. of California, c2017)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve)

Jefferson’s California evidence benchbook, 4th ed. (CEB, c2009- )  KFC 1030 .J432

Laying a foundation to introduce evidence: (preparing and using evidence at trial): here's how and when to do it. Donald F. Miles; judge's perspective, Gregory Alarcon. (CEB, c2016)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserves)

Scientific evidence in California criminal cases. Michael J. Aye et al. (CEB, c2008- )  KFC 1165 .S35

Simons California evidence manual. Mark B. Simons. (West Group, 2002- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Trial attorney's evidence code notebook. (CEB, c2006- )  KFC 1030 .A29 T75

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.