Skip to main content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Criminal Law & Procedure

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.

Criminal Law & Procedure

Complete manual of criminal forms, 3rd ed. F. Lee Bailey and Kenneth J. Fishman. (Clark Boardman Callaghan, 1993- )  KF 9616 .B2522

Constitutional rights of the accused, 3rd ed. Joseph G. Cook. (West Group, 1996- )  KF 9619 .C641 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Criminal law defenses. Paul H. Robinson. (West Group, 1984- )  KF 9240 .R63 1984 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Criminal law reporter. (BNA) Online access via BNA's Law School Program Core Package (Law School Only)

Criminal practice manual. (Thomson-West, 2004- )  KF 9655 .B533 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Criminal procedure, 4th ed. Wayne R. LaFave, et. al. (Thomson-Reuters, 2015-)  KF 9619 .L34 2015 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

The Department of Justice manual, 3rd ed. (Aspen Law & Business, 2000)  KF 5107 .D482 (Reserve)

Federal criminal discovery. Robert M. Cary, Craig D. Singer, & Simon A. Latcovich. (ABA, c2011)  KF 9650 .C37 2011

Federal criminal trials, 8th ed. James C. Cissell. (LexisNexis, 2016-)  KF 9660 .C572  & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Federal grand jury: a guide to law and practice, 2nd ed.Susan W. Brenner and Lori E. Shaw. (Thomson/West, 2006- )  KF 9642 .B73 2006 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Grand jury law and practice. Sara Sun Beale et al. (West Group, 1997- )  KF 9642 .B431 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Handling misdemeanor cases, 2nd ed. F. Lee Bailey and Kenneth J. Fishman. (Clark Boardman Callaghan, 1992- )  KF 9656 .B352

How to try a murder case: pretrial and trial guidelines for prosecution and defense. Michael D. Wims, Jack B. Rubin, & Charles Ambrose. (Criminal Justice Section, ABA, c2011)  KF 9306 .W56 2011

Law of confessions, 2nd ed. David M. Nissman and Ed Hagen. (Thomson West, 2013- )  KF 9664 .L39

Prosecutorial misconduct, 2nd ed. Bennett L. Gershman. (West Group, 2002- )  KF 9640 .G46  & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Prosecutorial misconduct: law, procedure, forms, 4th ed. Joseph F. Lawless. (LexisNexis & Matthew Bender, 2008- )  KF 9640 .L38 2008

The rights of the accused under the Sixth Amendment: trials, presentation of evidence, and confrontation. Paul Marcus et al. (ABA, 2012)  KF 4558 6th .R54 2012

Searches and seizures, arrests and confessions, 2nd ed. William E. Ringel. (Thomson-West, 1979- )  KF 9625 .R53 1979 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Search and seizure: a treatise on the Fourth Amendment. 5th ed. Wayne R. LaFave. (Thomson-West, 2012 - )  KF 9630 .L26 2012

Trial preparation for prosecutors, 3rd ed. Michael D. Marcus. (LexisNexis, 2010)  KF 9645 .M37 2010

Wharton’s criminal evidence, 15th ed. Barbara Bergman. (West Group, 1997- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Wharton’s criminal law, 15th ed. Charles E. Torcia. (West Group, 1993- )  KF 9219 .W43 1993 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

White collar crime, 2nd ed. Joel M. Androphy. (West Group, 2001- )  KF 9350 .A932 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California:

Appeals and writs in criminal cases. 3rd ed. Sarah H. Ruddy. (CEB, 2007-)  KFC 1174 .F582

California criminal defense practice. (Lexis Publishing, 1981- )  KFC 1155 .C342  & LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California criminal law, 4th ed. B.E. Witkin and Norman L. Epstein. (Witkin Legal Institute, 2012- )  KFC 1100 .W52 2012

California criminal law forms manual. 2nd ed. Sara H. Ruddy (CEB, 2005 - )  KFC 1155 .A65 C342 (Reserve)

California criminal law procedure and practice. (CEB, 1986- )  KFC 1155 .C3424 (Reserve and via CEB OnLaw)

California criminal practice, motions, jury instructions and sentencing, 4th ed.. Edward A. Rucker, Mark E. Overland. (Thomson-West, 2004-).  KFC 1155.A65 R8 2004 (Reserve) & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California criminal procedure. Laurie L. Levenson. (Rutter, c2011- )  KFC 1155 .L482  & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

California three strikes sentencing. J. Richard Couzens & Tricia A. Bigelow. (Rutter Group, c2008- )  KFC 1172 .C68

Defending your client in a misdemeanor case (including DUI): here's how and when to do it. Timothy J. Garrigan & Nicole Solis. CEB Action Guide. (CEB, c2014)  KFC 995 .A1 C34 (Reserve)

Scientific evidence and expert testimony in California. (CEB, 2015- )  KFC 1165 .S352

Sex crimes: California law and procedure. J. Richard Couzens & Tricia A. Bigelow. (Rutter Group, c2011- )  KFC 1122 .C68 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

NOTE: All CEB titles are also available online via CEB OnLaw.

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty and staff only.