Skip to Main Content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Land Use

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/secondarypractice

Land Use

See Also: Environmental Law; Real Property/Mortgages

American land planning law: land use and the police power, 2003 rev. ed. Norman Williams, Jr., John M. Taylor. (Thomson-West, 2003)  KF 5698 .W54 2003

American law of zoning, 5th ed. Patricia E. Salkin (Continues Anderson's American law of zoning) (Clark Boardman, 1996- )  KF 5698 A762

Land surveys: a guide for lawyers and other professionals, 3rd ed. Mitchell G. Williams, ed. (ABA, c2012)  KF 683 .A75 L36 2012

Land use law, 6th ed. Daniel R. Mandelker. (LexisNexis & Matthew Bender, 2015)  KF 5698 .M292 & Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Land use regulation: a legal analysis and practical application of land use law, 3rd ed. Peter W. Salsich.  (ABA, Section of Real Property, Trust & Estate Law, c2015) KF5698 .S243 2015

The law of eminent domain: condemnation, zoning & land use committee. William G. Blake et al. (First Chair Press, ABA, c2012)  KF 5599 .L283 2012

Nichols on eminent domain, rev. 3rd ed. (Matthew Bender, 1964- )  Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Rathkopf's the law of zoning and planning. Edward H. Ziegler, Jr.  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Regulatory takings, 5th ed. Steven J. Eagle. (LexisNexis, 2012)  Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Regulatory takings after Knick: total takings, the nuisance exception, and background principles exceptions : public trust doctrine, custom, and statutes. David Callies. (ABA, State and Local Government Law Section, c2020) KF5698 .C35 2020

Zoning and planning deskbook, 2nd ed. Douglas W. Kmiec. (West Group, 2001- )  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Zoning law and practice. E.C. Yokley. (Matthew Bender)  Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California:

California environmental law and land use practice. (LexisNexis, 2001-)  KFC 610 .A6 C35 Lexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

California land use practice, 2006 ed. (CEB--California, 2006- )  KFC 811 .C3

California Subdivision Map Act and the development process, 2nd ed. Daniel J. Curtin, Jr., Robert E. Merritt. (CEB, 2001- )  KFC 811 .C352

Condemnation practice in California, 3rd ed. Norman E. Matteoni and Henry Veit. (CEB, 2005- )  KFC 800 .C653

California land use and planning law. 35th ed. Daniel J. Curtin, Jr. (Solano Press 2016- )  KFC 811 .C87

Guide to California planning, 5th ed. William Fulton, Paul Shigley. (Solano Press Books, 2018)  HT 393.C3 F85 2018 (Reserve)

Longtin’s California land use: planning, zoning, building, subdivision, environmental law, 2nd ed. (Distributed by Local Government Publications, 1987- )  KFC 811 .L66 1987

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Lexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.