LibGuides: Williams Institute Reading Room: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resources in Law and Public Policy: Reference

Page Guide, Reference

Reference Links

UCLA LGBT Studies LibGuide Reference Page
Includes both online LGBT-focused sources and more general online sources that include LGBT topics.
GLBTQ: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Encyclopedia Archive
Includes sections on Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Special Features, and a discussion board. NOTE: The Encyclopedia has been archived.
Out History: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer History by the LGBTQ Community
A project of CLAGS (Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies), an institute at the City University of New York Graduate Center.
Alexander Street Press - LGBT Thought and Culture
"An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day." Users can browse by various filters, search by subject or explore archival collections.
(UCLA users only)
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources)
"Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues concerning gender and sexuality, and impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newsletters and newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more."
NOTE: "UCLA provides access to Parts I and II (LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940), Part III (Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century), Part IV (International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture), and Part VI (Community and Identity in North America)."
(UCLA users only)

Research

A Practical Guide to Searching LGBTQIA Historical Records by Norena Shopland
Call Number: HQ73 .S56 2021
ISBN: 0367439603
Publication Date: 2020-09-10
This book provides a number of effective tools to aid in the recovery of LGBTQIA historic material by providing extensive glossary and non-glossary written descriptions, and how to use those terms and phrases in searching effectively online and offline. Researching hidden and forbidden people from the past can be extremely difficult. Terminology used to write about LGBT+ people shifts over time, legal terminology enforces certain set terms which some writers use but others reject to avoid informing or disgusting a reading public. Often written descriptions contain no set terminology at all. How then can LGBT+ people be found in historic records? This book provides practical tools for a researcher wanting to uncover material from online or hard copy sources, including: keyword/s covering various sexual orientations and gender diversity, along with how and when to use them; tips for effective searching in online newspaper archives; how to use genealogy, auction and social media sites to uncover information; searching in online and physical libraries; advice on researching in physical archives and the types of collections which can yield results; and researching in museums collecting and displaying LGBT+ content. Making use of a straightforward and jargon free style, this is a short and accessible guide to doing historical research on Gay, Lesbian, Trans, Queer and non-normative research subjects. This is a useful resource for students and scholars alike in Archive Studies History, Gender and Sexuality Studies.
Handbook of research with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender populations by edited by William Meezan and James I. Martin
Call Number: HV1449 .H36 2009
ISBN: 1560235314
Publication Date: 2009
*At Young Research Library

Libraries, Librarians & Archives

LGBTQIA+ Inclusive Children's Librarianship by Lucy Santos Green; Jenna Spiering; Vanessa Lynn Kitzie; Julia Erlanger
Call Number: Z718.2.U6 G74 2022
ISBN: 1440876770
Publication Date: 2022-05-16
This book breaks new ground, offering school and public librarians serving children in grades K-8 a roadmap for implementing and upholding queer-inclusive programs, policies, and services. School and public librarians are serving ever greater numbers of LGBTQIA+ children and families. Transgender children may begin to express a strong sense of gender identity as early as 2-3 years of age. Children are also identifying as gay much sooner than earlier generations--often between the ages of 7 and 12. Additionally, more children than ever before are living with LGBTQIA+ caregivers. In seeking to make our programs and services inclusive and equitable for these growing populations, librarians may court controversy and face community backlash from patrons who feel queer-inclusive content is inappropriate for young children. This book codifies a set of best practices for librarians as they rise to this challenge, defining queer-inclusive programs, identifying potential barriers to implementation, and offering strategies and resources to overcome them.
*Also available online (UC users only)
Information Activism: A Queer History of Lesbian Media Technologies by Cait McKinney
Call Number: HQ75.5 .M44 2020
ISBN: 9781478007821
Publication Date: 2020-08-07
For decades, lesbian feminists across the United States and Canada have created information to build movements and survive in a world that doesn't want them. In Information Activism Cait McKinney traces how these women developed communication networks, databases, and digital archives that formed the foundation for their work. Often learning on the fly and using everything from index cards to computers, these activists brought people and their visions of justice together to organize, store, and provide access to information. Focusing on the transition from paper to digital-based archival techniques from the 1970s to the present, McKinney shows how media technologies animate the collective and unspectacular labor that sustains social movements, including their antiracist and trans-inclusive endeavors. By bringing sexuality studies to bear on media history, McKinney demonstrates how groups with precarious access to control over information create their own innovative and resourceful techniques for generating and sharing knowledge.
Documenting Rebellions: A Study of Four Lesbian and Gay Archives in Queer Times by Rebecka Taves Sheffield
Call Number: CD3021 .S45 2020
ISBN: 9781634000918
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Documenting Rebellions is a study of four archives that were constituted with a common desire to preserve the memory and evidence of lesbian and gay people. They are The Lesbian Herstory Archives (New York), The ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives (Los Angeles), the June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives (West Hollywood), and the ArQuives: Canada's LGBTQ2+ Archives (Toronto). Using a narrative approach that draws from first-person accounts and archival research, each chapter tells a story about how these organizations came to exist, who has supported them over time, and how they have survived for more than forty years.
Supporting Trans People in Libraries by Stephen G. Krueger
Call Number: Z711.92.S49 K78 2019
ISBN: 1440867054
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Designed to provide practical information to library workers of all types, this book offers specific strategies for supporting trans people in their libraries. As trans people (including those on the nonbinary spectrum) start to feel safer expressing their identities in public, libraries are making an effort to show that they welcome people of all gender identities. Yet there are many potential barriers to actively supporting trans people, including lack of knowledge about the needs of the trans community and lack of funding or institutional support. This book, written entirely by trans library workers, is designed to dismantle some of these barriers. Supporting Trans People in Libraries is relevant for library workers of any background and position. People with little knowledge about trans identities can start with the opening introductory chapters, while those looking for guidance on a specific situation--such as adding all-gender restrooms, interacting respectfully with trans coworkers, deciding what information to require on library card applications, writing inclusive job postings, making collection development decisions, and more--can jump to a particular chapter. For each topic, there are sections on easy fixes, best practices, and example language. Readers can easily adapt the information to benefit their libraries and communities in concrete ways.
LGBTQ+ Librarianship in the 21st Century by Bharat Mehra (Editor)
Call Number: Z711.92.S49 L48 2019
ISBN: 1787564746
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Libraries are at the heart of many of the communities they serve. Increasingly, it is important for them to adjust to serve minority groups, including LGBTQ+ communities. This collection presents original scholarship on the emerging directions of advocacy and community engagement in LGBTQ+ librarianship. With contributions from library and information professionals, this volume explores how librarians and library professionals can embrace a more proactive role as social justice advocates, and help promote fairness, justice, equality, equity, and activism on behalf of LGBTQ+ people. Starting within the library space, the volume offers an introduction to terminology and resources around LGBTQ+ information, before moving on to explore examples of how LGBTQ+ librarianship can adopt innovative approaches to better serve their patrons in select settings around the world. Including case studies on health services, historical archives, and LGBTQ+ homelessness, this collection dispels misperceptions and myths surrounding social justice research and is vital for any researcher or practitioner interested in supporting evolving communities.
She was a booklegger : remembering Celeste West by edited by Toni Samek, K.R. Roberto, and Moyra Lang
Call Number: Z720.W67 S48 2010
ISBN: 0980200490
Out behind the desk : workplace issues for LGBTQ librarians by edited by Tracy Marie Nectoux
Call Number: Z682.4.G39 O98 2011
ISBN: 1936117037
Publication Date: 2011
Serving LGBTIQ library and archives users : essays on outreach, service, collections and access by edited by Ellen Greenblatt
Call Number: Z711.92.S49 S47 2011
ISBN: 0786448946
Daring to Find Our Names: the search for lesbigay library history by Edited by James V. Carmichael
Call Number: Z682.4.G39 D37 1998
ISBN: 0313299633
Publication Date: 1998
Liberating Minds: the stories and professional lives of gay, lesbian, and bisexual librarians and their advocates by Norman G. Kester (Editor); Cal Gough (Foreword by)
Call Number: Z720.A4 L48 1997
ISBN: 0786403632
Publication Date: 1997

Encyclopedias

The Transgender Encyclopedia by Brent L. Pickett
Call Number: HQ77.9 .P53 2024
ISBN: 9781538157251
Publication Date: 2024-03-21
Called an "excellent introductory resource" in a Library Journal starred review, this reference is an essential volume to explore a broad range of transgender-related topics. With over 200 entries ranging from Ancient Egypt to contemporary developments in law, media, and politics, The Transgender Encyclopedia shows how gender diversity spans the world and has done so for millennia. Read about how cultures have recognized and affirmed third and fourth genders. The history and development of trans activism is highlighted, making this an outstanding volume for those in the community who seek connection and inspiration, as well as for those who want to grow as an ally. With a chronology of important events in trans history, an introduction discussing conceptual issues, and an extensive bibliography, this work provides an essential starting point for those beginning research, or for anyone seeking to learn more about the topic. The Transgender Encyclopedia has country and region entries that show gender diversity across our world. The volume also covers film, literature, and theater, along with entries on trans and non-binary persons who have shaped--and continue to influence--the contemporary era. Readable yet analytically sophisticated, this is an excellent one volume introduction to a broad range of transgender-related topics.
*Also available online (UC users only)
Encyclopedia of Queer Studies in Education by Kamden K. Strunk (Volume Editor); Stephanie Anne Shelton (Volume Editor)
Call Number: HQ75.15 .E53 2022
ISBN: 9004506713
Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Queer studies is an extensive field that spans a range of disciplines. This volume focuses on education and educational research and examines and expounds upon queer studies particular to education fields. It works to examine concepts, theories, and methods related to queer studies across PK-12, higher education, adult education, and informal learning. The volume takes an intentionally intersectional approach, with particular attention to the intersections of white supremacist cisheteropatriachy. It includes well-established concepts with accessible and entry-level explanations, as well as emerging and cutting-edge concepts in the field. It is designed to be used by those new to queer studies as well as those with established expertise in the field.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and Policy by Donald P. Haider-Markel
Call Number: HQ73.7 .O74 2021
ISBN: 0190677929
Publication Date: 2021-07-27
This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of social science and humanities research on LGBT people, politics, and public policy around the world. The articles are organized around six major themes of the study of identity politics, with a focus on movement politics, public attitudes, political institutions, elections, and the broader context of political theory. Under the editorial directorship of Donald P. Haider-Markel and associate editors Carlos Ball, Gary Mucciaroni, Bruno Perreau, Craig A. Rimmerman, and Jami K. Taylor, this publication brings together peer-reviewed contributions by leading researchers and offers the most comprehensive view of research on LGBT politics and policy to date. As a result, the Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and Policy is a necessary resource for students and as well as both new and established scholars. 3 Volumes.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies. Edited by Abbie E. Goldberg & Genny Beemyn (SAGE Reference, 2021) HQ77.9 .S24 2021

LGBTQ Americans in the U.S. Political System: an Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders. Edited by Jason Pierceson (ABC-CLIO, 2020) HQ73.3.U6 L434 2020 (2 vols.)

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History. Edited by Howard Chiang (Gale Cengage, 2019) HQ73 .G56 2019 (3 vols.). *Also available online (restricted to UCLA).

The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies. Edited by Abbie E. Goldberg. (SAGE, 2016) HQ75.15 .S24 2016 (print; also electronic; restricted to UCLA).

Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide. Edited by Chuck Stewart. (Greenwood Press, 2010) HQ76 .G83 2010 (print); Electronic resource, restricted to UCLA.

LGBTQ America today: an encyclopedia. Edited by John C. Hawley; Emmanuel S. Nelson, advisory editor. (Greenwood Press, 2009) Electronic resource, restricted to UCLA.

Encyclopedia of gay and lesbian popular culture. Luca Prono. (Greenwood Press, 2008) *Electronic resource; restricted to UCLA.

Great events from history: Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender events, 1848-2006. Editorial board: Lillian Faderman, Horacio Roque Ramirez, Yolanda Retter, Stuart Timmons and Eric C. Wat. (Salem Press, 2007) HQ73 .G74 2007

Encyclopedia of sexual behavior and the law. Robert L. Maddex. (CQ Press, c2006) KF9325.A68 M33 2006

Routledge international encyclopedia of queer culture. Edited by David A. Gerstner. (Routledge, 2006) HQ76.96 .R68 2006 *At YRL.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America. Marc Stein, ed. (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004) 3 vols. HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 (print); Available online, Gale Virtual Reference Library; restricted to UCLA.

Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. Bonnie Zimmerman, editor. (Garland, 2000) HQ75.5 .L4395 2000

Gay histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. George E. Haggerty, editor; John Beynon, Douglas Eisner, assistant editors. (Garland, 2000) HQ75.13 .G37 2000

Completely Queer: the gay and lesbian encyclopedia. Steve Hogan and Lee Hudson. (Henry Holt, 1999) HQ75.13 .H64 1999

Encyclopedia of homosexuality. Wayne R. Dynes, Warren Johansson, William A. Percy and Stephen Donaldson. (Garland Pub, 1990) 2 v. HQ76.25 .E53 1990 (print); *At YRL. Also available online: Encyclopedia of Homosexuality

Cassell's encyclopedia of queer myth, symbol and spirit: gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender lore. Randy P. Conner, David Hatfield Sparks and Mariya Sparks; foreword by Gloria E. Anzaldúa. (Cassell, 1997) BL795.H6 C65 1997 *At YRL and SRLF.

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Homosexuality by Brent L. Pickett
Call Number: HQ75.13 .P53 2022
ISBN: 1538150441
Publication Date: 2022-04-15
The history of same-sex attraction and love is relevant to many aspects of history, including its social, religious, and political dimensions. The Historical Dictionary of Homosexuality provides a comprehensive survey of same-sex relations from ancient China and Greece to the contemporary world. The book covers religious traditions that have tolerated or had a role for same-sex relations, to those that have condemned it and called for punishment. The legal treatment of homosexuality, and the development in the modern world of a gay rights movements, are central areas of focus. In addition, there are a number of entries for specific countries and regions that provides concise summaries of how same-sex relations have been understood and treated around the globe. Court decisions and emerging norms in international law are also covered. Historical Dictionary of Homosexuality, Second Edition contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 200 cross-referenced entries on important historical figures, philosophic, artistic, and literary treatments of same-sex love, historical terms, and contemporary events. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about homosexuality.

Historical dictionary of homosexuality. Brent L. Pickett. (Scarecrow Press, 2009) HQ75.13 .P53 2009

Diccionario gay-lésbico: vocabulario general y argot de la homosexualidad. Félix Rodríguez González. (Gredos, 2008) HQ75.13 .R63 2008

The dictionary of homophobia: a global history of gay & lesbian experience. Edited by Louis-Georges Tin; translated by Marek Redburn with Alice Michaud and Kyle Mathers. (Arsenal Pulp Press, c2008) HQ76.4 .D5313 2008

Homosexuality and the law: a dictionary. Chuck Stewart. (ABC-CLIO, 2001) KF4754.5.A68 S74 2001

Wimmin, wimps & wallflowers: an encyclopaedic dictionary of gender and sexual orientation bias in the United States. Philip H. Herbst. (Intercultural Press, c2001) HQ76.45.U5 H47 2001

Historical dictionary of the gay liberation movement: gay men and the quest for social justice. Ronald J. Hunt. (Scarecrow Press, 1999) HQ76.5 .H86 1999

Almanacs, etc.

Out in all directions: a treasury of gay and lesbian America. Edited by Lynn Witt, Sherry Thomas, and Eric Marcus (Warner Books, 1997) HQ76.3.U5 W58 1997

The gay almanac. Compiled by the National Museum & Archive of Lesbian and Gay History, a program of the Lesbian and Gay Community Services Center, New York. (Berkley Books, 1996) HQ76.3.U5 G367 1996

The Alyson almanac. 1st ed. (1989)-; ceased publication with 3rd ed. (1994/1995)? (Alyson Publications, c1989-) *Williams has 1993 ed. v.1-3 at SRLF. HQ76.25 .A48 1993

The gay book of lists. Leigh W. Rutledge. 1st U.S. ed. (Alyson Publications, 1987; 1988 printing) HQ76 .R88 1987 (3rd edition, 2003, at LGBT Center Library.)

Gay/lesbian almanac: a new documentary in which is contained, in chronological order, evidence of the true and fantastical history of those persons now called lesbians and gay men. Jonathan Ned Katz. 1st ed. (Harper & Row, c1983) HQ76.8.U5 K37 1983

Biography, Quotations

Gay Lives. Robert Aldrich. (Thames & Hudson, 2012). HQ75.2 .A53 2012 *At Young Research Library.

The gay 100: a ranking of the most influential gay men and lesbians, past and present. Paul Russell. (Carol Pub. Group, 1995). HQ75.2 .R87 1995

Unnatural quotations: a compendium of quotations by, for, or about gay people. Leigh W. Rutledge. 1st U.S. ed. (Alyson Publications, 1988). PN6084.G35 U56 1988

General Reference

Sexual Orientation, Gender Identities, and the Law by Dana Neacsu; David Brian Holt; Margaret Butler; Iain W. Barksdale; American Association of Law Libraries Staff (Contribution by); American Association of Law Libraries, Social Responsibilities Special Interest Section Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF4754.5.A1 S494 2018
ISBN: 0837740827
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
A project of the Social Responsibilities Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries. "To understand the dramatic arc of change in sexual orientation and gender identity law, it is essential to explore, through the eyes of leading scholars, the varied and complex questions that have defined the field. This volume of Sexual Orientation, Gender Identities, and the Law: A Research Bibliography is, thus, a significant and exciting contribution. With its expansive coverage, scholars, students and advocates can quickly gain a sense of the breadth, depth and dynamism of this area of law during a crucial decade of growth--2006-2016." --Suzanne B. Goldberg, from the Foreword.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture. (Gale, Electronic resource; UC users only)

The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues. Susan Burgess. (CQ Press, 2011) HQ76.3.U5 B87 2011

Gay and lesbian issues: a reference handbook. Chuck Stewart. (ABC-CLIO, 2003) HQ76.25 .S748 2003

Gay and lesbian Americans and political participation: a reference handbook. Raymond A. Smith and Donald P. Haider-Markel; foreward by Tammy Baldwin. (ABC-CLIO, 2002) HQ76.3.U5 S59 2002

LGBTQ+ Life. [Index & Abstracts] (EBSCO Information Services). (Electronic resource; UC users only)

Sexual Orientation and the Law: A Research Bibliography. James M. Donovan, ed.; Standing Committee on Lesbian and Gay Issues, American Association of Law Libraries (William S. Hein & Co., 2006) KF4754.5.A1 S49 2006