Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Williams Institute Reports
NEW! Sexual Orientation and Health Among U.S. Adults: National Health Interview Survey, 2013. Brian W. Ward, et al.; National Health Statistics Reports, No. 77 (Centers for Disease Control, July 15, 2014) *Online access.
The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People: Building a Foundation for Better Understanding. (Institute of Medicine, March 2011) *Available online. Also in print: RA564.9.H65 H44 2011
Scientific Workship on Lesbian Health 2000 [electronic resource]: steps for implementing the IOM report. (Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 2000) *Online access.
LGBT Health, UCSF Library
"This guide on LGBT health offers both consumer health resources and information for health professionals." By Eric Peterson. Includes resources on specific LGBT populations, life course, and particular health concerns.
GLMA: Health Professionals Advancing LGBT Equality
"GLMA's mission is to ensure equality in healthcare for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) individuals and healthcare providers. GLMA: Health Professionals Advancing LGBT Equality (previously known as the Gay & Lesbian Medical Association) is the world's largest and oldest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) healthcare professionals."
This page includes resources on general health issues for LGBT people. You can find resources on HIV/AIDS here.
General Health, 2020 -
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health: Understanding the Spectrum of Gender and Sexuality by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 P63 2020
Publication Date: 2020-05-07
The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives. The editors have brought their specialized knowledge to the project and, along with contributors who are experts in the field of LGBTQ mental health, have created a book of uncommon empathy. The volume's structure is simple, consistent, and effective, with 10 chapters covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual, pansexual, and allied individuals. Some chapters overlap because some people identify with more than one of these identities. The writers have drawn on both the scientific literature and their own clinical experience to create a volume that is informative, practical, and easy to read. The book possesses an abundance of useful features: * All diagnostic and treatment discussions are based on the latest information found in DSM-5.* Each chapter includes straightforward, real-world, and evidence-based answers to "Questions Well-Meaning People Ask" -- essentially, "What would patients, their friends, their parents, their physicians like to know about being X, Y, or Z?"* A special section in each chapter addresses themes that may emerge during therapy, preparing the clinician to identify and respond sensitively and knowledgeably to issues that may become salient as counseling progresses.* Each chapter concludes with "Five Take-Home Points," a handy summary of the most important information, allowing the reader to identify essential material and consolidate learning.* An extensive collection of resources is included, helping the reader to locate more information on reliable websites and from other authoritative sources. Written in a conversational style that will appeal to patients and families, as well as clinicians, the Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health explores the psychological and cultural context for each gender or sexual identity in a comprehensive, realistic, and affirming way.
Marriage and Health: The Well-Being of Same-Sex Couples by
Call Number: HQ76.34 .M38 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-13
Studies have shown that married couples have better mental and physical health than unmarried people. Leading scholars and policy makers propose that marriage can provide similar benefits to people in both same-sex and different-sex relationships. Though research on the health and well-being of same-sex couples is a new and growing field, Marriage and Health: The Well-Being of Same-Sex Couples represents the forefront of marriage and health research and the far-reaching policy implications for the health of same-sex couples. This collection of essays presents new perspectives that address current opportunities and challenges faced by people in same-sex unions in multiple domains of well-being, including physical and mental health, social support, socialized behaviors, and stigmas. The book offers a broad view of same-sex couples' experiences by examining not only marriage and civil unions, but also dating and cohabiting relationships as well as same-sex sexual experiences outside of relationships.
*Also available as an eBook (UC users only): Marriage and Health
LGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 L485 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
LGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences expands our understanding of mental health by considering the unique challenges faced by LGBTQ communities in the Majority World. Increased globalization and migration has highlighted the need for mental health clinicians to better understand these communities' experiences and needs. This book provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have heretofore received little attention in the psychology literature. Chapters focus on the cultural, social, legal, political, and psychological experiences of various LGBTQ subpopulations in Peru, Colombia, Ecuador, Jamaica, Russia, Mongolia, India, Malaysia, Thailand, and sub-Saharan Africa. Contributors summarize existing research on mental health outcomes for LGBTQ individuals in these countries or regions; offer key insights that challenge culturally-specific conceptions of normative, LGBTQ mental health and behavior; and offer recommendations for further research and mental health practice with these populations.
General Health, 2010 - 2019
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health by
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 G56 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-17
This comprehensive review is the first handbook on LGBT physical and mental health created by the world's oldest and largest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health care professionals. * Includes issues of physical, emotional, and sexual health, as well as prevention of disorders * An appendix of organizations that may serve as sources for more information or assistance
Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 H35 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-24
Historically, mental health clinical research has taken inadequate account of psychosocial disorders experienced by those who identify as sexual and gender minorities, however, researchers have recently begun developing and adapting evidence-based mental health treatment approaches for use with these groups. Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities offers a comprehensive array of evidence-based approaches for treating sexual and gender minority clients' mental health concerns. The interventions detailed here span a diverse spectrum of populations, including sexual and gender minority youth, transgender populations, same-sex couples, sexual minority parents, and bisexual individuals. Chapters also address numerous mental and behavioral health problems, including anxiety disorders, depression, substance abuse, trauma, body image disturbance, and sexual health. In addition to an overview of the research evidence supporting each clinical presentation and approach, chapters contain practical how-to guidance for therapists to use in their clinical practice. This book reflects a true integration of the best of sexual and gender minority research and the best of evidence-based practice research, presented by the leading experts in the field.
Transgender Health and Medicine: History, Practice, Research and the Future by
Call Number: RA564.9.T73 B48 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-26
This text starts with the history of transgender science and provides current, evidence-based information on theories and treatment procedures, concluding with projections of future scientific developments. A transgender person is one whose congruent gender behavior (e.g., masculine, feminine, genderqueer) does not match the culturally assigned gender category based on their sex at birth. For example, a transgender person may behave and present as a woman despite being born with male genitalia. This book provides background on transgender history, needs, assessment, and procedures; side effects of procedures; and outcomes that all providers need to understand to treat transgender patients and relate to their particular expectations. The current etiquette basis for establishing an effective provider-patient relationship is highlighted. Pathological terms are no longer acceptable and new non-pathological terms are rapidly replacing them, because being transgender is now recognized as a natural part of diversity rather than a disease or disorder. Also included here are new theories of causation and treatment approaches for providers.The book additionally outlines current and earlier schools of thought and provides an integrated theory of transgender causation that includes genetic, epigenetic, cultural, and early learning/emergence factors and highlights research needs and expected future research topics.
A Guide to Transgender Health by
Call Number: RA564.9.T73 H43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-24
Provides the most up-to-date information on transgender science and its applications, for gender-diverse people, their supporters, and the professionals who assist them to lead healthy, happy, and successful lives. The number of people presenting at gender clinics worldwide for assistance has increased exponentially in the last decade. Transgender people also have become much more prominent in the media. An increase in political populism, however, has brought unprecedented attacks on trans* people. Covering a wealth of topics relevant to transgender people and their supporters, both social and professional, Heath and Wynne help readers to see through the flawed arguments of those who wish to inflict damage on the trans* community. The content of this book ranges from theoretical ideas about the origin of gender diversity to practical solutions for trans* people to enjoy life in their chosen gender. Physical health topics include hormone therapy, puberty blockers, breast augmentation/reduction, gender confirmation surgery, and speech therapy. Mental health topics include dealing with discrimination, bullying, and transphobia. The text is presented so that it can be understood with no scientific background, but is also highly relevant to the health professional. Copious footnotes and references allow those wishing to delve more deeply into the topics to do so easily. The book is also supported by readily accessible resources available online and on social media.
Headcase: LGBTQ Writers and Artists on Mental Health and Wellness by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 H43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Headcase is a groundbreaking collection of personal reflections and artistic representations illustrating the intersection of mental wellness, mental illness, and LGBTQ identity, as well as the lasting impact of historical views equating queer and trans identity with mental illness. The featured pieces offer personal views from both providers and clients, often one and the same, about their experiences. In the anthology, readers will access the inner thoughts of contributors who collectively document the difficulty of navigating flawed healthcare systems that limit affordable access to genuinely affirming, effective services. Traversing boundaries of race and ethnic identity, age, gender identity, and socioeconomic status, Headcase appeals to LGBTQ communities and, specifically, LGBTQ mental health consumers and their friends, families, and comrades.
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by
Call Number: RA564.9.T73
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
From a renowned specialist at the Cleveland Clinic and medical and surgical experts in this growing field comes an up-to-date, multidisciplinary resource on transgender health care and surgery. Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, by Dr. Cecile Unger, covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. Incorporates all of the latest guidelines for providers and patients, written by experts from a wide variety of disciplines involved in transgender patient care. Contains outstanding surgical chapters contributed by prominent surgeons who regularly perform these procedures, providing clear guidance on male-to-female and female-to-male surgical options.
*eBook (UC users only).
Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by
Call Number: HV1449 .F68 2018
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Although the vast majority of LGBT persons are healthy, resilient, and hardy individuals who do not seek social work intervention, some have been or will be clients in social work agencies. The third edition of Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People updates this classic text and expands its scope to include new content on social work with older and younger LGBT people. Written by a team of highly experienced experts, this book provides a knowledge base for practice that will better prepare students and practitioners for working sensitively, competently, and effectively with LGBT individuals and groups. Comprehensive and practical, this unique text discusses the pragmatic aspects of social work with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. It will improve and reinforce competent practice with LGBT persons and their families in multiple settings. Chapters focus on important topics such as: the profession's core values and ethical principles; social work and queer theory; LGBT and race; heterosexism, racism, and sexism; applying the life model and the stress-coping process; practice with bisexual, transgender, and gender non-conforming persons; relationship building between lesbian partners; the impact of creating family for lesbian couples; internalized homophobia, heterocentrism, and gay identity; group work practice with the LGBTQ community; clinical assessment for families where sexual orientation is an issue; and LGBT parenting. There are also new chapters on social work with LGBT young people and LGBT older people. Complete with a highly detailed appendix of symbols, definitions, and terms, Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People, third edition, is an invaluable resource for social workers and mental health professionals as well as for students and educators at all levels of experience.
Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ Community: The Intersection of History, Health, Mental Health, and Policy Factors by
Call Number: HV40 .S643 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ Community aims to weave together the realms of sociopolitical, historical, and policy contexts in order to assist readers with understanding the base for effective and affirming health and mental health practice with diverse members of the LGBTQ community. Comprised of chapters written by social work academics and their allies - whose combined knowledge in the field spans decades of direct experience in human behavior, practice, policy, and research - this book features applicable and useful content for social work students and practitioners across the allied health and mental health professions, as well as across disciplines. The expansive practice text examines international concerns and content associated with the LGBTQ movement and ongoing needs related to health, mental health, policy and advocacy, among other areas of concern. Specific highlights of the chapters include narrative that blends conceptual, theoretical, and empirical content; examination of current trends in the field related to practice considerations and intersectionality; and snapshots of concerns related to international progress and ongoing challenges related to equality and policy. Overall, Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ Community is an invaluable resource for graduate students within social work programs and related disciplines, academics, and health/mental health practitioners currently in the field.
Understanding Trans Health: Discourse, Power and Possibility by
Call Number: RA564.9.T73
Publication Date: 2018-07-15
This is the first book to provide an in-depth sociological examination of the contemporary social and material conditions of health for transgender people. It draws upon the findings of a six-year ethnographic project in the United Kingdom that looked at the challenges faced by trans patients and the practitioners who work with them. Ruth Pearce shows that patients and practitioners are frequently divided by their different understandings of what it means for someone to be trans, a situation that is complicated by the operation of professional power within medical settings and that has profound consequences for both healthcare provision and for trans communities more widely.
*eBook (UC users only)
Transgender Mental Health by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 Y27 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-08
Societal awareness of transgender and gender-nonconforming (TGNC) individuals is greater now than at any point in history, owing to the education of policy makers by advocacy organizations, the education of clinicians by research and scientific organizations, and the education of the general public by movies, television, and other media. However, most professional training programs for mental health professionals provide little to no education regarding gender diversity. Transgender Mental Health squarely addresses this deficit. This guide forgoes clinical jargon in favor of accessible, straightforward language designed to educate clinicians on how to address the basic needs of the TGNC community, thus increasing access to mental health care for TGNC individuals, which has been sorely lacking to this point. Rich in cases drawn from real clinical experience, the guide is organized into four sections. * The first section includes a discussion of the gender spectrum and offers a history of the TGNC experience. This section also covers advocacy, particularly letter writing for gender marker changes and gender-affirming surgeries.* The second section is dedicated to mental health factors in TGNC care and examines sex and sexuality, support systems, and transitioning and detransitioning.* The third of the guide's sections addresses general physical health with TGNC individuals, including masculinizing and feminizing hormones, with an eye toward preparing practitioners to address the social, psychological, and physical needs of their patients.* The final section discusses all major gender-affirming surgical procedures, as well as nonsurgical interventions. Each chapter includes summarizing key points and review questions at the end that not only test the reader's comprehension of the material but also provide additional information on the complicated political, social, and cultural barriers that many TGNC individuals experience as they attempt to secure adequate care. Relevant for a range of mental health professionals, including psychiatrists, psychiatric nurse practitioners, psychologists, social workers, family therapists, and school counselors, Transgender Mental Health is a simple yet thorough primer on the complex topic of gender diversity.
Before AIDS: Gay Health Politics in the 1970s by
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 B38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
The AIDS crisis of the 1980s looms large in recent histories of sexuality, medicine, and politics, and justly so--an unknown virus without a cure ravages an already persecuted minority, medical professionals are unprepared and sometimes unwilling to care for the sick, and a national health bureaucracy is slow to invest resources in finding a cure. Yet this widely accepted narrative, while accurate, creates the impression that the gay community lacked any capacity to address AIDS. In fact, as Katie Batza demonstrates in this path-breaking book, there was already a well-developed network of gay-health clinics in American cities when the epidemic struck, and these clinics served as the first responders to the disease. Before AIDS explores this heretofore unrecognized story, chronicling the development of a national gay health network by highlighting the origins of longstanding gay health institutions in Boston, Chicago, and Los Angeles, placing them in a larger political context, and following them into the first five years of the AIDS crisis. Like many other minority communities in the 1970s, gay men faced public health challenges that resulted as much from their political marginalization and social stigmatization as from any disease. Gay men mistrusted mainstream health institutions, fearing outing, ostracism, misdiagnosis, and the possibility that their sexuality itself would be treated as a medical condition. In response to these problems, a colorful cast of doctors and activists built a largely self-sufficient gay medical system that challenged, collaborated with, and educated mainstream health practitioners. Taking inspiration from rhetoric employed by the Black Panther, feminist, and anti-urban renewal movements, and putting government funding to new and often unintended uses, gay health activists of the 1970s changed the medical and political understandings of sexuality and health to reflect the new realities of their own sexual revolution.
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 L48 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
This cutting-edge guide spotlights some of the most exciting emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. * Presents a concise history of LGBT psychology as well as coverage of current LGBT psychology in various subfields, including social, developmental, psychoanalytical, minority psychology, and women's psychology * Addresses issues in the LGBT community ranging from health disparities (physical, biological, and psychological illnesses that disproportionately affect the LGBT community) to addictions and substance abuse, stressors, and emerging policy issues * Includes contributors who are well-known trailblazers and noted experts in the field.
Gay Mental Healthcare Providers and Patients in the Military by
Call Number: UB418.G38
Publication Date: 2017-11-27
This volume tells the history of homosexuality in the United States military beginning in 1986, when the issue first came to the forefront of social consciousness. Each chapter is written through the eyes of gay mental healthcare providers, covering how to steadily adapt and learn to treat veterans struggling with the traumas associated with the stigma of homosexuality in service. Topics include the "Don't-Ask-Don't-Tell" (DADT) policy, its repeal in 2011, and addresses the current trends and challenges. Unlike any other professional book, this text includes the personal stories of gay military mental healthcare providers, as well as gay civilian clinicians who have worked with the military population in various segments in history. These accounts offer invaluable support for medical professionals working with this demographic. Chapters cover the various psychological damage service personnel encounter as it uniquely pertains to those struggling with the stigma of LGBTQ rights. Chapters include clinical pearls for particular psychiatric concerns, lessons learned for the future, and hard-earned successes as stigmas and perceptions evolved over time.
*eBook (UC users only).
Trauma, Resilience, and Health Promotion in LGBT Patients: What Every Healthcare Provider Should Know by
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 T73 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-14
This book has two goals: to educate healthcare professionals about the effect of identity-based adversity on the health of their LGBT patients, and to outline how providers can use the clinical encounter to promote LGBT patients' resilience in the face of adversity and thereby facilitate recovery. Toward this end, it addresses trauma in LGBT populations; factors that contribute to resilience both across the lifespan and in specific groups; and strategies for promoting resilience in clinical practice. Each chapter includes a case scenario with discussion questions and practice points that highlight critical clinical best practices. The editors and contributors are respected experts on the health of LGBT people, and the book will be a "first of its kind" resource for all clinicians who wish to become better educated about, and provide high quality healthcare to, their LGBT patients.
Also available as an eBook (UC only): Trauma, Resilience, and Health Promotion in LGBT Patients
Black LGBT Health in the United States: The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation by
Call Number: RA564.9.S49 B53 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Black LGBT Health in the United States: The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation focuses on the mental, physical, and spiritual aspects of health, and considers both risk and resiliency factors for the Black LGBT population. Contributors to this collection intimately understand the associations between health and intersectional anti-Black racism, heterosexism, homonegativity, biphobia, transphobia, and social class. This collection fills a gap in current scholarship by providing information about an array of health issues like cancer, juvenile incarceration, and depression that affect all subpopulations of Black LGBT people, especially Black bisexual-identified women, Black bisexual-identified men, and Black transgender men. This book is recommended for readers interested in psychology, health, gender studies, race studies, social work, and sociology.
Fundamentals of LGBT Substance Use Disorders: Multiple Identities, Multiple Challenges by
Call Number: RC564.5.G39 S54 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
In this new book, the successor to the classic in the field Counseling Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Substance Abusers: Dual Identities by Dana G. Finnegan and Emily B. McNally, Michael Shelton reviews the empirical literature and synthesizes what we know about the prevalence of LGBT substance use, abuse, and treatment availability, emphasizing the need for affirmative therapeutic practices. The principles of trauma-informed and culturally competent treatment/intervention are explained and assessed, as well as the challenges of minority stress and microaggressions experienced by the LGBT population. Separate sections focus on the sub-populations of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgender individuals. Separate chapters focus on LGBT youth, the elderly, family constellations and concerns, criminal justice issues, and rural LGBT substance abuse. This volume provides an introduction to the field that will be useful both as a primary textbook and as a handbook/reference for LGBT-focused and general substance-use disorder clinics and their administrators, clinicians, trainees, allies and volunteers.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Health Inequalities: International Perspectives in Social Work by
Call Number: HV1449 .L4835 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-15
This pioneering study examines inequalities experienced by LGBT people in health care and considers the role of social work in addressing the inequity. The book is organized into three parts: the first provides a policy context in four countries, the second examines social work practice in tackling health inequalities, and the third considers research and pedagogic developments. The volume's distinctive international approach features practice vignettes as well as key theoretical perspectives on the components of health inequalities, including social determinants of health, minority stress, ecological approaches, and human rights. With a preface from Gary Bailey, president of the International Federation of Social Workers, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Health Inequalities will be relevant to an interdisciplinary, international audience of social work educators, practitioners, and students.
Cancer and the LGBT Community: Unique Perspectives from Risk to Survivorship by
Call Number: RC281.S49
Publication Date: 2015-06-25
[eBook, UC only] This book covers the scope of current knowledge of cancer in the LGBT community across the entire cancer continuum, from understanding risk and prevention strategies in LGBT groups, across issues of diagnosis and treatment of LGBT patients, to unique aspects of survivorship and death and dying in these communities. Each chapter includes an in depth analysis of the state of the science, discusses the many remaining challenges and unanswered questions and makes recommendations for research, policy and programmatic strategies required to address these. Focus is also placed on the diversity of the LGBT communities. Issues that are unique to cancer in LGBT populations are addressed including the social, economic and cultural factors that affect cancer risk behaviors, barriers to screening, utilization of health care services, and legislation that directly impacts the health care of LGBT patients, healthcare settings that are heterosexist and unique aspects of patient-provider relationships such as disclosure of sexual orientation and the need for inclusion of expanded definition of family to include families of choice. The implications of policy change, its impact on healthcare for LGBT patients are highlighted, as are the remaining challenges that need to be addressed. A roadmap for LGBT cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis, survivorship, including treatment and end of life care is offered for future researchers, policy makers, advocates and health care providers.
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population by
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 H42 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population addresses a people whose lack of health care access, including mistreatment and refusal of services, are often omitted from discussions about health care and insurance reform. Research suggests that LGBT people experience worse health outcomes than their heterosexual counterparts. Low rates of health insurance coverage, high rates of stress due to systematic harassment, stigma, discrimination, and lack of cultural competency in the health care system frequently manifest in negative health-related behaviors. The dearth of data collection on sexual orientation and identity in state and federal health care surveys has led to inadequate information about LGBT populations, and has impeded the establishment of health programs and public policies that benefit them. This research provides a better understanding of the social and structural inequalities that LGBT populations experience.
Lesbian Health 101: A Clinician's Guide by
Call Number: RA564.87 .L47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
In 1999, lesbians were identified as an underserved minority by the Institute of Medicine. Some health issues for lesbians are different from those of heterosexual women, and clinicians need to be aware of these differences in order to provide culturally-appropriate care, since at least 5% of their female patients are lesbian. This book represents the cutting edge of what is known about lesbian health and also provides insight into women's health in general. This book will be useful to clinicians and students, as well as lesbians themselves.
General Health, 1990 - 2009
Coming Out of Cancer: Writings from the Lesbian Cancer Epidemic by
Call Number: Available as an e-Book (UC users only); in print at SRLF.
Publication Date: 2000-09-19
One-third of women run a lifetime risk of developing cancer, and studies have shown that lesbians are especially at risk. They often don't access healthcare because of homophobia in the medical establishment and inadequate insurance coverage. With its diversity of views and experience, Coming out of Cancer includes contributions from Audre Lorde, Ruthann Robson, Pat Parker, Rachel Carson, and Dr. Susan Love and offers information and support for survivors, loved ones, and community activists.
*SRLF record: Coming Out of Cancer