Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LGBT Think Tanks, Research & Policy Organizations
Movement Advancement Project
An independent think tank supporting LGBT equality. MAP focuses their work in three main areas: policy and issue analysis, LGBT movement overviews, and effective messaging. See "equality maps" for state-by-state breakdown on various issues.
Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS), Graduate Center, City University of New York (CUNY)
A university-based research center dedicated to the study of historical, cultural and political issues concerning LGBT individuals and communities. Sponsors programs and conferences and produces the OutHistory.org website.
Liberty Education Forum
A non-partisan think tank that focuses on reaching out to conservatives and people of faith about issues facing gay and lesbian Americans, focusing on research, speaker series and educational programming.
A think tank producing scholarship in the areas of gender, sexuality and the military. Website includes publications and a research portal. Recently became a part of the Williams Institute, but retains independent leadership.
Transgender Law and Policy Institute
A transgender advocacy organization; documents legal and public policy trends, provides resources for attorneys representing transgender individuals, and creates and disseminates litigation, legislative and education advocacy materials.
LGBT Legal Organizations
ACLU: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Project
A national project fighting discrimination in five issue areas: Relationships, Youth & Schools, Parenting, Gender Expression and Identity, and Discrimination. Includes news, case information, legal documents, and multimedia.
Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders
Based in New England; fights discrimination based on sexual orientation, HIV status, and gender identity and expression. Includes information on LGBT rights by state and by topic, publications, news and the GLAD docket, and a Legal InfoLine.
Human Rights Campaign
A national organization working for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights. See the "issues" tab for information and publications on a variety of topics.
A national organization working for the the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgendered people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education, and public policy work. Each of the four regional offices plus the headquarters has a Help Desk. The web site includes state-by-state information on a variety of issues.
National Center for Lesbian Rights
A national legal organization committed to advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and their families through litigation, public policy advocacy, and public education. Has a Legal Information Helpline. The website includes the NCLR docket, and information and publications on different issues.
National Center for Transgender Equality
A Washington, D.C.-based organization working for equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration and empowerment. See the "resources" section for Fact Sheets and publications.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
An advocacy organization working to build the political power of the LGBT community and advance LGBT rights. Website includes information on various issues, reports and research, and "issue maps" on topics such as relationship recognition, hate crimes laws, nondiscrimiantion laws, and foster care and adoption laws.
Sylvia Rivera Law Project
A New York organization fighting discrimination against transgender, transsexual, intersex and other gender non-conforming people, with a focus on low-income people and communities of color. Conducts precedent-setting lawsuits, policy work, community organizing support, and provides free legal services. Website includes news and publications, in English and Spanish.
Transgender Law Center
A California-based civil rights organization advocating for transgender communities through direct legal services, public policy advocacy, and educational opportunities. Website provides a large collection of resources on transgender law, including "California Transgender Law 101: A Resource Guide for California Lawyers and Advocates."