Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Teachers/Education 2020 -
The Educator's Guide to LGBT+ Inclusion: a practical resource for K-12 teachers, administrators, and school support staff by
Call Number: LC2574 .S53 2020
Publication Date: 2020-05-21
The rates of bullying, truancy due to lack of safety in schools, and subsequent suicidality for LGBT+ youth are exponentially higher than for non-LGBT+ youth. As a result, many American K-12 students are suffering needlessly and many school leaders are unsure of what to do. This book solves that problem. Setting out best practices and professional guidance for creating LGBT+ inclusive learning in schools, this approachable and easy to follow book guides teachers, educators, administrators, and school staff toward appropriate and proven ways to create safer learning environments, update school policies, enhance curricula, and better support LGBT+ youth as they learn. Featuring real-life situations and scenarios, a glossary, and further resources, this book enables professionals in a variety of school roles to integrate foundational concepts into their everyday interactions with students, families, and staff to create an overall school culture that nurtures a welcoming, inclusive, and affirming environment for all. This book can be utilized by independent readers, department teams, and entire school district reading experiences. This book also includes brand new, never before seen postcards from PostSecret as its foreword and its afterword is written by James Lecesne, co-founder of The Trevor Project. Also inside is the very first (and likely only ever) interview by the leaders of "Parents of Transgender Children," the world's largest support group of its kind. **An audiobook version will become available in Spring 2020!
Incorporating LGBTQ+ Identities in K-12 Curriculum and Policy by
Call Number: LC212.9 .I53 2020
Publication Date: 2019-12-27
Educators in the K-12 school environment work diligently to help at-risk students find success in the classroom. One particular group of at-risk students is the LGBTQ+ population. K-12 students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer often fear the repercussions of disclosing this information in the classroom environment. Homophobia from fellow students, faculty, and/or administrators can be in the form of bullying, lack of acknowledgement of identity, absence in curriculum, etc. There is a strong need for this group of students to be included in the landscape of curriculum design and policymaking. Incorporating LGBTQ+ Identities in K-12 Curriculum and Policy is a critical research publication that provides comprehensive research on inclusive curriculum design and education policy that specifically impacts LGBTQ+ students. Featuring an array of topics such as gender diversity, mental health services, and preservice teachers, this book is essential for teachers, counsellors, school psychologists, therapists, curriculum developers, instructional designers, principals, school boards, academicians, researchers, administrators, policymakers, and students.
Sexual Orientation and Teacher Identity: Professionalism and LGBTQ Politics in Teacher Preparation and Practice by
Call Number: LB2844.1.G39 S48 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Sexual Orientation and Teacher Identity: Professionalism and GLBT Politics in Teacher Preparation and Practice examines the nature of LGBTQ issues and teacher identity as social, cultural, and political constructs. In particular, the contributing authors to this collection of chapters present a collection of chapters that will illuminate and critique the practices, structures, and politics in both teacher preparation programs and public school settings that affect LGBTQ teachers and their identity in relation to the struggles of teachers as professionals face in obtaining recognition. The contributing authors of the book focus on teachers are entering educational settings where difference connotes not equal, and discourses of LGBTQ politics, identity, and difference are interwoven with a realization of discrimination and marginalization. The authors, drawing on their personal and professional experiences, give much needed voice to recognition and the formation of identity from a LGBTQ viewpoint as they relate to teachers, teacher educators, and other cultural workers responsible for shaping professional identities of teachers and for teaching students in schools and classrooms across the nation.
*Also available as eBook (UC users only): Sexual Orientation & Teacher Identity
Teachers/Education: 2010 - 2019
Teaching Gender and Sexuality at School: Letters to Teachers by
Call Number: LC212.9 .G65 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-11
In a set of compelling letters to teachers, Tara Goldstein addresses a full range of issues facing lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) students and families at elementary and secondary school. Goldstein talks to teachers about how they can support LGBTQ students and families by normalizing LGBTQ lives in the curriculum, challenging homophobic and transphobic ideas, and building an inclusive school culture that both expects and welcomes LGBTQ students and their families. Moving and energizing, Teaching Gender and Sexuality at School provides readers with the knowledge and resources they need to create safer and more positive classrooms and discusses what it takes to build authentic, trusting relationships with LGBTQ students and families.Includes "The Unicorn Glossary" by benjamin lee hicks, the performed ethnography Snakes and Ladders by Tara Goldstein, and the verbatim play Out at School by Tara Goldstein, Jenny Salisbury, and Pam Baer.
Supporting Gender Diversity in Early Childhood Classrooms: A Practical Guide by
Call Number: LB1139.23 .P375 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-21
By offering practical steps for adults who work with young children to build inclusive and intentional spaces where all children receive positive messages about their unique gender selves, this book increases awareness about gender diversity in learning environments such as child care centres, family child care homes and preschools. The book is based on some of the most progressive, modern understandings of gender and intersectionality, as well as research on child development, gender health, trauma informed practices and the science of adult learning. By including the voices and lived experiences of gender-expansive children, transgender adults, early childhood educators and parents and family members of trans and gender-expansive children, it contextualizes what it means to rethink early learning programs with a commitment to gender justice and gender equality for all children.
Trans People in Higher Education by
Call Number: LC2574.6 .T73 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Addresses the experiences of trans college students, faculty, and staff in a single volume for the first time.
Reading the Rainbow: LGBTQ-Inclusive Literacy Instruction in the Elementary Classroom by
Call Number: LB1576 .R925 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Drawing on examples from K - 5 classrooms, the authors make clear what LGBTQ-inclusive literacy teaching can look like in practice, including what teachers might say and how students might respond. The text also provides readers with opportunities to consider these new approaches with respect to traditional literacy instruction.
Stepping Up! by
Call Number: LC192.6 .B55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-23
Stepping Up! offers inspiring suggestions for ways teachers and teacher educators can stand up and speak out for students to create welcoming classroom climates for LGBTQ and gender diverse youth. Building from ten years of collaborative longitudinal inquiry, including interviews with parents, students, teachers, and administrators, the authors share stories from different perspectives to support teachers with concrete examples of advocacy. The authors show teachers how to "step up" by working with students, through and beyond curriculum, and by working with families and administrators to improve school culture for LGBTQ and gender diverse students. Additionally, they explore the potential constraints involved in such social justice work, and share strategies and resources for transforming schools to be more queer-friendly.
Dear Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Teacher: Letters of Advice to Help You Find Your Way by
Call Number: LB2844.1.G39 D43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Dear Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, And Transgender Teacher is full of the voices of queer educators and calls for educations leaders to be allies in their social justice leadership roles. Queer professionals write personal letters to junior queer colleagues answering the general prompt, "What have you learned as a queer educator that you believe is essential to the success of current or future gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered educators?" The responses are thoughtful, powerful, poignant, and direct.
One Teacher in Ten in the New Millennium: LGBT Educators Speak Out About What's Gotten Better...and What Hasn't by
Call Number: LB2844.1.G39 O645 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Twenty completely new stories of negotiating the triumphs and challenges of being an LGBT educator in the twenty-first century For more than twenty years, the One Teacher in Ten series has served as an invaluable source of strength and inspiration for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender educators. This all-new edition brings together stories from across America--and around the world--resulting in a rich tapestry of varied experiences. From a teacher who feels he must remain closeted in the comparative safety of New York City public schools to teachers who are out in places as far afield as South Africa and China, the teachers and school administrators in One Teacher in Ten in the New Millennium prove that LGBT educators are as diverse and complex as humanity itself. Voices largely absent from the first two editions--including transgender people, people of color, teachers working in rural districts, and educators from outside the United States--feature prominently in this new collection, providing a fuller and deeper understanding of the triumphs and challenges of being an LGBT teacher today.
Understanding and Teaching U. S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History by
Call Number: HQ75.16.U6 U53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-12-17
Though largely neglected in classrooms, LGBT history can provide both a fuller understanding of U.S. history and contextualization for the modern world. This is the first book designed for university and high school teachers who want to integrate queer history into the standard curriculum. With its inspiring stories, classroom-tested advice, and rich information, it is a valuable resource for anyone who thinks history should be an all-inclusive story. Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History offers a wealth of insight for teachers. Introductory essays by Leila J. Rupp and Susan K. Freeman make clear why queer history is important and provide global historical context, showing that same-sex sexual desire and gender change are not new, modern phenomena. Teachers in diverse educational settings provide narratives of their experiences teaching queer history. A topical section offers seventeen essays on such themes as sexual diversity in early America, industrial capitalism and emergent sexual cultures, and gay men and lesbians in World War II. Contributors include detailed suggestions for integrating these topics into a standard U.S. history curriculum, including creative and effective assignments. A final section addresses sources and interpretive strategies well-suited to the history classroom. Taken as a whole, Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History will help teachers at all levels navigate through cultural touchstones and political debates and provide a fuller knowledge of significant events in history.
*Also available as an eBook (UC users only): Understanding and Teaching U.S. LGBT History
School's Out: Gay and Lesbian Teachers in the Classroom by
Call Number: LC192.6 .C68 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
How do gay and lesbian teachers negotiate their professional and sexual identities at work, given that these identities are constructed as mutually exclusive, even as mutually opposed? Using interviews and other ethnographic materials from Texas and California, School's Out explores how teachers struggle to create a classroom persona that balances who they are and what's expected of them in a climate of pervasive homophobia. Catherine Connell's examination of the tension between the rhetoric of gay pride and the professional ethic of discretion insightfully connects and considers complicating factors, from local law and politics to gender privilege. She also describes how racialized discourses of homophobia thwart challenges to sexual injustices in schools. Written with ethnographic verve, School's Out is essential reading for specialists and students of queer studies, gender studies, and educational politics. *Also available as an eBook (UC users only): School's Out
Queer Voices from the Classroom by
Call Number: LB2844.1.G39 Q44 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
This title presents a collection of memoirs of short narrative essays in which lesian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex or queer PK-12 teachers and/or administrators (either 'out' or 'not out') recount their personal experiences as queer teachers.
Teachers/Education: 1990 - 2009