LibGuides: Williams Institute Reading Room: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resources in Law and Public Policy: Crime/Violence/Homophobia

Page Guide

Links / Statistics

FBI, Uniform Crime Reports, Hate Crimes Statistics
Data goes back to 1996.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS), Hate Crime
Includes summary of legislation and link to facts & figures.
National Institute of Justice, Hate Crime
Provides a general introduction and links to reports and other sites.
Fatal Violence Against the Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming Community in 2023
Fatal Violence Against the Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming Community in 2022
Human Rights Campaign, Archive of Fatal Violence against Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming People Reports
Database of Transgender Homicides, 2010 - 2018
Compiled by a team of reporters at Mic, in collaboration with transgender advocacy organizations, activists, academics and victims’ loved ones and families. Includes an investigative report.
Violence Against the Transgender and Gender-Nonconforming Community in 2020
A National Epidemic: Fatal Anti-Transgender Violence in the United States in 2019
A National Epidemic: Fatal Anti-Transgender Violence in America in 2018
A Time to Act: Fatal Violence Against Transgender People in America in 2017
A Matter of Life and Death: Fatal Violence Against Transgender People in America 2016
Addressing Anti-Transgender Violence: Exploring Realities, Challenges and Solutions for Policymakers and Community Advocates (2015)
2013 Report on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and HIV-Affected Hate Violence (May 2014)
Issued by the National Coalition of Anti-Violence Programs (NCAVP)

Films

Southwest of Salem. Deborah S. Esquenazi (FilmRise, 2016). Film website; Streaming via Kanopy (UCLA only). "Lesbian Latinas fight for justice." Story of the San Antonio Four.

Free Cece! Jac Gares (Tugg Edu, 2016). DVD HQ77.8.M393 F74 2016; film trailer.

Treasure: From Tragedy to Trans Justice, Mapping a Detroit Story. Dream Hampton (Frameline, 2015) DVD HQ77.96 .T74 2015; film information. Documentary about the murder of young African American transwoman Shelly "Treasure" Hillard.

Out in the Night. Blair Dorosh-Walther (The Fire This Time, 2014). DVD F128.9.N4 O87 2014; Film information; also streaming via Kanopy (UCLA only).

Matt Shepard is a Friend of Mine. Michele Josue (Education Pictures, 2013; Kanopy Streaming 2016). Streaming via Kanopy (UCLA only); film website

Dreams Deferred: The Sakia Gunn Film Project. Charles Bennett Brack, Sam Castrillo (Third World Newsreel, 2008). DVD HV6250.4.H66 D74 2008; *Film information

Bullied: a student, a school and a case that made history. (Bill Brummel, Southern Poverty Law Center, 2010) DVD LB3013.32 .B84 2010; *Film information. (Documentary; case of Jamie Nabozny.)

Laramie Inside Out. Beverly Seckinger (New Day Films, 2004). How Matthew Shepard's murder changed Laramie. Streaming via Kanopy (UCLA only); film information.

Boys Don't Cry. Kimberly Peirce (Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, 2000). DVD PN1997 .B697 2000

Licensed to Kill. Arthur Dong (DeepFocus Productions, 1997, 2003). DVD HV6250.4 .H66 L53 1997; *Film information

Crime/Violence/Homophobia 2020 -

A Place for Us: A Memoir by Brandon J. Wolf
Call Number: HQ75.8.W65 A3 2023
ISBN: 9781542036467
Publication Date: 2023-07-01
From one of the most vital and passionate LGBTQ+ activists comes a powerful memoir about self-discovery, community, love, and resilience in the face of adversity. Growing up in rural Oregon, Brandon Wolf grappled with the devastating loss of his supportive mother and with the embedded racism and homophobia of a community that made him feel like an unwelcome stranger. After the lack of connection and role models led him down a spiral of risky behavior, Wolf escaped to survive. In Orlando, he found what he'd been searching for: belonging--in a community that was a safe space with people he'd come to call his chosen family. They taught Wolf how to love, and be loved, unconditionally. Then, on June 12, 2016, in an exhilarating refuge where Wolf and hundreds of others had discovered a liberating new normal, they were suddenly challenged with fighting for a way out--in order to survive. Overnight, everything was ripped away by chaos, panic, and fear. But the unimaginable tragedy also gave Wolf a new power: purpose. In this unforgettable coming-of-age memoir, Wolf shares his transformative journey from young outsider to galvanizing activist. Marshaling the compassion and strength of a community, Wolf explores how to get through the darkest times with healing, hope, and resistance. "With our backs against the wall," he writes, "we find a way out together."
Transgender People and Criminal Justice: An Examination of Issues in Victimology, Policing, Sentencing, and Prisons by Heather Panter (Editor); Angela Dwyer (Editor)
Call Number: HV7419 .T73 2023
ISBN: 9783031298929
Publication Date: 2023-06-03
This cutting-edge book examines the unique issues that transgender identities face globally in the criminal processing system through empirical and theoretical contributions. The contributing authors range from established transgender scholars, transgender equality rights activists, transgender policy influencers, researchers from non-profit groups, and former criminal justice practitioners. The book covers many under-developed issues for transgender identities like criminalization, victimization, court experiences, law enforcement and the policing of gender, the school to prison pipeline, and incarceration. It provides a significant advancement in queer criminology and trans studies globally.
*Also available online (UC users only)
Dismantling Everyday Discrimination: Microaggressions Toward LGBTQ People by Kevin Leo Yabut Nadal
Call Number: HQ73 .N33 2023
ISBN: 9781433840159
Publication Date: 2023-02-14
This book examines the microaggressions that LGBTQ people face on a daily basis, highlights their impact on mental health, and discusses ways mental health providers can help clients process and address microaggressions. In contrast to outright assaults and hate crimes, microaggressions are typically more covert or innocuous in nature--sometimes intentional or unintentional--communicating hostile, insulting, or negative messages about people of oppressed groups. Since the first edition of this book (That's So Gay!: Microaggressions and the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community) was published, there has been a cultural shift towards the acceptance of LGBTQ people in some parts of the United States. Yet many state governments have also passed laws that attack and discriminate against LGBTQ people, while institutional and interpersonal discrimination continues to occur in the lives of LGBTQ people throughout the country. This book includes a comprehensive overview of empirical work on microaggressions against LGBTQ people. Mental health practitioners can use the book to understand how microaggressions negatively affect their clients' lives, enabling them to build stronger therapeutic relationships and develop appropriate treatment plans. Educators can use this book to instruct their students, trainees, and colleagues about heterosexism, genderism, and microaggressions. It is a helpful resource for insight into workplace dynamics, and it can also be useful for lay readers of all backgrounds.
*Also available online (UC users only)
Queer Criminology by Carrie L. Buist; Emily Lenning
Call Number: HQ73 .B85 2023
ISBN: 0367760231
Publication Date: 2022-08-12
This book surveys the growing field of Queer Criminology. It reflects on its origins, reviews its foundational research and scholarship and offers suggestions for future directions. Moreover, this book emphasizes the importance of Queer Criminology in the field and the need to move LGBTQ+ issues from the margins to the center of criminological research. Core content includes: - Contested definitions of and conceptual frameworks for Queer Criminology - The criminalization of queerness and gender identity in historical and contemporary context - The relationship between LGBTQ+ communities and law enforcement - The impact of legislation and court decisions on LGBTQ+ communities - The experiences of queer victims and offenders under correctional supervision This revised and updated edition includes new developments in theory and research, further coverage of international issues and a new chapter on victimization and offending. It is essential reading for those engaged with queer, critical, and feminist criminologies, gender studies, diversity, and criminal justice.
*Also available online (UCLA users only)
The Women's House of Detention: A Queer History of a Forgotten Prison by Hugh Ryan
Call Number: HV9481.N62 W6679 2022
ISBN: 1645036669
Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Winner, 2023 Stonewall Book Award--Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Book Award
This singular history of a prison, and the queer women and trans people held there, is a window into the policing of queerness and radical politics in the twentieth century. The Women's House of Detention, a landmark that ushered in the modern era of women's imprisonment, is now largely forgotten. But when it stood in New York City's Greenwich Village, from 1929 to 1974, it was a nexus for the tens of thousands of women, transgender men, and gender-nonconforming people who inhabited its crowded cells. Some of these inmates--Angela Davis, Andrea Dworkin, Afeni Shakur--were famous, but the vast majority were incarcerated for the crimes of being poor and improperly feminine. Today, approximately 40 percent of the people in women's prisons identify as queer; in earlier decades, that percentage was almost certainly higher. Historian Hugh Ryan explores the roots of this crisis and reconstructs the little-known lives of incarcerated New Yorkers, making a uniquely queer case for prison abolition--and demonstrating that by queering the Village, the House of D helped defined queerness for the rest of America. From the lesbian communities forged through the Women's House of Detention to the turbulent prison riots that presaged Stonewall, this is the story of one building and much more: the people it caged, the neighborhood it changed, and the resistance it inspired.
Queering Criminology in Theory and Praxis by Carrie Buist (Editor); Lindsay Kahle Semprevivo (Editor)
Call Number: HV7419 .Q44 2022
ISBN: 1529210690
Publication Date: 2022-03-29
This accessible book introduces the key concepts and theoretical developments of queer criminology and explains what they mean for modern criminal justice frameworks and practitioners. The book sets out experiences of the LGBTQ+ population as victims, offenders and professionals in legal systems in the US and internationally and explores what they mean for elements of those systems including police, courts, corrections and victims' services. It is both a useful reference point for academics, students and professionals and a guide to how queer criminology can be theoretically applied and practically implemented in the worlds of policing, courts, corrections, and victims' services.
*Also available online (UC users only)
A Dark Room in Glitter Ball City: Murder, Secrets, and Scandal in Old Louisville by David Dominé
Call Number: HV6534.L73 D65 2021
ISBN: 1643138634
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
This true crime saga--with an eccentric Southern backdrop--introduces the reader to the story of a murder in a crumbling Louisville mansion and the decades of secrets and corruption that live within the old house's walls. On June 18, 2010, police discover a body buried in the wine cellar of a Victorian mansion in Old Louisville. James Carroll, shot and stabbed the year before, has lain for 7 months in a plastic storage bin--his temporary coffin. Homeowner Jeffrey Mundt and his boyfriend, Joseph Banis, point the finger at each other in what locals dub The Pink Triangle Murder. On the surface, this killing appears to be a crime of passion, a sordid love tryst gone wrong in a creepy old house. But as author David Dominé sits in on the trials, a deeper story emerges: the struggle between hope for a better future on the one hand and the privilege and power of the status quo on the other. As the court testimony devolves into he-said/he-said contradictions, David draws on the confidences of neighbors, drag queens, and other acquaintances within the city's vibrant LGBTQ community to piece together the details of the case. While uncovering the many past lives of the mansion itself, he enters a murky underworld of gossip, neighborhood scandal, and intrigue.
The Case Against Conversion Therapy: Evidence, Ethics, and Alternatives by Douglas C. Haldeman (Editor)
Call Number: RC558 .C326 2022
ISBN: 1433837110
Publication Date: 2021-11-23
This volume explores the history and effects of so-called conversion "therapy" on LGBT people. Although the practice has been widely discredited, it remains legal in most states and continues to be practiced with lesbian, gay, and bisexual children and adolescents. Furthermore, as the past 20 years have seen an increase in gender nonconforming and transgender individuals, there has been a similar rise in efforts to socially reprogram gender nonconforming children and adolescents. What motivates individuals to seek these harmful treatments, either for themselves or for their children? What does the record show about the efficacy and effects of SOCE and GICE? This book synthesizes findings from a vast literature base to answer these and other important questions.
*Also available as eBook (UC users only)
Everyday Violence: The Public Harassment of Women and LGBTQ People by Simone Kolysh
Call Number: HV6250.4.S49 K65 2021
ISBN: 1978823991
Publication Date: 2021-09-17
Everyday Violence is based on ten years of scholarly rage against catcalling and aggression directed at women and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) people of New York City. Simone Kolysh recasts public harassment as everyday violence and demands an immediate end to this pervasive social problem. Analyzing interviews with initiators and recipients of everyday violence through an intersectional lens, Kolysh argues that gender and sexuality, shaped by race, class, and space, are violent processes that are reproduced through these interactions in the public sphere. They examine short and long-term impacts and make inroads in urban sociology, queer and trans geographies, and feminist thought. Kolysh also draws a connection between public harassment, gentrification, and police brutality resisting criminalizing narratives in favor of restorative justice. Through this work, they hope for a future where women and LGBTQ people can live on their own terms, free from violence.
Vice Patrol: Cops, Courts, and the Struggle over Urban Gay Life Before Stonewall by Anna Lvovsky
Call Number: HQ76.3.U6 L96 2021
ISBN: 022676964X
Publication Date: 2021-05-24
In the mid-twentieth century, gay life flourished in American cities even as the state repression of queer communities reached its peak. Liquor investigators infiltrated and shut down gay-friendly bars. Plainclothes decoys enticed men in parks and clubs. Vice officers surveilled public bathrooms through peepholes and two-way mirrors. In Vice Patrol, Anna Lvovsky chronicles this painful story, tracing the tactics used to criminalize, profile, and suppress gay life from the 1930s through the 1960s, and the surprising controversies those tactics often inspired in court. Lvovsky shows that the vice squads' campaigns stood at the center of live debates about not only the law's treatment of queer people, but also the limits of ethical policing, the authority of experts, and the nature of sexual difference itself--debates that had often unexpected effects on the gay community's rights and freedoms. Examining those battles, Vice Patrol enriches understandings of the regulation of queer life in the twentieth century and disputes about police power that continue today.
Last Call: A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York by Elon Green
Call Number: HV6534.N5 G74 2021
ISBN: 1250224357
Publication Date: 2021-03-09
A "terrific, harrowing, true-crime account of an elusive serial killer who preyed upon gay men in the 1990s." -The New York Times (Editor's Pick) "In this astonishing and powerful work of nonfiction, Green meticulously reports on a series of baffling and brutal crimes targeting gay men. It is an investigation filled with twists and turns, but this is much more than a compelling true crime story. Green has shed light on those whose lives for too long have been forgotten, and rescued an important part of American history." -David Grann, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon The gripping true story, told here for the first time, of the Last Call Killer and the gay community of New York City that he preyed upon. The Townhouse Bar, midtown, July 1992: The piano player seems to know every song ever written, the crowd belts out the lyrics to their favorites, and a man standing nearby is drinking a Scotch and water. The man strikes the piano player as forgettable. He looks bland and inconspicuous. Not at all what you think a serial killer looks like. But that's what he is, and tonight, he has his sights set on a gray haired man. He will not be his first victim. Nor will he be his last. The Last Call Killer preyed upon gay men in New York in the '80s and '90s and had all the hallmarks of the most notorious serial killers. Yet because of the sexuality of his victims, the sky-high murder rates, and the AIDS epidemic, his murders have been almost entirely forgotten. This gripping true-crime narrative tells the story of the Last Call Killer and the decades-long chase to find him. And at the same time, it paints a portrait of his victims and a vibrant community navigating threat and resilience.
Violence Against LGBTQ+ Persons: Research, Practice, and Advocacy by Emily M. Lund (Editor); Claire Burgess (Editor); Andy J. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: HQ73 .V56 2021
ISBN: 3030526119
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
As violence against LGBTQ+ persons continues to be a pervasive and serious problem, this book aims to inform mental health providers about the unique needs of LGBTQ+ survivors of interpersonal and structural violence. Individual chapters analyze unique aspects of violence against specific subpopulations of LGBTQ+ persons in order to avoid ineffective and sometimes simplistic one-size-fits-all treatment strategies. Among the topics covered: Macro Level Advocacy for Mental Health Professionals: Promoting Social Justice for LGBTQ+ Survivors of Interpersonal Violence; Intimate Partner Violence in Women's Same-Sex Relationships; Violence Against Asexual Persons; Invisibility and Trauma in the Intersex Community; Sexual and Gender Minority Refugees and Asylum Seekers: An Arduous Journey; Sexual and Gender Minority Marginalization in Military Contexts; and Navigating Potentially Traumatic Conservative Religious Environments as a Sexual/Gender Minority. Violence Against LGBTQ+ Persons prepares mental health professionals for addressing internalized forms of prejudice and oppression that exacerbate the trauma of the survivor, in order to facilitate healing, empowerment, healthy relationships, and resilience at the intersection of sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, and diverse social locations. This is a valuable reference for psychologists, social workers, counselors, nurses, mental health professionals, and graduate students, regardless of whether they are preparing for general practice, treatment of LGBTQ+ clients, or treatment of survivors and perpetrators of various forms of violence.
*Also eBook (UC users only)
Queers, Bis, and Straight Lies: An Intersectional Examination of LGBTQ Stigma by Meredith G. F. Worthen
Call Number: HQ76.4 .W67 2020
ISBN: 9781138241459
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
Though there have been great advances for LGBTQ people in recent years, stigma, intolerance, and prejudice remain. Queers, Bis, and Straight Lies: An Intersectional Examination of LGBTQ Stigma offers an in-depth exploration of LGBTQ negativity through its ground-breaking use of Norm-Centered Stigma Theory (NCST), the first ever theory about stigma that is both testable and well-positioned in existing stigma scholarship. Based on research with more than 3,000 respondents, hetero-cis-normativity and intersectionality are highlighted as fundamental in understanding separate but interconnected discussions about LGBTQ individuals' experiences with discrimination, harassment, and violence. With chapters dedicated to lesbian women, gay men, bisexual women, bisexual men, trans women, trans men, non-binary/genderqueer people, queer women, and queer men, Queers, Bis, and Straight Lies brings together empirically-driven findings that work toward dismantling "straight lies" in an innovative and impactful manner. Through its novel and critical approach, Queers, Bis, and Straight Lies is the ideal resource for those who want to learn about LGBTQ stigma more broadly and for those who seek a nuanced, theory-driven, and intersectional examination of how LGBTQ prejudices and prejudicial experiences differ by gender identity, sexual identity, race/ethnicity, and class.

Crime/Violence/Homophobia 2010 - 2019

Policing in the United States by Eric J. Miller (Editor); Tamara Rice Lave (Editor)
Call Number: HV8139 .C36 2019
ISBN: 1108420559
Publication Date: 2019-07-04
The Cambridge Handbook of Policing in the United States provides a comprehensive collection of essays on police and policing, written by leading experts in political theory, sociology, criminology, economics, law, public health, and critical theory. It unveils a range of experiences - from the police chief of a major metropolitan force to ordinary people targeted for policing on the street - and asks important questions about whether and why we need the police, before analyzing the law of policing, police use of force, and police violence, paying particular attention to the issue of discrimination against marginalized and vulnerable communities at the blunt end of police interference. The book also discusses technological innovations and proposals for reform. Written in accessible language, this interdisciplinary work will be a valuable resource for anyone interested in understanding the present and future of policing in the United States.
*See chapter by Williams current & former staff: Police and the Criminalization of LGBT People, by Naomi G. Goldberg, Christy Mallory, Amira Hasenbush, Lara Stemple, & Ilan H. Meyer.
Indecent Advances: A Hidden History of True Crime and Prejudice Before Stonewall by James Polchin
Call Number: HV6168 .P65 2019
ISBN: 1640091890
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
"[A] fascinating new book on the treatment of gay men in true crime and crime fiction [that] reexamines the violence that people at the Stonewall Inn had faced every day, and the rage crackling up underneath . . . What makes Polchin's readings stand out is the way he pursues an underlying story across several seemingly separate crimes." --Alexander Chee,The New Republic
Stories of murder have never been just about killers and victims. Instead, crime stories take the shape of their times and reflect cultural notions and prejudices. In Indecent Advances, James Polchin recovers and recounts queer stories from the crime pages--often lurid and euphemistic--that reveal the hidden history of violence against gay men. What was left unsaid in the crime pages provides insight into the figure of the queer man as both criminal and victim, offering readers tales of vice and violence that aligned gender and sexual deviance with tragic, gruesome endings. Victims were often reported as having made "indecent advances," forcing the accused's hands in self-defense and reducing murder charges to manslaughter. Published in time for the fiftieth anniversary of the Stonewall uprising on June 28, 1969, Indecent Advances investigates how queer men navigated a society that criminalized them and displayed little compassion for the violence they endured. Polchin shows, with masterful insight, how this discrimination was ultimately transformed by activists to help shape the burgeoning gay rights movement in the years leading up to Stonewall.
Dying to Be Normal: Gay Martyrs and the Transformation of American Sexual Politics by Brett Krutzsch
Call Number: HQ75.7 .K78 2019
ISBN: 0190685212
Publication Date: 2019-03-08
On October 14, 1998, five thousand people gathered on the steps of the U.S. Capitol to mourn the death of Matthew Shepard, a gay college student who had been murdered in Wyoming eight days earlier. Politicians and celebrities addressed the crowd and the televised national audience to share their grief with the country. Never before had a gay citizen's murder elicited such widespread outrage or concern from straight Americans. In Dying to Be Normal, Brett Krutzsch argues that gay activists memorialized people like Shepard as part of a political strategy to present gays as similar to the country's dominant class of white, straight Christians. Through an examination of publicly mourned gay deaths, Krutzsch counters the common perception that LGBT politics and religion have been oppositional and reveals how gay activists used religion to bolster the argument that gays are essentially the same as straights, and therefore deserving of equal rights. Krutzsch's analysis turns to the memorialization of Shepard, Harvey Milk, Tyler Clementi, Brandon Teena, and F. C. Martinez, to campaigns like the It Gets Better Project, and national tragedies like the Pulse nightclub shooting to illustrate how activists used prominent deaths to win acceptance, influence political debates over LGBT rights, and encourage assimilation. Throughout, Krutzsch shows how, in the fight for greater social inclusion, activists relied on Christian values and rhetoric to portray gays as upstanding Americans. As Krutzsch demonstrates, gay activists regularly reinforced a white Protestant vision of acceptable American citizenship that often excluded people of color, gender-variant individuals, non-Christians, and those who did not adhere to Protestant Christianity's sexual standards. The first book to detail how martyrdom has influenced national debates over LGBT rights, Dying to Be Normal establishes how religion has shaped gay assimilation in the United States and the mainstreaming of particular gays as "normal" Americans.
Gender Identity, Sexual Orientation, and Sexual Assault by Corina Schulze; Sarah Koon-Magnin; Valerie L. Bryan
Call Number: HV6556 .S348 2019
ISBN: 1626377782
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
*At Young Research Library.
The underlying argument of this groundbreaking study is this: Sexual orientation and gender identity influence how sexual assault is experienced, how it is perceived, and ultimately, how victims (and perpetrators) are treated by the criminal justice system. Focusing much of their work on the queer community―a community with a disproportionately high risk of sexual assault―the authors introduce the Identity Inclusive Sexual Assault Myth Scale (IISAMS) to explore the unique aspects of sexual assault and the process of disclosure as experienced by queer victims. They also incorporate participant recommendations, collected during interviews, as they foreground ways for more effectively preventing and responding to sexual violence throughout contemporary society.
The Legacies of Matthew Shepard: Twenty Years Later by Helis Sikk (Editor); Leisa Meyer (Editor)
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 L434 2019
ISBN: 036714929X
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
This edited collection explores the deeper contexts and consequences surrounding the murder of Matthew Shepard. This young gay man was brutally beaten and left tied to a fence on a chill Wyoming night in October 1998. Found the next morning by two cyclists, he was transported to a hospital in Fort Collins, Colorado where he died five days later. His murder was one of the most publicized and for some, most vividly remembered, instances of hate crime related violence based on sexual orientation. Twenty years after his death, Matthew Shepard's story is at a critical turning point: memories of his murder and its meanings can either fade into the past or be reinvigorated to make up part of more meaningful investigations into LGBTQ and modern U.S. history. The multidisciplinary contributors to this book blend personal narrative with more conventional academic approaches to offer a 20-year retrospective that re-examines the subject of Shepard's murder, whilst also bringing to light questions of historical memory, rurality, race, and public policy. Each of the disciplines and genres included contributes unique understandings of the murder and responses to it that cannot be articulated solely through traditional academic writing. This collection then not only tells the story of Matthew Shepard in the context of 2018, but also provides a compelling view of how and through which means American culture communicates painful histories of violence, bias, and death.
Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation by Robert W. Fieseler
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 F54 2018
ISBN: 1631491644
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Buried for decades, the Up Stairs Lounge tragedy has only recently emerged as a catalyzing event of the gay liberation movement. In revelatory detail, Robert W. Fieseler chronicles the tragic event that claimed the lives of thirty-one men and one woman on June 24, 1973, at a New Orleans bar, the largest mass murder of gays until 2016. Relying on unprecedented access to survivors and archives, Fieseler creates an indelible portrait of a closeted, blue- collar gay world that flourished before an arsonist ignited an inferno that destroyed an entire community. The aftermath was no less traumatic--families ashamed to claim loved ones, the Catholic Church refusing proper burial rights, the city impervious to the survivors' needs--revealing a world of toxic prejudice that thrived well past Stonewall. Yet the impassioned activism that followed proved essential to the emergence of a fledgling gay movement. Tinderbox restores honor to a forgotten generation of civil-rights martyrs.
The Life and Death of Latisha King: A Critical Phenomenology of Transphobia by Gayle Salamon
Call Number: HQ77.8.K56 S25 2018
ISBN: 1479849219
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
What can the killing of a transgender teen teach us about the violence of misreading gender identity as sexual identity? The Life and Death of Latisha King examines a single incident, the shooting of 15-year-old Latisha King by 14-year-old Brandon McInerney in their junior high school classroom in Oxnard, California in 2008. The press coverage of the shooting, as well as the criminal trial that followed, referred to Latisha, assigned male at birth, as Larry. Unpacking the consequences of representing the victim as Larry, a gay boy, instead of Latisha, a trans girl, Gayle Salamon draws on the resources of feminist phenomenology to analyze what happened in the school and at the trial that followed. In building on the phenomenological concepts of anonymity and comportment, Salamon considers how gender functions in the social world and the dangers of being denied anonymity as both a particularizing and dehumanizing act. Salamon offers close readings of the court transcript and the bodily gestures of the participants in the courtroom to illuminate the ways gender and race were both evoked in and expunged from the narrative of the killing. Across court documents and media coverage, Salamon sheds light on the relation between the speakable and unspeakable in the workings of the transphobic imaginary. Interdisciplinary in both scope and method, the book considers the violences visited upon gender-nonconforming bodies that are surveilled and othered, and the contemporary resonances of the Latisha King killing.
Blackwashing Homophobia: Violence and the Politics of Sexuality, Gender and Race by Melanie Judge
Call Number: HQ76.45.S6 J83 2018
ISBN: 1138219053
Publication Date: 2017-08-24
*At Young Research Library.
As lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex identities increasingly secure legal recognition across the globe, these formal equality gains are contradicted by the continued presence of violence. Such violence emerges as a political pressure point for contestations of identity and power within wider systems of global and local inequality. Discourses of homophobia-related violence constitute subjectivities that enact violence and that are rendered vulnerable to it, as well as shaping political possibilities to act against violence. Blackwashing Homophobia critiques prevailing discourses through which violence and its queer targets are normatively understood, exploring the knowledge regimes in which multiple forms of othering are both reproduced and/or resisted. This book draws on primary research on lesbian subjectivity and violence in South Africa examining the intersections of sexual, gender, race and class identities, and the contemporary politics of violence in a postcolonial context: * What are the contending ways of knowing queers and the violence they face? * How are the causes, characters, consequence of, and 'cures' for, violence constructed through such knowledges and what are their power effects? The book explores these questions and their implications for how violence, as an instrument of power, might be countered. Blackwashing Homophobia is a timely intervention for theorising the discourse of homophobia-related violence and what it reveals and conceals, enables and hinders, in relation to queer identities and political imaginaries in times of violence.
Homophobic Violence in Armed Conflict and Political Transition by José Fernando Serrano-Amaya
Call Number: JC328.6
ISBN: 3319603205
Publication Date: 2017-08-16
This book argues that homophobia plays a fundamental role in disputes for hegemony between antagonists during political transitions. Examining countries not often connected in the same research--Colombia and South Africa--the book asserts that homophobia, as a form of gender and sexual violence, contributes to the transformation of gender and sexual orders required by warfare and deployed by armed groups. Anti-homosexual violence also reinforces the creation of consensus around these projects of change. The book considers the perspective of individuals and their organizations, for whom such hatreds are part of the embodied experience of violence caused by protracted conflicts and social inequalities. Resistance to that violence are reason to mobilize and become political actors. This book contributes to the increasing interest in South-South comparative analyses and the need of theory building based on case-study analyses, offering systematic research useful for grass root organizations, practitioners, and policy makers.
*eBook (UC users only)
The Gang's All Queer: The Lives of Gay Gang Members by Vanessa R. Panfil
Call Number: HV6439.U5 P36 2017
ISBN: 1479805203
Publication Date: 2017-08-15
The first inside look at gay gang members. Many people believe that gangs are made up of violent thugs who are in and out of jail, and who are hyper-masculine and heterosexual. In The Gang's All Queer, Vanessa Panfil introduces us to a different world. Meet gay gang members - sometimes referred to in popular culture as "homo thugs" - whose gay identity complicates criminology's portrayal and representation of gangs, gang members, and gang life. In vivid detail, Panfil provides an in-depth understanding of how gay gang members construct and negotiate both masculine and gay identities through crime and gang membership. The Gang's All Queer draws from interviews with over 50 gay gang- and crime-involved young men in Columbus, Ohio, the majority of whom are men of color in their late teens and early twenties, as well as on-the-ground ethnographic fieldwork with men who are in gay, hybrid, and straight gangs. Panfil provides an eye-opening portrait of how even members of straight gangs are connected to a same-sex oriented underground world. Most of these young men still present a traditionally masculine persona and voice deeply-held affection for their fellow gang members. They also fight with their enemies, many of whom are in rival gay gangs. Most come from impoverished, 'rough' neighborhoods, and seek to defy negative stereotypes of gay and Black men as deadbeats, though sometimes through illegal activity. Some are still closeted to their fellow gang members and families, yet others fight to defend members of the gay community, even those who they deem to be "fags," despite distaste for these flamboyant members of the community. And some perform in drag shows or sell sex to survive. The Gang's All Queer poignantly illustrates how these men both respond to and resist societal marginalization. Timely, powerful, and engaging, this book will challenge us to think differently about gangs, gay men, and urban life.
*Also eBook (UC only): The Gang's All Queer
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans People (LGBT) and the Criminal Justice System by Charlotte Knight; Kath Wilson
Call Number: HV7419 .K66 2016
ISBN: 1137496975
Publication Date: 2016-06-06
This book explores the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) communities as victims, offenders and staff within the criminal justice system. It draws on both emerging and existing LGBT research and campaigns to identify and explore issues relevant to the criminal justice system, including: agencies of the criminal justice system, victimisation, domestic violence and abuse, transgender experiences, LGBT people as offenders, international perspectives and the personal experiences of LGBT people. Charlotte Knight and Kath Wilson trace the legislative journey toward equal treatment before and after the Wolfenden Report. They consider why, for example, lesbians are over represented on death row in the US, how the prosecution characterises them and what part homophobia might play in offending and in sentencing. They raise important questions about the causes of, and responses to, same-sex domestic violence and abuse and how the system delivers justice to trans people. Sodomy laws and the treatment of LGBT people worldwide are also considered and models of good practice are offered. Their insights will be of interest to practitioners, policy makers and scholars of the criminal justice system, particularly those concerned with the rights of LGBT communities.
Dignity Debased: Forced Anal Examinations in Homosexuality Prosecutions by Neela Ghoshal
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 G46 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
A Human Rights Watch report; also available online.
Queer Criminology by Carrie L. Buist; Emily Lenning
Call Number: HQ73 .B85 2016
ISBN: 1138824372
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
Winner of the 2016 Book Award from the American Society of Criminology, Division of Critical Criminology. In this book, Carrie L. Buist and Emily Lenning reflect on the origins of Queer Criminology, survey the foundational research and scholarship in this emerging field, and offer suggestions for the future. Covering topics such as the criminalization of queerness; the policing of Queer communities; Queer experiences in the courtroom; and the correctional control of Queer people, Queer Criminology synthesizes the work of criminologists, journalists, legal scholars, non-governmental organizations, and others to illuminate the historical and contemporary context of the Queer experience. Queer Criminology offers examples of the grave injustices that Queer people face around the world, particularly in places such as Russia, Kyrgyzstan, England, India, Thailand, Nigeria, and the United States. These injustices include, but are not limited to, selective enforcement, coerced confessions, disproportionate sentencing, rape, extortion, denial of due process, forced isolation, corporal punishment, and death. By highlighting a pattern of discriminatory, disproportionate, and abusive treatment of Queer people by the criminal legal system, this book demonstrates the importance of developing a criminology that critiques the heteronormative systems that serve to oppress Queer people around the world. Buist and Lenning argue that criminology is incomplete without a thorough recognition and understanding of these Queer experiences.
Violence Against Queer People: Race, Class, Gender, and the Persistence of Anti-LGBT Discrimination by Doug Meyer
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 M49 2015
ISBN: 0813573165
Publication Date: 2015-10-11
Violence against lesbians and gay men has increasingly captured media and scholarly attention. But these reports tend to focus on one segment of the LGBT community--white, middle class men--and largely ignore that part of the community that arguably suffers a larger share of the violence--racial minorities, the poor, and women. In Violence against Queer People, sociologist Doug Meyer offers the first investigation of anti-queer violence that focuses on the role played by race, class, and gender. Drawing on interviews with forty-seven victims of violence, Meyer shows that LGBT people encounter significantly different forms of violence--and perceive that violence quite differently--based on their race, class, and gender. His research highlights the extent to which other forms of discrimination--including racism and sexism--shape LGBT people's experience of abuse. He reports, for instance, that lesbian and transgender women often described violent incidents in which a sexual or a misogynistic component was introduced, and that LGBT people of color sometimes weren't sure if anti-queer violence was based solely on their sexuality or whether racism or sexism had also played a role. Meyer observes that given the many differences in how anti-queer violence is experienced, the present media focus on white, middle-class victims greatly oversimplifies and distorts the nature of anti-queer violence. In fact, attempts to reduce anti-queer violence that ignore race, class, and gender run the risk of helping only the most privileged gay subjects. Many feel that the struggle for gay rights has largely been accomplished and the tide of history has swung in favor of LGBT equality. Violence against Queer People, on the contrary, argues that the lives of many LGBT people--particularly the most vulnerable--have improved very little, if at all, over the past thirty years.
A Murder over a Girl: Justice, Gender, Junior High by Ken Corbett
Call Number: HV6534.O96 C67 2016
ISBN: 0805099204
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
*At Young Research Library. A psychologist's gripping, troubling, and moving exploration of the brutal murder of a possibly transgender middle school student by an eighth grade classmate On Feb. 12, 2008, at E. O. Green Junior High in Oxnard, CA, 14-year-old Brandon McInerney shot and killed his classmate, Larry King, who had recently begun to call himself "Leticia" and wear makeup and jewelry to school. Profoundly shaken by the news, and unsettled by media coverage that sidestepped the issues of gender identity and of race integral to the case, psychologist Ken Corbett traveled to LA to attend the trial. As visions of victim and perpetrator were woven and unwoven in the theater of the courtroom, a haunting picture emerged not only of the two young teenagers, but also of spectators altered by an atrocity and of a community that had unwittingly gestated a murder. Drawing on firsthand observations, extensive interviews and research, as well as on his decades of academic work on gender and sexuality, Corbett holds each murky facet of this case up to the light, exploring the fault lines of memory and the lacunae of uncertainty behind facts.
Beyond Bullying: Breaking the Cycle of Shame, Bullying and Violence by Jonathan Fast
Call Number: BF575.S45 F27 2016
ISBN: 0199383642
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Shame is a powerful and complex emotion, capable of producing dramatic reactions from even the most mild-mannered people. While shame can be employed in positive ways, such as teaching children good manners, other types of shame can be devastating, or even lethal. However, few people truly understand the role of shame in acts of bullying, violence, and discrimination. In Beyond Bullying: Breaking the Cycle of Shame, Bullying, and Violence, veteran professor of social work Jonathan Fast deftly weaves together research from the fields of psychology, sociology, economics, and history to create a single overarching theory of shame. The book introduces the concept of"weaponized shame," a toxic and intentional attack on another person, noting that weaponized shame is often at the heart of bullying situations. With clear, straightforward language, Dr. Fast traces the nuances of shame through several common types of bullying, highlighting bullying based on sexuality, gender, and race. Noting the pervasive presence of weaponized shame in American culture, Beyond Bullying extends shame theory to acts of domestic violence, racism, school shootings, and domestic terrorism. The issues that cause bullying are not limited to the schoolyard, but rather are responsible for horrific acts of violence across the nation. Beyond mere theory, the book provides concrete suggestions for healthy ways of dealing with shame, including techniques for diffusing potentially harmful situations. An invaluable resource for parents of bullied children, Beyond Bullying will also appeal to teachers, counselors, and social workers.
The Straight Line: How the Fringe Science of Ex-Gay Therapy Reoriented Sexuality by Tom Waidzunas
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 W35 2015
ISBN: 0816696152
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
To be taken seriously, therapies that claim to "cure" homosexuality wrap themselves in lab coats. Even though the fit is bad, and such therapies and their theorists now inhabit the scientific fringe, the science of sexuality has made some adjustments, too, Tom Waidzunas tells us in this provocative work. Intervening in the politics of sexuality and science, The Straight Line argues that scientific definitions of sexual orientation do not merely reflect the results of investigations into human nature, but rather emerge through a process of social negotiation between opposing groups. The demedicalization of homosexuality and the discrediting of reparative therapies, ex-gay ministries, and reorientation research have, Waidzunas contends, required scientists to enforce key boundaries around scientific expertise and research methods. Drawing on extensive participant observation at conferences for ex-gays, reorientation therapists, mainstream psychologists, and survivors of ex-gay therapy, as well as interviews with experts and activists, The Straight Line traces reorientation debates in the United States from the 1950s to the present, following homosexuality therapies from the mainstream to the margins. As the ex-gay movement has become increasingly transnational in recent years, Waidzunas turns to Uganda, where ideas about the scientific nature of homosexuality influenced the passage of the Anti-Homosexuality Act of 2014. While most studies treat the ex-gay movement as a religious phenomenon, this book looks at how the movement, in its attempts to establish legitimacy, has engaged with scientific institutions, shaping virulent anti-gay public policy.
That's So Gay! Challenging Homophobic Bullying by Jonathan Charlesworth
Call Number: HQ76.4 .C533 2015
ISBN: 1849054614
Publication Date: 2015-02-21
Is there a need to challenge homophobic name-calling and other homophobic bullying in your school but uncertainty about how to address it? That's So Gay! is a practical guide to making your school a safer place and creating an inclusive bully-free culture. It shows what homophobic bullying looks like, who experiences it and explores the reasons why young people bully others homophobically. It also reveals why young people are often reluctant to report homophobic bullying, the increasing role played by the internet and the profound effects bullying can have well into adulthood. Adopting a whole-school approach, this book provides all the advice schools need on prevention, working with those who bully, handling disclosures and anti-bullying policies. Written by an expert in the field, this is a vital guide for schools, teachers and anyone with a duty of care towards young people.
Routledge International Handbook on Hate Crime by Nathan Hall (Editor); Abbee Corb (Editor); Paul Giannasi (Editor); John Grieve (Editor)
Call Number: HV8079.H38 R68 2015
ISBN: 0415818907
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
This edited collection brings together many of the world's leading experts, both academic and practitioner, in a single volume handbook that examines key international issues in the field of hate crime. Collectively it examines a range of pertinent areas with the ultimate aim of providing a detailed picture of the hate crime 'problem' in different parts of the world. The book is divided into four parts: An examination, covering theories and concepts, of issues relating to definitions of hate crime, the individual and community impacts of hate crime, the controversies of hate crime legislation, and theoretical approaches to understanding offending. An exploration of the international geography of hate, in which each chapter examines a range of hate crime issues in different parts of the world, including the UK, wider Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand. Reflections on a number of different perspectives across a range of key issues in hate crime, examining areas including particular issues affecting different victim groups, the increasingly important influence of the Internet, and hate crimes in sport. A discussion of a range of international efforts being utilised to combat hate and hate crime. Offering a strong international focus and comprehensive coverage of a wide range of hate crime issues, this book is an important contribution to hate crime studies and will be essential reading for academics, students and practitioners interested in this field.
*Also eBook (UC only): Routledge International Handbook on Hate Crime
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice by Dana Peterson (Editor); Vanessa R. Panfil (Editor)
Call Number: HQ73 .H36 2014
ISBN: 1461491878
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities' patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will break new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work. *Also available as an eBook (UC users only): Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime & Justice
Issues of Gender and Sexual Orientation in Humanitarian Emergencies by Larry W. Roeder (Editor)
Call Number: HV553 .I87 2014
ISBN: 3319058819
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
Natural and manmade disasters do not affect everyone equally, especially when resources are not equally accessible. Girls and women in particular face heightened risks of violence and abuse and many countries bar female-headed households from receiving aid. Across the globe, a wider understanding of gender issues is needed to craft effective policies and carry out equitable practices in disaster planning and response. The first full-length reference of its kind, Issues of Gender and Sexual Orientation in Humanitarian Emergencies brings together data pinpointing disparities with practical suggestions toward improving post-event adjustment for all. Arguing forcefully for an egalitarian lens in humanitarian aid, the book offers guidelines that governmental agencies and NGOs alike can implement at all levels of preventive and relief efforts to better assist victims and minimize further trauma. Salient areas covered include gender differences in the effects of disasters on children and adolescents, the heightened risk of domestic violence in disasters and challenges facing the LGBTI community in relocation. In addition, examples from a cyclone event in Australia relate the experiences of victims, organizations and aid workers to larger social issues. Included among the topics: Gender and the impact of disaster on youth. Personal network structure and gendered well-being in disaster and relocation. Sexual and gender minorities in humanitarian emergencies. Gender as hazard in disaster planning and response. The relationship of disaster and domestic violence. The impact of disasters on workers and services. Addressing a major threat to public and social health, Issues of Gender and Sexual Orientation in Humanitarian Emergencies is an essential sourcebook for researchers and professionals working with NGOs, disaster management, domestic violence, humanitarian relief and refugee health.
*Also available as an eBook (UC users only): Issues of Gender and Sexual Orientation in Humanitarian Emergencies
Safe Space: Gay Neighborhood History and the Politics of Violence by Christina B. Hanhardt
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 H37 2013
ISBN: 0822354705
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Since the 1970s, a key goal of lesbian and gay activists has been protection against street violence, especially in gay neighborhoods. During the same time, policymakers and private developers declared the containment of urban violence to be a top priority. In this important book, Christina B. Hanhardt examines how LGBT calls for "safe space" have been shaped by broader public safety initiatives that have sought solutions in policing and privatization and have had devastating effects along race and class lines. Drawing on extensive archival and ethnographic research in New York City and San Francisco, Hanhardt traces the entwined histories of LGBT activism, urban development, and U.S. policy in relation to poverty and crime over the past fifty years. She highlights the formation of a mainstream LGBT movement, as well as the very different trajectories followed by radical LGBT and queer grassroots organizations. Placing LGBT activism in the context of shifting liberal and neoliberal policies, "Safe Space "is a groundbreaking exploration of the contradictory legacies of the LGBT struggle for safety in the city.
Global Homophobia: States, Movements, and the Politics of Oppression by Meredith L. Weiss (Editor); Michael J. Bosia (Editor)
Call Number: HQ76.4 .G56 2013
ISBN: 0252079337
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
While homophobia is commonly characterized as individual and personal prejudice, this collection of essays instead explores homophobia as a transnational political phenomenon. Contributors theorize homophobia as a distinct configuration of repressive state-sponsored policies and practices with their own causes, explanations, and effects on how sexualities are understood and experienced in a range of national contexts. The essays include a broad range of geographic cases, including France, Ecuador, Iran, Lebanon, Poland, Singapore, and the United States.
That's So Gay! Microaggressions and the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Community by Kevin L. Nadal
Call Number: HQ73 .N33 2013
ISBN: 1433812800
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Against Equality: Prisons Will Not Protect You by Ryan Conrad (Editor); Dean Spade (Introduction by)
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 P75 2012
ISBN: 0615678920
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
The essays in this volume take a critical stance against the prison industrial complex and the system of inequality and violence perpetuated by hate crimes legislation, formally passed in the United States in 2009 as the Matthew Shepard and James Byrd, Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act. Prisons Will Not Protect You, a compilation of archived work, is located at the difficult and traumatic point where the violence of the state against queer and LGBT people colludes with the violence we are always trying to escape.
Confronting Homophobia in Europe by Alessandro Gasparini (Editor); Luca Trappolin (Editor); Robert Wintemute (Editor)
Call Number: KJE5144.G39 C664 2012
ISBN: 1849462755
Publication Date: 2012
Unfinished Lives by Stephen V. Sprinkle
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 S65 2011
ISBN: 1608998118
Publication Date: 2011
Homophobic bullying : research and theoretical perspectives by Ian Rivers
Call Number: LC212.83.G7 R59 2011
ISBN: 0195160533
*Great Britain.

Crime/Violence/Homophobia: 1990-2009

Ties that bind : familial homophobia and its consequences by Sarah Schulman
Call Number: HQ76.4 .S38 2009
ISBN: 1595584803
Homophobia : the state of sexual bigotry today by Martin Kantor
Call Number: HQ76.25 .K35 2009
ISBN: 0313359253
Stonewalled : police abuse and misconduct against lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in the U.S by Amnesty International USA
Call Number: HV7936.S38 U55
ISBN: 188720444X
*Also available online: Stonewalled
Sexuality and the politics of violence and safety by Leslie Moran and Beverley Skeggs, with Paul Tyrer and Karen Corteen
Call Number: HM1116 .M67 2004
ISBN: 0415300916
The spectacle of violence : homophobia, gender and knowledge by Gail Mason
Call Number: HQ76.45.A8 M37 2002
ISBN: 041518956X
*research from Australia.
Hatred, murder and male honour : anti-homosexual homicides in New South Wales, 1980-2000 by Stephen Tomsen
Call Number: HV6535.A82 N48 2002
ISBN: 064224264X
From hate crimes to human rights : a tribute to Matthew Shepard by Mary E. Swigonski, Robin S. Mama, Kelly Ward, editors
Call Number: HQ76.5 .F76 2001
ISBN: 1560232579
Homophobia : a history by Byrne Fone
Call Number: HQ76.25 .F7 2001
ISBN: 0312420307
Punishing hate : bias crimes under American law by Frederick M. Lawrence
Call Number: KF9345 .L39 1999
ISBN: 0674738454
Stigma and sexual orientation : understanding prejudice against lesbians, gay men, and bisexuals by editor, Gregory M. Herek
Call Number: HQ76.25 .S78 1998
ISBN: 0803953844
Homophobia : description, development, and dynamics of gay bashing by Martin Kantor
Call Number: HQ76.25 .K35 1998
ISBN: 0275955303
Setting them straight : you can do something about bigotry and homophobia in your life by Betty Berzon
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 B475 1996
ISBN: 0452274214
Eight bullets : one woman’s story of surviving anti-gay violence by by Claudia Brenner with Hannah Ashley
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 B74 1995
ISBN: 1563410559
Hate crimes : confronting violence against lesbians and gay men by edited by Gregory M. Herek, Kevin T. Berrill
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 H38 1992
ISBN: 0803945426
Homophobia : how we all pay the price by edited by Warren J. Blumenfeld
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 H642 1992
ISBN: 0807079197

Older Titles & Historical Interest

State of Wyoming, plaintiff, vs. Aaron James McKinney, Defendant (State of Wyoming, County of Albany, District Court, Second Judicial District: Docket no. 6381 (October 1999). [Documents from the Matthew Shepard murder trial.] *At SRLF. HV6250.4.M34 W96 1999

Hostile climate: a state-by-state report on anti-gay activity. People for the American Way (1997 ed.) HQ76.8.U5 H678 1997

Overcoming heterosexism and homophobia: strategies that work. Edited by James T. Sears and Walter L. Williams. (Columbia University Press, 1997) HQ76.3.U5 O994 1997

Violence against lesbians and gay men. Gary David Comstock. (Columbia University Press, 1991). HV6250.4.H66 C66 1991

Homophobia, a weapon of sexism. Suzanne Pharr; illustrations by Susan G. Raymond. (Chardon Press, 1988) HQ76.3.U5 P43 1988 *Also available at the author's web site, here.

Bashers, baiters & bigots: homophobia in American society. Edited by John P. De Cecco. (Harrington Park Press, 1985) HQ76.3.U5 H635 1985

Entrapped ("An accused homosexual looks at American Justice"). Edward Eugene Baskett; introd. by James A. Warren. (L. Hill, 1976). HQ76.3.U5 B37 1976

In defense of homosexuality male & female: a rational evaluation of social prejudice. R.O.D. Benson. (Julian Press, 1965). HQ76 .B445 1965