Links
- Williams Institute Web Site
- OUTLawA community of LGBTQI law students at UCLA School of Law. Has a mentor program!
Guide Outline
- Home
- What's New
- Reference
- LGBT Law
- LGBT Movement/History
- Statistics/Demography
- LGBT Youth/Students
- LGBT Elders
- Bisexuality
- Transgender
- Intersex
- Family--General
- Couples (includes same-sex marriage)
- Parenting
- Domestic Violence
- Employment--General
- Health--General
- Economics/Consumers
- Regional/States (U.S.)
- International--General/Worldwide/Comparative
- Immigration
- Religion
- Crime/Violence/Homophobia
- Theory/Identity/Criticism
- Films
- Journals & Blogs
- Organizations
Welcome!
About the Williams Institute and the Williams Reading Room:
The Williams Institute Reading Room and Collection is a program of the Charles R. Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law. The Williams Institute is a national think tank dedicated to the field of sexual orientation law and public policy. It advances law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship.
The Williams Institute Reading Room houses the law library's collection of materials acquired to support research in sexual orientation law and public policy. Located in the UCLA School of Law's Hugh and Hazel Darling Law Library, the Reading Room contains an international, research-level collection of works in all types of media. As of January 2013, over 1,900 books, periodicals and videorecordings are included in the Williams Collection.
Located on the third floor of the UCLA School of Law library, the Reading Room and Collection are open to the public during regular library hours. Library staff are available to assist scholars with research, maintain and expand the collection, and publish a periodic bibliography of the collection. The Reading Room and collection were made possible through the generous donation of over $1 million by philanthropist, educator, and businessman Charles R. Williams, an anonymous donor, and subsequent donors and friends.
About this Guide:
**IMPORTANT NOTE: For pages with sub-tabs, please be sure to click on the top-level tab for general information on that topic.
Most of the books included in the guide are housed in the Williams Reading Room. However, some are held by other libraries on the UCLA campus, such as the Young Research Library (the graduate studies library) and College Library (the undergraduate library.) "SRLF" is the Southern Regional Library Facility, a storage facility on the UCLA campus. For a map of all campus libraries, please click here; or for individual locations, click here. You can also find a description of other campus libraries and collections here.
This guide contains books, electronic books, other electronic resources, videorecordings, and journals; it does not provide references to journal articles. For an excellent index to articles on LGBT legal topics as well as books, please see Sexual Orientation and the Law: A Research Bibliography, a project of the Standing Committee on Lesbian and Gay Issues of the American Association of Law Libraries.
If you are searching for a particular item that is not included in this guide, try searching the UCLA Library Catalog.
LGBT Archives
For the most comprehensive guide to LGBT archives, please see the "Lavender Legacies Guide: Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable Guide to Sources in North America." The Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable (LAGAR) is a section of the Society of American Archivists (SAA). On the Lavender Legacies site, you can browse by province (Canada) or State (U.S.) There is also an alphabetical index by repository name.
Another national and international list of LGBT archives has been compiles by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; see their LGBT Research Guide.
See below for a listing of LGBT archives in Southern California.
- June Mazer Lesbian Archives
- The June L. Mazer Lesbian Archive at UCLAA new outreach and collection-building partnership between the June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives and the UCLA Library! Includes a description of the collections held.
- ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
- UCLA Department of Special Collections
- Vern & Bonnine Bullough Collection on Sex and Gender (California State University, Northridge, CSUN)
- Lambda Archives of San Diego
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Other Guides
- UCLA LGBT Studies LibGuideIncludes sections on Reference Sources, Books, Journal & Magazine Articles, Newspapers, and Film and Video Collections.
- Sexual Orientation and the Law: A Research BibliographyCreated by the Standing Committee on Lesbian and Gay Issues of the American Association of Law Libraries' Social Responsibilities Special Interest Section. Includes both books and law review articles, and is updated. The 2006 edition is available in print.
- Guide to Gay and Lesbian Resources: A Classified Bibliography Based upon the Collections of the University of Chicago LibraryA very comprehensive guide; last updated in 2002. Also available in print: Guide to gay and lesbian resources in the University of Chicago Library. Frank Conaway. (University of Chicago, 2002) Z7164.H74 C66 2002



Loading...
