Food Law in the United States by Michael T. RobertsAs the modern food system continues to transform food--its composition, taste, availability, value, and appearance--consumers are increasingly confronted by legal and regulatory issues that affect us all on a daily basis. In Food Law in the United States, Michael Roberts addresses these issues in a comprehensive, systematic manner that lays out the national legal framework for the regulation of food and the legal tools that fill gaps in this framework, including litigation, state law, and private standards. Covering a broad expanse of topics including commerce, food safety, marketing, nutrition, and emerging food-systems issues such as local food, sustainability, security, urban agriculture, and equity, this book is an essential reference for lawyers, students, non-law professionals, and consumer advocates who must understand food law to advance their respective interests.
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
Guide to US Food Laws and Regulations by Patricia A. CurtisFor both student food scientists and experienced professionals, a knowledge of U.S. food law is the foundation that supports an understanding of all industry regulation. Based on a popular internet course, Guide to Food Laws and Regulations, 2nd Edition informs students on the significance, range, and background of food laws and gives tools for finding current regulations. This compact resource outlines major U.S. food laws, factors that led to their passage, and explains the role of key agencies like the FDA and FSIS in regulation and enforcement. Students are directed to internet sites as well as to indexes and resources available from the Federal government. Other topics include religious dietary law, Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, environmental regulations, HACCP andGMPs, laws governing health claims, and the regulation of biotechnology. New to this edition are six chapters on subjects that have risen to prominence during the last few years: Poultry Processing Regulations Federal Trade Commission Animal Welfare Regulations and Food Production Egg Laws and Regulations Catfish Regulations Locating Laws and Regulations Guide to Food Laws and Regulations, 2nd Edition is an ideal sourcebook for students and professionals in food science and technology, chemistry, biosystems engineering, food animal production and medicine, agribusiness, and other closely related fields.
Call Number: KF3870 .C87 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
EU Food Law by Caoimhin MacMaolainFood safety is now an issue of major concern throughout Europe. In the aftermath of recent alarms over BSE (bovine spongiform encephalopathy, commonly known as mad cow disease), avian flu, foot and mouth, e-coli, and many others, the law has been seen as ill-equipped to respond to new crises, often resulting in the taking of legally questionable emergency measures. But security is not the only concern: for instance, locally and regionally produced products now come under threat from mass produced variants manufactured using inferior quality ingredients and alternative methods of production, but are legally marketable under the same food name. Yet it is difficult for national governments or the EC to take action without breaching Community rules. Subsidies in European agriculture are another issue, creating political pressures for Member States, the Union itself, and the WTO. Animal welfare, human nutrition, and human rights are other important elements in European food law.
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Food Regulation by Neal D. FortinFeaturing case studies and discussion questions, this textbook - with revisions addressing significant changes to US food law - offers accessible coverage appropriate to a wide audience of students and professionals. Overviews the federal statutes, regulations, and regulatory agencies concerned with food regulation and introduces students to the case law and statutory scheme of food regulation Focuses updated content on the 2011 FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA), the biggest change to US food law since the 1930s Contains over 20% new material, particularly a rewritten import law chapter and revisions related to food safety regulation, health claims, and food defense Features case studies and discussion questions about application of law, policy questions, and emerging issues
Call Number: KF3875 .F67 2009
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Food and Drug Law by Roseann B. TerminiThis food and drug law comprehensive book is organized for ease of reading in order to comprehend a complex area of federal regulatory law. There is a separate volume for each subject based on regulation under the United States Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act (FDCA) and related laws all contained in this bound book. Food and Drug Law is organized into subject specific titled volumes with a concise introduction to provide a particular focus for the reader. Praise for Food and Drug LawFood and Drug law has many audiences besides lawyers - health care personnel, doctors, nurses, regulatory, and CEO's to name a few and the author writes in "Plain Language" for reader appeal. - Thomas Mc Grath, M.D., J.D. This is an excellent up-to-date resource. It is used in my graduate school courses as well as in industry. Students keep it as a "desk-top-reference." - Thomas E. Colonna PhD/JD, Director Regulatory Science Program The author details the complexities into subject specific areas. She provides critical information using a practical approach so rare today! - Albert Wertheimer, PhD. Prof. Nova Southeastern University
Agricultural Law, Cases and Materials by Keith G. Meyer; Donald B. Pedersen; Norman W. Thorson; John H. Davidson
Publication Date: 1984-12-01
The A-Z Encyclopedia of Food Controversies and the Law by Elizabeth M. Williams (Editor); Stephanie Jane Carter (Editor)This two-volume set is a broad compendium of the law, policies, and legal influences that affect the food on our plates today. Alphabetically arranged entries describe topics related to the intersection of law and food. An appendix offers examples of legislation, court cases, regulations, and international treaties related to food. A timeline shows the development of the law of food in the United States. A bibliography lists additional materials for reference.
Call Number: KF3869 .W53 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-22
A Companion to Food in the Ancient World by John Wilkins (Editor); Robin Nadeau (Editor)A Companion to Food in the Ancient World presents a comprehensive overview of the cultural aspects relating to the production, preparation, and consumption of food and drink in antiquity. * Provides an up-to-date overview of the study of food in the ancient world * Addresses all aspects of food production, distribution, preparation, and consumption during antiquity * Features original scholarship from some of the most influential North American and European specialists in Classical history, ancient history, and archaeology * Covers a wide geographical range from Britain to ancient Asia, including Egypt and Mesopotamia, Asia Minor, regions surrounding the Black Sea, and China * Considers the relationships of food in relation to ancient diet, nutrition, philosophy, gender, class, religion, and more
EU Food Law HandbookTaking the General Food Law as a focal point, this handbook analyses and explains the institutional, substantive and procedural elements of EU food law. Principles are discussed as well as specific rules addressing food as a product, the processes related to food and communication about food to consumers through labelling. These rules define requirements on subjects like market authorisation for food additives, novel foods and genetically modified foods, food hygiene, tracking & tracing, withdrawal & recall. The powers of public authorities to enforce food law and to deal with incidents are outlined. Attention is given to the international context (WTO, Codex Alimentarius) as well as to private standards.
In addition to the systematic analysis, the book includes selected topics such as nutrition and health policy, special foods, food import requirements, food contact materials, intellectual property and animal feed.
The 'EU Food Law Handbook' is produced in co-operation with the European Institute for Food Law. It is relevant for practitioners and academics both with and without a background in law. It is ideal for education purposes.
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
U.S. Farm Bills and Policy Reforms by Nadine Lehrer
The Oxford Companion to Food by Alan Davidson; Tom Jaine (Editor)"the best food reference work ever to appear in the English language ... read it and be dazzled"Bee Wilson, New StatesmanFirst published in 1999, the ground-breaking Oxford Companion to Food was an immediate success and won prizes and accolades around the world. Its blend of serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity, was and remains unique.Interest in food, cooking, and the culture surrounding food has grown enormously in the intervening period, as has the study of food and food history. University departments, international societies, and academic journals have sprung up dedicated to exploring the meaning of food in the daily livesof people around the world, alongside an ever-increasing number of articles, books, programmes, and websites in the general media devoted to the discussion of food, making the Oxford Companion to Food more relevant than ever.Already a food writing classic, this Companion combines an exhaustive catalogue of foods, be they biscuits named after battles, divas or revolutionaries; body parts (from nose to tail, toe to cerebellum); or breads from the steppes of Asia or the well-built ovens of the Mediterranean; with a richlyallusive commentary on the culture of food, expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community.While building on the Companion's existing strengths, Tom Jaine has taken the opportunity to update the text and alert readers to new perspectives in food studies. There is new coverage of attitudes to food consumption, production and perception, such as food and genetics, food and sociology, andobesity. New entries include terms such as convenience foods, drugs and food, Ethiopia, leftovers, medicine and food, pasta, and many more. There are also new entries on important personalities who are of special significance within the world of food, among them Clarence Birdseye, Henri Nestle, andLouis Pasteur.In its new edition the Companion maintains its place as the foremost food reference resource for study and home use.
Biting the Hands That Feed Us by Baylen J. Linnekin; Emily Broad Leib (Foreword by)Food waste, hunger, inhumane livestock conditions, disappearing fish stocks--these are exactly the kind of issues we expect food regulations to combat. Yet, today in the United States, laws exist at all levels of government that actually make these problems worse. Baylen Linnekin argues that, too often, government rules handcuff America's most sustainable farmers, producers, sellers, and consumers, while rewarding those whose practices are anything but sustainable. Biting the Hands that Feed Us introduces readers to the perverse consequences of many food rules. Some of these rules constrain the sale of "ugly" fruits and vegetables, relegating bushels of tasty but misshapen carrots and strawberries to food waste. Other rules have threatened to treat manure--the lifeblood of organic fertilization--as a toxin. Still other rules prevent sharing food with the homeless and others in need. There are even rules that prohibit people from growing fruits and vegetables in their own yards. Linnekin also explores what makes for a good food law--often, he explains, these emphasize good outcomes rather than rigid processes. But he urges readers to be wary of efforts to regulate our way to a greener food system, calling instead for empowerment of those working to feed us--and themselves--sustainably.
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Private Food Law by Bernd van der Meulen (Editor)Since the turn of the Millennium, world-wide initiatives from the private sector have turned the regulatory environment for food businesses upside down. For the first time in legal literature this book analyses private law initiatives relating to the food chain, often referred to as private (voluntary) standards or schemes.
Private standards are used to remedy flaws in legislation, in order to reach higher levels of consumer protection than the ones chosen by the EU legislature and to manage risks and liability beyond the traditional limits of food businesses. We see that litigation is no longer solely framed by legislative requirements, but ever more by private standards such as GlobalGAP, BRC, IFS, SQF and ISO. These private standards incorporate public law requirements thus embedding them in contractual relations and exporting them beyond the jurisdiction of public legislators. Other standards focus on corporate social responsibility or sustainability. This book also addresses how private religious standards such as Kosher and Halal play a role in defining specific markets of growing importance. It is noted that organic standards have found an interesting symbioses with public law.
Another development on this topic is that food businesses are inspected more often by private auditors than by public inspectors. Effects in terms of receiving or being denied certification far outweigh public law sanctions. In short private law has changed an entire legal infrastructure for the food sector. It emerges as competing with the public law regulatory infrastructure.
This book is of interest to all who concern themselves with food law legislation and litigation and the evolving role of private standards on changing the landscape of food chains and innovation.
Food, Farming, and Sustainability by Susan A. SchneiderFood, Farming, and Sustainability provides a survey of the unique network of laws that apply to agriculture, framed in the context of society's need for a sustainable, resilient food supply. Traditionally, agriculture has been favored in the law with exemptions, exceptions, and special rules that reflect the unique character of agricultural production. This book examines this special treatment, exploring its origin and its impact. The new edition provides updates to each of the prior chapters, incorporates new census data on agriculture in the U.S., explores the 2014 Farm Bill, and examines new developments in agricultural biotechnology law. It is an expanded edition that includes a new chapter on food safety and agricultural production and incorporates new readings on climate change and agriculture. The book continues its theme of providing a mix of readings in law and policy, using current events to highlight the challenges facing society in balancing social, political, economic, and environmental concerns. From its initial discussion of ''agricultural exceptionalism'' and industrial scale production to its concluding remarks on the future of our food system, this book is certain to provoke thoughtful discussion.
Publication Date: 2016-08-19
Regulation of Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals by Clare M. Hasler (Editor)Regulation of Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals: A Global Perspective offers a comprehensive resource for information on regulatory aspects of the growing and economically important functional food industry. Regulatory systems and definitions of key terms-food, supplement, drug, etc-vary from country to country. A thorough understanding of laws and regulation within and among key countries with regard to functional foods, herbal extracts or drugs, and nutritional supplements is critical to the direction of food companies that are developing products for these markets. International experts with legal and/or scientific expertise address relevant topics from quality issues, to organic foods to labeling. Innovative product development within the framework of existing regulations will be addressed in individual chapters. Overview chapters will discuss global principles, inter-country trading issues, and present a comparison of the laws and regulations within different countries graphically. A "must-have" handbook for research professionals, management, and marketing strategists in the worldwide functional foods/nutritional supplements business. Food technicians and engineers responsible for manufacturing quality in this industry should add it to their library to ensure that they have a thorough knowledge of the applicable legal requirements. The book will also serve as an indispensable shelf reference for lawyers in the food industry and government health professionals with regulatory responsibilities.
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Food Security by Nora McKeonThis book fills a gap in the literature by setting food security in the context of evolving global food governance. Today's food system generates hunger alongside of food waste, burgeoning health problems, massive greenhouse gas emissions. Applying food system analysis to review how the international community has addressed food issues since World War II, this book proceeds to explain how actors link up in corporate global food chains and in the local food systems that feed most of the world's population. It unpacks relevant paradigms - from productivism to food sovereignty - and highlights the significance of adopting a rights-based approach to solving food problems. The author describes how communities around the world are protecting their access to resources and building better ways of producing and accessing food, and discusses the reformed Committee on World Food Security, a uniquely inclusive global policy forum, and how it could be supportive of efforts from the base. The book concludes by identifying terrains on which work is needed to adapt the practice of the democratic public sphere and accountable governance to a global dimension and extend its authority to the world of markets and corporations. This book will be of interest to students of food security, global governance, development studies and critical security studies in general.
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
Food Politics by Marion NestleAn accessible and balanced account, Food Politics laid the groundwork for today's food revolution and changed the way we respond to food industry marketing practices. Now, a new introduction and concluding chapter bring us up to date on the key events in that movement. This pathbreaking, prize-winning book helps us understand more clearly than ever before what we eat and why.
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
Safe Food by Marion NestleFood safety is a matter of intense public concern, and for good reason. Millions of annual cases of food "poisonings" raise alarm not only about the food served in restaurants and fast-food outlets but also about foods bought in supermarkets. The introduction of genetically modified foods--immediately dubbed "Frankenfoods"--only adds to the general sense of unease. Finally, the events of September 11, 2001, heightened fears by exposing the vulnerability of food and water supplies to attacks by bioterrorists. How concerned should we be about such problems? Who is responsible for preventing them? Who benefits from ignoring them? Who decides? Marion Nestle, author of the critically acclaimed Food Politics, argues that ensuring safe food involves more than washing hands or cooking food to higher temperatures. It involves politics. When it comes to food safety, billions of dollars are at stake, and industry, government, and consumers collide over issues of values, economics, and political power--and not always in the public interest. Although the debates may appear to be about science, Nestle maintains that they really are about control: Who decides when a food is safe? She demonstrates how powerful food industries oppose safety regulations, deny accountability, and blame consumers when something goes wrong, and how century-old laws for ensuring food safety no longer protect our food supply. Accessible, informed, and even-handed, Safe Food is for anyone who cares how food is produced and wants to know more about the real issues underlying today's headlines.
Publication Date: 2003-03-25
Soda Politics by Marion Nestle; Mark Bittman; Neal Baer (Afterword by)Sodas are astonishing products. Little more than flavored sugar-water, these drinks cost practically nothing to produce or buy, yet have turned their makers - principally Coca-Cola and PepsiCo - into a multibillion-dollar industry with global recognition, distribution, and political power.Billed as "refreshing," "tasty," "crisp," and "the real thing," sodas also happen to be so well established to contribute to poor dental hygiene, higher calorie intake, obesity, and type-2 diabetes that the first line of defense against any of these conditions is to simply stop drinking them.Habitually drinking large volumes of soda not only harms individual health, but also burdens societies with runaway healthcare costs.So how did products containing absurdly inexpensive ingredients become multibillion dollar industries and international brand icons, while also having a devastating impact on public health?In Soda Politics, Dr. Marion Nestle answers this question by detailing all of the ways that the soft drink industry works overtime to make drinking soda as common and accepted as drinking water, for adults and children. Dr. Nestle, a renowned food and nutrition policy expert and public healthadvocate, shows how sodas are principally miracles of advertising; Coca-Cola and PepsiCo spend billions of dollars each year to promote their sale to children, minorities, and low-income populations, in developing as well as industrialized nations. And once they have stimulated that demand, theyleave no stone unturned to protect profits. That includes lobbying to prevent any measures that would discourage soda sales, strategically donating money to health organizations and researchers who can make the science about sodas appear confusing, and engaging in Corporate Social Responsibility(CSR) activities to create goodwill and silence critics. Soda Politics follows the money trail wherever it leads, revealing how hard Big Soda works to sell as much of their products as possible to an increasingly obese world.But Soda Politics does more than just diagnose a problem - it encourages readers to help find solutions. From Berkeley to Mexico City and beyond, advocates are successfully countering the relentless marketing, promotion, and political protection of sugary drinks. And their actions are having animpact - for all of the hardball and softball tactics the soft drink industry employs to maintain the status quo, soda consumption has been flat or falling for years. Health advocacy campaigns are now the single greatest threat to soda companies' profits. Soda Politics provides readers with thetools they need to keep up pressure on Big Soda in order to build healthier and more sustainable food systems.
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Trade, Food Security, and Human Rights by Ying ChenMost scholars attribute systemic causes of food insecurity to poverty, human overpopulation, lack of farmland, and expansion of biofuel programs. However, as Chen argues here, another significant factor has been overlooked. The current food insecurity is not absolute food shortage, since global food production still exceeds the need of the entire world population, but a problem of how to secure access to resources. Distorted agricultural trade undermines world food distribution, and uneven distribution impedes people's access to food, particularly in poor developing countries. Examining EU and US agricultural policies and World Trade Organization negotiations in agriculture, the author argues how they affect the international agricultural trade, claiming that current food insecurity is the result of inequitable food distribution and trade practices. The international trade regime is advised to reconcile trade rules with the consideration of food security issues. Several other enforceable solutions to reduce world hunger and malnutrition are also advanced, including national capacity building, the improvement of governance, and strategic development of biofuel programs. This book will be of great interest to agricultural trade professionals and consultant policy makers in the EU, US and developing countries. Students and researchers with a concentration on international trade, agriculture economics, global governance and international law will benefit greatly from this study.