Agriculture and Food Handbook by
"Competition in the complex, diverse industries that make up the agriculture and food arena raises many novel and significant antitrust issues that can have worldwide effects. The Agriculture and Food Handbook provides a comprehensive review of the regulatory, antitrust, and consumer protection issues that arise in these industries."--Publisher.
The Farm Bill by
The farm bill is one of the most important pieces of legislation the American president signs. Negotiated every five to seven years, it has tremendous implications for food production, nutrition assistance, habitat conservation, international trade, and much more. Yet at nearly 1,000 pages, it is difficult to understand for policymakers, let alone citizens. In this primer, Dan Imhoff and Christina Badaracco translate all the "legalese" and political jargon into an accessible, graphics-rich 200 pages. Readers will learn the basic elements of the bill, its origins and history, and perhaps most importantly, the battles that will determine the direction of food policy in the coming years. The authors trace how the legislation has evolved, from its first incarnation during the Great Depression, to today, when America has become the world's leading agricultural powerhouse. They explain the three main components of the bill--farm subsidies, food stamps or SNAP, and conservation programs--as well as how crucial public policies are changing. With a new farm bill just signed into law, we all need to understand the implications of food policy. What's the impact of crop insurance? How does SNAP actually work? What would it take to create a healthier, more sustainable food system? These are questions that affect not only farmers, but everyone who eats. If you care about the answers, The Farm Bill is your guide.
Food, Farming, and Sustainability by
Food, Farming, and Sustainability provides a survey of the unique network of laws that apply to agriculture, framed in the context of society's need for a sustainable, resilient food supply. Traditionally, agriculture has been favored in the law with exemptions, exceptions, and special rules that reflect the unique character of agricultural production. This book examines this special treatment, exploring its origin and its impact. The new edition provides updates to each of the prior chapters, incorporates new census data on agriculture in the U.S., explores the 2014 Farm Bill, and examines new developments in agricultural biotechnology law. It is an expanded edition that includes a new chapter on food safety and agricultural production and incorporates new readings on climate change and agriculture. The book continues its theme of providing a mix of readings in law and policy, using current events to highlight the challenges facing society in balancing social, political, economic, and environmental concerns. From its initial discussion of ''agricultural exceptionalism'' and industrial scale production to its concluding remarks on the future of our food system, this book is certain to provoke thoughtful discussion.
Food Systems Governance by
Sustainability and food production represent a major challenge to society, with both consumption and supply sides posing practical and ethical dilemmas. This book shows that food governance issues can occur in many ways and at many points along the food chain. The risks and impacts, particularly with the increasing globalisation of food systems, are often distributed in unequal ways. It is the role of law to form the pivot around which these issues are addressed in society in the form of food governance mechanisms. The chapters in this book address a range of issues in food governance revolving around questions of justice, fairness, equality and human rights. They identify different issues regarding inequality in access and control over food governance. Some address generic governance and institutional issues across a range of international contexts, while others present case studies, including from Argentina, China, India, Indonesia, Thailand, UK and West Africa. The book offers directions for reform of the law and legal institutions to mitigate the dangers of inequality and promote greater fairness in food governance.
Food System Transparency by
This book brings together an international group of agriculture and food lawyers and scientists to define the field of Food System Transparency in three parts: the big picture, food safety and health, and the global view. Each part adds to the whole but zooms in through a unique lens. Investigating social, economic, political, scientific and legal frameworks, this comprehensive volume addresses topics such as food authenticity, agroecological evaluations, and consumer protection. Interwoven themes of transparency contextualize concepts of food safety, information sharing and regulatory opportunities at a local and global scale. Editors' notes provide blended legal and scientific commentary to facilitate further discussion and context within the classroom. Advantages of this volume include: Chapters written by foremost international experts in their fields Editors' notes written for classroom use and background information Figures and tables providing illustrations of important concepts Case studies delivering practicality and in-depth analysis to current events A special chapter on COVID-19 and its implications for the food system This book is important reading for graduate-level students, legal scholars, nonlegal academics, advocates for food system transparency and resilience, agroecology and environmental conservation, and practitioners in any cross-disciplinary areas relating to food policy. It will be of interest to all those who seek to deepen their understanding of the concepts and trends surrounding the information that centers around our food system, both domestically in the United States and the European Union, as well as in many major trading nations such as China. Check out the Support Materials tab on www.routledge.com/9780367440367 for a short video previewing some the key themes in the book.
Handbook of Agri-Food Law in China, Germany, European Union by
This book offers a new and differentiated overview of Agri-Food Law against the background of national and global integration of markets, and compares for the first time important aspects of the agricultural, environmental and food law of China and Germany / the European Union. In addition to the basics, it discusses a wide range of issues, such as the respective legal regulatory structures for food security, food safety, geographical indications of origin, climate protection, fertilizers, plant protection products, genetic engineering, water protection, soil protection, land resources and organic farming. In addition, it addresses key environmental impacts and developments in order to create integrated value chains. The increasing fusion of upstream and downstream areas is becoming apparent from primary production, to the refinement and trade up level, and even to consumption. Agri-Food Law is now productively taking these important developments into account with regard to the aforementioned countries.
International Agricultural Law and Policy by
From soil degradation and biodiversity loss to the coexistence of malnutrition and obesity, many of the largest challenges facing humanity today are underpinned by food and agriculture systems. In order to alleviate and resolve them, global governance of food and agriculture needs to be reformed. Unravelling the array of international regulatory instruments, this timely book provides the first systematic analysis of the international law surrounding food systems.International Agricultural Law and Policy provides a systems-based analysis of the rules that intersect with the physical elements of agriculture against a framework of commonly held norms. The author conducts a comprehensive examination not only of the rules, but also the implementation and broader socioeconomic, scientific and political context. By, exploring and clarifying the relationship between food security and the right to food and sustainability, Johnson closes the gap between the disparate international rules that govern food and agriculture, while exploring the practical implications of these overlapping regimes.This unique book is an invaluable resource for lawyers and social scientists working within food and agriculture systems and their governance and lays the much-needed groundwork for future research. For policy makers in the food and agricultural space, this book provides a wide-ranging and innovative analysis of the global regulatory landscape that influences law and policy processes.
Sustainable Agriculture and the Environment by
Sustainable Agriculture and the Environment describes the relationship of agriculture, society, nature and the environment, sustainable agriculture and sustainable development goals, management of biophysical resources for sustainable food and environment, traditional knowledge and innovative options, and social and policy aspects of sustainable agriculture. The book presents both environmental and economic principles, helping readers in the development and application of robust policy and good institutional systems that execute on sustainable agriculture practices for a healthy environment and to combat climate resilience.
Urban Agriculture by
Interest in urban agriculture continues to flourish, and as a result more communities are faced with the demand for a variety of agricultural activities within the urban environment. Urban Agriculture is a current and practical resource examining all aspects of agricultural activities within non-rural settings, from neighborhood gardens and backyard livestock to commercial farming operations. It addresses the many land use, environmental, and regulatory legal issues that confront local governments, property owners, businesses, nonprofit organizations, and neighborhood groups when addressing urban gardening or farming. In addition, the authors describe and analyze the experiences of specific urban areas, providing perspectives on their different approaches, including those that have been successful, those that have not, and those not yet fully evaluated. Written by attorneys and planners with extensive experience in this evolving area, the book follows a logical organization for understanding the challenges and opportunities involved in urban agriculture: Part 1: The Context for Urban Agriculture discusses the historical, cultural, and policy contexts within which urban agriculture is developing in the US Part 2: Government Regulation of Urban Agriculture explores the legal and regulatory framework in which urban agriculture operates, analyzing typical regulatory issues faced by local governments in this context micro-livestock. Part 3: Legal Rights and Responsibilities analyzes relevant laws in the urban agriculture context as well as the implications of applying laws intended for rural agricultural practices within an urban environment Part 4: Urban Agriculture as a Tool to Address Economic, Social, & Natural Resource Issues focuses on how urban agriculture addresses problems faced by many urban areas, including lack of access to healthy foods and an abundance of vacant properties. Part 5: Case Studies: Urban Agriculture in Action analyzes the experiences of specific urban areas with urban agriculture, providing perspectives on various approaches, including those that have been successful, those that have not, and those not yet fully evaluated"
 |  |  |  |
© The Regents of the University of California. UCLA School of Law. All Rights Reserved.