Food Law and Policy by
Food Law and Policy surveys the elements of modern food law. It broadens the coverage of traditional food and drug law topics of safety, marketing, and nutrition, and includes law governing environment, international trade, and other legal aspects of the modern food system. The result is the first casebook that provides a comprehensive treatment of food law as a unique discipline. Key Features: Draws together cases with other regulatory materials such as rulemaking documents and agency requests for proposals for grant funding. Focuses on federal law and includes discussion of innovations in food law happening at the municipal, state and federal level. Covers the latest developments in food law.
Food and Drug Law by
Roughly 20-25 cents out of every dollar spent by American consumers is for a product regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. The agency has jurisdiction over food, drugs, cosmetics, medical devices, biological products (including vaccines), animal food and drugs, and tobacco products, as well as electronic products that emit radiation and products that spread communicable disease. FDA regulation thus touches most products that fill the shelves of our supermarkets and drug stores and virtually every product prescribed or used by the medical profession. Indeed, few other agencies regulate products or activities that play so intimate a role in our daily lives. Food and Drug Law is the law governing the actions taken by FDA and its sister agencies to oversee the safety of this vast universe of products, to ensure that the labeling (and in some cases advertising) of products is accurate and reliable, and to shepherd safe and effective new medical products onto the market. The book contains not only the most important court cases in the field, but also materials that show how food and drug law is developed and enforced outside of court, including: Federal Register notices, warning letters, guidance documents, Congressional hearings and investigations, scholarly research, media opinions, and many others. Additionally, the authors offer significant original content to guide the reader through the myriad complexities of the field. Likewise, the Fifth Edition includes carefully curated notes that illuminate the law in action. The Fifth Edition, like previous editions, is an invaluable resource for practitioners. But the book has been reorganized and edited from top to bottom to make it more accessible than ever for students and professors. The Fifth Edition completely updates the Fourth Edition of 2014 through February 2022. It addresses all statutory developments since 2014, including, for example, the National Bioengineered Food Disclosure Standard Act of 2016, the 21st Century Cures Act of 2016, the FDA Reauthorization Action of 2017, the Right to Try Act of 2018, the Pediatric Drugs and Devices Act of 2017, and the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act of 2020. Every major development of the past eight years is addressed, from the flood of new mobile and digital devices to the vital work of the FDA during the COVID-19 pandemic. The authors combine their knowledge of the rich histories in each product area with a deep understanding of the law and the agency to explain the current state of food and drug law and signal where it might be headed.
Food and Drug Law by
This food and drug law comprehensive book is organized for ease of reading in order to comprehend a complex area of federal regulatory law. There is a separate volume for each subject based on regulation under the United States Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act (FDCA) and related laws all contained in this bound book. Food and Drug Law is organized into subject specific titled volumes with a concise introduction to provide a particular focus for the reader. Praise for Food and Drug LawFood and Drug law has many audiences besides lawyers - health care personnel, doctors, nurses, regulatory, and CEO's to name a few and the author writes in "Plain Language" for reader appeal. - Thomas Mc Grath, M.D., J.D. This is an excellent up-to-date resource. It is used in my graduate school courses as well as in industry. Students keep it as a "desk-top-reference." - Thomas E. Colonna PhD/JD, Director Regulatory Science Program The author details the complexities into subject specific areas. She provides critical information using a practical approach so rare today! - Albert Wertheimer, PhD. Prof. Nova Southeastern University
Food Law by
Food law is a hot topic in today's legal practice. For one thing, food is a highly-regulated product with fragmented oversight on the federal and state levels. Producers and retailers face an array of compliance obligations, especially as they operate in an increasingly inter-connected, globalized world. Even while the number of law school courses on food law proliferates to meet growing student demand, there remains substantial disagreement over just what constitutes food law. Can students tell firms they want to go into "food law" as a defined field of practice? Even for practicing lawyers, wrapping their arms around the contours of this nebulous field can be difficult at first. For readers new to the field of food law in its many forms, this Practical Guide aims to provide an overview of what lawyers actually do to assist food and beverage clients across various domains of legal practice. It is written by practicing lawyers for practicing lawyers, with a focus on information that is both practical and actionable.
Food Law in the United States by
As the modern food system continues to transform food--its composition, taste, availability, value, and appearance--consumers are increasingly confronted by legal and regulatory issues that affect us all on a daily basis. In Food Law in the United States, Michael Roberts addresses these issues in a comprehensive, systematic manner that lays out the national legal framework for the regulation of food and the legal tools that fill gaps in this framework, including litigation, state law, and private standards. Covering a broad expanse of topics including commerce, food safety, marketing, nutrition, and emerging food-systems issues such as local food, sustainability, security, urban agriculture, and equity, this book is an essential reference for lawyers, students, non-law professionals, and consumer advocates who must understand food law to advance their respective interests.
Food Regulation by
Featuring case studies and discussion questions, this textbook - with revisions addressing significant changes to US food law - offers accessible coverage appropriate to a wide audience of students and professionals. Overviews the federal statutes, regulations, and regulatory agencies concerned with food regulation and introduces students to the case law and statutory scheme of food regulation Focuses updated content on the 2011 FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA), the biggest change to US food law since the 1930s Contains over 20% new material, particularly a rewritten import law chapter and revisions related to food safety regulation, health claims, and food defense Features case studies and discussion questions about application of law, policy questions, and emerging issues
Guide to US Food Laws and Regulations by
For both student food scientists and experienced professionals, a knowledge of U.S. food law is the foundation that supports an understanding of all industry regulation. Based on a popular internet course, Guide to Food Laws and Regulations, 2nd Edition informs students on the significance, range, and background of food laws and gives tools for finding current regulations. This compact resource outlines major U.S. food laws, factors that led to their passage, and explains the role of key agencies like the FDA and FSIS in regulation and enforcement. Students are directed to internet sites as well as to indexes and resources available from the Federal government. Other topics include religious dietary law, Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, environmental regulations, HACCP andGMPs, laws governing health claims, and the regulation of biotechnology. New to this edition are six chapters on subjects that have risen to prominence during the last few years: Poultry Processing Regulations Federal Trade Commission Animal Welfare Regulations and Food Production Egg Laws and Regulations Catfish Regulations Locating Laws and Regulations Guide to Food Laws and Regulations, 2nd Edition is an ideal sourcebook for students and professionals in food science and technology, chemistry, biosystems engineering, food animal production and medicine, agribusiness, and other closely related fields.
Research Handbook on International Food Law by
With contributions from over 30 international legal scholars, this topical Research Handbook on International Food Lawprovides a reflective and crucial examination of the rules, power dynamics, legal doctrines, societal norms, and frameworks that govern the modern global food system. The Research Handbook analyses the interlinkages between producers and consumers of food, as well as the environmental effects of the global food network and the repercussions on human health. Chapters explore the development of food law and governance strategies, the regulation of novel foods, including insects, and the application of technology and science in food production, such as genetically engineered food. The insightful contributions examine the legal challenges facing the global food system and suggest practical recommendations for future research and reform. Providing a comprehensive and interdisciplinary perspective on the complex legal landscape of food production and consumption, this Research Handbook will be essential reading for students and scholars of food law, consumer law, public international law, and regulation and governance, as well as food system advocates, international lawyers, and policymakers.
The A-Z Encyclopedia of Food Controversies and the Law by
This two-volume set is a broad compendium of the law, policies, and legal influences that affect the food on our plates today. Alphabetically arranged entries describe topics related to the intersection of law and food. An appendix offers examples of legislation, court cases, regulations, and international treaties related to food. A timeline shows the development of the law of food in the United States. A bibliography lists additional materials for reference.
A Companion to Food in the Ancient World by
A Companion to Food in the Ancient World presents a comprehensive overview of the cultural aspects relating to the production, preparation, and consumption of food and drink in antiquity. * Provides an up-to-date overview of the study of food in the ancient world * Addresses all aspects of food production, distribution, preparation, and consumption during antiquity * Features original scholarship from some of the most influential North American and European specialists in Classical history, ancient history, and archaeology * Covers a wide geographical range from Britain to ancient Asia, including Egypt and Mesopotamia, Asia Minor, regions surrounding the Black Sea, and China * Considers the relationships of food in relation to ancient diet, nutrition, philosophy, gender, class, religion, and more
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
EU Food Law Handbook
Taking the General Food Law as a focal point, this handbook analyses and explains the institutional, substantive and procedural elements of EU food law. Principles are discussed as well as specific rules addressing food as a product, the processes related to food and communication about food to consumers through labelling. These rules define requirements on subjects like market authorisation for food additives, novel foods and genetically modified foods, food hygiene, tracking & tracing, withdrawal & recall. The powers of public authorities to enforce food law and to deal with incidents are outlined. Attention is given to the international context (WTO, Codex Alimentarius) as well as to private standards.
In addition to the systematic analysis, the book includes selected topics such as nutrition and health policy, special foods, food import requirements, food contact materials, intellectual property and animal feed.
The 'EU Food Law Handbook' is produced in co-operation with the European Institute for Food Law. It is relevant for practitioners and academics both with and without a background in law. It is ideal for education purposes.
The Oxford Companion to Food by
"the best food reference work ever to appear in the English language ... read it and be dazzled"Bee Wilson, New StatesmanFirst published in 1999, the ground-breaking Oxford Companion to Food was an immediate success and won prizes and accolades around the world. Its blend of serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity, was and remains unique.Interest in food, cooking, and the culture surrounding food has grown enormously in the intervening period, as has the study of food and food history. University departments, international societies, and academic journals have sprung up dedicated to exploring the meaning of food in the daily livesof people around the world, alongside an ever-increasing number of articles, books, programmes, and websites in the general media devoted to the discussion of food, making the Oxford Companion to Food more relevant than ever.Already a food writing classic, this Companion combines an exhaustive catalogue of foods, be they biscuits named after battles, divas or revolutionaries; body parts (from nose to tail, toe to cerebellum); or breads from the steppes of Asia or the well-built ovens of the Mediterranean; with a richlyallusive commentary on the culture of food, expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community.While building on the Companion's existing strengths, Tom Jaine has taken the opportunity to update the text and alert readers to new perspectives in food studies. There is new coverage of attitudes to food consumption, production and perception, such as food and genetics, food and sociology, andobesity. New entries include terms such as convenience foods, drugs and food, Ethiopia, leftovers, medicine and food, pasta, and many more. There are also new entries on important personalities who are of special significance within the world of food, among them Clarence Birdseye, Henri Nestle, andLouis Pasteur.In its new edition the Companion maintains its place as the foremost food reference resource for study and home use.
Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues* (Available on LEXIS or Westlaw, ID and password required)
Biting the Hands That Feed Us: How Fewer, Smarter Laws would Make our Food System More Sustainable by
Food waste, hunger, inhumane livestock conditions, disappearing fish stocks--these are exactly the kind of issues we expect food regulations to combat. Yet, today in the United States, laws exist at all levels of government that actually make these problems worse. Baylen Linnekin argues that, too often, government rules handcuff America's most sustainable farmers, producers, sellers, and consumers, while rewarding those whose practices are anything but sustainable. Biting the Hands that Feed Us introduces readers to the perverse consequences of many food rules. Some of these rules constrain the sale of "ugly" fruits and vegetables, relegating bushels of tasty but misshapen carrots and strawberries to food waste. Other rules have threatened to treat manure--the lifeblood of organic fertilization--as a toxin. Still other rules prevent sharing food with the homeless and others in need. There are even rules that prohibit people from growing fruits and vegetables in their own yards. Linnekin also explores what makes for a good food law--often, he explains, these emphasize good outcomes rather than rigid processes. But he urges readers to be wary of efforts to regulate our way to a greener food system, calling instead for empowerment of those working to feed us--and themselves--sustainably.
The Changing Landscape of Food Governance by
This book examines the changing landscape of food governance. Within this landscape, both public and private regulators increasingly encounter one another as markets have become more globalized. While these encounters may often be planned, long-term and lead to positive relationships and outcomes, they can also be accidental collisions that result in antagonistic relationships and crisis. Empirically, this book investigates these public and private encounters in food governance and the institutional challenges they raise. Importantly, it also explores the public policy responses to these issues at the national, supranational and transnational levels, and investigates new forms of private food regulation. Against this empirical backdrop, the contributors provide insights into broader analytical issues that have animated regulatory governance scholarship such as the legitimacy and effectiveness of public and private regulation, the distribution of power in regulatory arrangements, the interaction of layers and networks of regulation and regulatory responses to crisis.This comprehensive book will be of great value to those interested in gaining an interdisciplinary understanding of the empirical area of food governance and the analytical issues of regulatory governance.
A Consumer's Guide to Food Regulation and Safety by
A Consumer's Guide to Food Regulation & Safety is a consumer-friendly guide to understanding the laws and policies relating to the food industry. Learn more about current policies designed to protect consumers and how to challenge them if necessary. Issues of fraudulent promotion, labeling, and advertising by members of the food industry are also examined. Food related issues are regularly making headlines. This almanac provides consumers with the information they need to better understand the laws and policies in place to help protect them from harm. Do you find many food labels confusing and misleading? Do you know what to do if you get sick from contaminated food? As a consumer, can you take legal action if you fall victim to food fraud or illness? All of these issues are addressed in this easy to comprehend legal guide.
Creating Organic Standards in U. S. States by
The organic food and agriculture market has greatly expanded over the course of the past forty years. Once considered a fringe practice and market, organic food and agriculture now receives mainstream acceptance and political support in the United States. The USDA's National Organic Program regulates the current U.S. market, but organic regulations were originally developed in the states starting in the 1970s. From 1976-2010, thirty-eight states adopted organic food and agriculture regulatory legislation. A majority of state legislatures adopted initial legislation in 1989 and 1990, the same year as Congress passed the Organic Foods Production Act that effective began the development of national level standards. Grounded in the policy diffusion and diffusion of innovation literature, Creating Organic examines why and how state legislatures decide to adopt legislation that regulate the organic food and agriculture market. The consequences for early and continual state involvement in this policy domain impact national policy trajectories and reshape the sustainable agriculture market. The evidence from this evaluation demonstrates a host of conditions led to the diffusion and evolution of organic regulatory legislation in the U.S. California, Vermont, and Georgia are case studies that illuminate the complexities of adoption decisions and evolution of state regulations over time. In turn, there are a number of lessons to be derived for how state regulatory design has influenced today's organic market and federal policy development.
Environmental Resilience and Food Law by
Agrobiodiversity and agroecology go hand-in-hand in promoting environmental resilience in international food systems as well as climate change resilient food policy. This book contextualizes how various legal frameworks address agrobiodiversity and agroecology around the globe and makes it accessible for audiences of students, practitioners, educators, and scholars. Some chapters focus on the legal regulation of agroecology from a food law perspective. Others are geared toward providing regulators, lawmakers and attorneys with the scientific and policy background of those concepts, so that they are equipped in the field of food law in everyday practice and policy. Climate change dimensions of the issues are woven throughout the book.　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　　
Food Law and Regulation for Non-Lawyers by
Designed and modeled after a six-week introductory food law course taught at Northeastern University, Food Law and Regulation for Non-Lawyers offers a succinct overview of key topics and core concepts for food scientists, quality managers, and others who need to understand the regulation of food in the U.S. This second edition includes critical updates on the Food Safety Modernization Act-- the first change to the food safety laws in over 70 years. The seven foundational rules, finalized in 2015, are discussed in detail. The new edition also includes other regulatory updates such as the new Nutrition Fact Panel, changes to the definition of fiber, and the FDA's attempt to regulate the widely used "healthy" claim. These timely updates, along with the core concepts of the first edition, make the volume an essential and practical tool for regulatory professionals.
Food Law for Public Health by
Food and its many aspects - production, consumption, marketing, labeling, procurement, safety - have become a mainstay of both popular discourse and the practice of public health. As topics such as GMO labeling, food-borne illness outbreaks, soda bans, and food taxes have come to the forefrontof the public and academic conscious, understanding the legal underpinnings of these issues is vital. Food Law for Public Health is the first book on food law written specifically for a public health audience without a legal background. It offers comprehensive coverage of every aspect of food law:* Established and newer food law issues in the United States* Overview of US law, plus federal, state, and local governments' authorities and limitations to address food for public health* Controversial topics related to food marketing, food labeling, and the various regulatory concerns over food safety* Federal nutrition programs and guidelines * Litigation among the food industry, consumers, and the governmentFood Law for Public Health offers necessary grounding in food law for audiences in public health, nutrition, food studies, policy, or anyone with a professional interest in this increasingly important area. With clear writing and thought-provoking questions and exercises for classroom discussion, itis an ideal tool for learning and teaching.
Food Safety: Rapid Detection and Effective Prevention of Foodborne Hazards by
This new volume, Food Safety: Rapid Detection and Effective Prevention of Foodborne Hazards, focuses on the general concepts, mechanisms, and new applications of analytical and molecular biology techniques for detecting, removing, and preventing chemical and biological hazards from food. Edited by a microbiologist and medical officer with over 20 years of laboratory and research experience in bacteriology, molecular biology, infectious disease, and food safety, and who has trained with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the volume provides an abundance of valuable information on food safety and foodborne hazards in our food and drink. Today, food safety is a growing concern not only of food-related professionals and policymakers, but also of the public. Foodborne hazards, including chemical and biological hazards, can cause food intoxication, infectious diseases, cancers, and other health risks. Foodborne diseases are a major public health and economic burden in both the developed and developing countries. In the United States alone, the incidence of foodborne illness is approximately 9.4 million cases with about 56,000 hospitalizations and 1,351 deaths every year. Written in an easy-to-read and user-friend style, each chapter introduces a chemical or biological hazard and addresses: What kinds of disease does the foodborne hazard cause Why is it necessary for us to study it What routes does it take to enter our food and how does it cause us to become sick How do we identify it Chapters then go on to present new technologies employed to detect, isolate, and/or identify the hazard and prevention procedures such as: (ADD BULLETS) How can the current application of new technology be used to detect the foodborne hazards How do we prevent the diseases caused by the foodborne hazards This book will be valuable to professionals and other specialists who work in food preparation, food safety, clinical laboratories, and food manufacturing industry. It will be a resource for food handling trainers as well as to anyone interested in foodborne hazards and their affective detection, reduction, and prevention strategies. This book can also serve as a important reference for more specialized courses in food safety-related courses and training programs.
Food Security Governance by
This book fills a gap in the literature by setting food security in the context of evolving global food governance. Today's food system generates hunger alongside of food waste, burgeoning health problems, massive greenhouse gas emissions. Applying food system analysis to review how the international community has addressed food issues since World War II, this book proceeds to explain how actors link up in corporate global food chains and in the local food systems that feed most of the world's population. It unpacks relevant paradigms - from productivism to food sovereignty - and highlights the significance of adopting a rights-based approach to solving food problems. The author describes how communities around the world are protecting their access to resources and building better ways of producing and accessing food, and discusses the reformed Committee on World Food Security, a uniquely inclusive global policy forum, and how it could be supportive of efforts from the base. The book concludes by identifying terrains on which work is needed to adapt the practice of the democratic public sphere and accountable governance to a global dimension and extend its authority to the world of markets and corporations. This book will be of interest to students of food security, global governance, development studies and critical security studies in general.
Food System Transparency by
This book brings together an international group of agriculture and food lawyers and scientists to define the field of Food System Transparency in three parts: the big picture, food safety and health, and the global view. Each part adds to the whole but zooms in through a unique lens. Investigating social, economic, political, scientific and legal frameworks, this comprehensive volume addresses topics such as food authenticity, agroecological evaluations, and consumer protection. Interwoven themes of transparency contextualize concepts of food safety, information sharing and regulatory opportunities at a local and global scale. Editors' notes provide blended legal and scientific commentary to facilitate further discussion and context within the classroom. Advantages of this volume include: Chapters written by foremost international experts in their fields Editors' notes written for classroom use and background information Figures and tables providing illustrations of important concepts Case studies delivering practicality and in-depth analysis to current events A special chapter on COVID-19 and its implications for the food system This book is important reading for graduate-level students, legal scholars, nonlegal academics, advocates for food system transparency and resilience, agroecology and environmental conservation, and practitioners in any cross-disciplinary areas relating to food policy. It will be of interest to all those who seek to deepen their understanding of the concepts and trends surrounding the information that centers around our food system, both domestically in the United States and the European Union, as well as in many major trading nations such as China. Check out the Support Materials tab on www.routledge.com/9780367440367 for a short video previewing some the key themes in the book.
Human Rights and the Right to Food by
The right to food is a basic human right, as well as a basic human need which should be guaranteed to all people. Food is the most basic necessity of life. When talking about the right to food, we generally tend to focus only on the developing countries and their right to food. In recent years, another issue with regard to food has been added as a human right: the right to safe food. The right to food has been recognized in numerous international instruments, including several meetings attended by world leaders or their representatives where they have increasingly committed themselves to promoting this right. Unfortunately, the international legal recognition of the right to adequate food and numerous commitments to its fulfillment has not translated into widespread acknowledgement and incorporation domestically by all States. Much of the content of the right to food has been developed as a result of these instruments; therefore it is necessary to look at them. This collection presents the most important documents and reports from the United Nations, regional organizations, and national achievements.
Hybridization of Food Governance by
Modern food governance is increasingly hybrid, involving not only government, but also industry and civil society actors. This book deftly analyzes the unfolding interplay between public and private actors in global and local food governance.Split into three parts, chapters focus on the legitimacy and integrity of private food governance, the hybridization of EU Food Law and hybridization in transnational food governance. Within these key areas, food scholars from diverse disciplinary fields present a fascinating array of original empirical case studies, showing hybrid governance arrangements in China, Europe and North America. Through these practical examples, they consider in detail how the responsibilities and risks inherent in these arrangements are allocated, how their legitimacy is ensured and the effect that they have on industry and government practice.Timely and discerning, this book will appeal to legal students and scholars focusing on regulation and governance and, in particular, those considering its relation to food. It will also provide guidance to policymakers on how to shape and direct the trends, types and outcomes of hybrid food governance.
In Food We Trust: The Politics of Purity in American Food Regulation by
One of the great myths of contemporary American culture is that the United States’ food supply is the safest in the world because the government works to guarantee food safety and enforce certain standards on food producers, processors, and distributors. In reality U.S. food safety administration and oversight have remained essentially the same for more than a century, with the Pure Food and Drug Act and the Federal Meat Inspection Act of 1906 continuing to frame national policy despite dramatic changes in production, processing, and distribution throughout the twentieth century. In Food We Trust is the first comprehensive examination of the history of food safety policy in the United States, analyzing critical moments in food safety history from Upton Sinclair’s publication of The Jungle to Congress’s passage of the 2010 Food Safety Modernization Act. With five case studies of significant food safety crises ranging from the 1959 chemical contamination of cranberries to the 2009 outbreak of salmonella in peanut butter, In Food We Trust contextualizes a changing food regulatory regime and explains how federal agencies are fundamentally limited in their power to safeguard the food supply.
Private Food Law by
Since the turn of the Millennium, world-wide initiatives from the private sector have turned the regulatory environment for food businesses upside down. For the first time in legal literature this book analyses private law initiatives relating to the food chain, often referred to as private (voluntary) standards or schemes.
Private standards are used to remedy flaws in legislation, in order to reach higher levels of consumer protection than the ones chosen by the EU legislature and to manage risks and liability beyond the traditional limits of food businesses. We see that litigation is no longer solely framed by legislative requirements, but ever more by private standards such as GlobalGAP, BRC, IFS, SQF and ISO. These private standards incorporate public law requirements thus embedding them in contractual relations and exporting them beyond the jurisdiction of public legislators. Other standards focus on corporate social responsibility or sustainability. This book also addresses how private religious standards such as Kosher and Halal play a role in defining specific markets of growing importance. It is noted that organic standards have found an interesting symbioses with public law.
Another development on this topic is that food businesses are inspected more often by private auditors than by public inspectors. Effects in terms of receiving or being denied certification far outweigh public law sanctions. In short private law has changed an entire legal infrastructure for the food sector. It emerges as competing with the public law regulatory infrastructure.
This book is of interest to all who concern themselves with food law legislation and litigation and the evolving role of private standards on changing the landscape of food chains and innovation.
Trade, Food Security, and Human Rights by
Most scholars attribute systemic causes of food insecurity to poverty, human overpopulation, lack of farmland, and expansion of biofuel programs. However, as Chen argues here, another significant factor has been overlooked. The current food insecurity is not absolute food shortage, since global food production still exceeds the need of the entire world population, but a problem of how to secure access to resources. Distorted agricultural trade undermines world food distribution, and uneven distribution impedes people's access to food, particularly in poor developing countries. Examining EU and US agricultural policies and World Trade Organization negotiations in agriculture, the author argues how they affect the international agricultural trade, claiming that current food insecurity is the result of inequitable food distribution and trade practices. The international trade regime is advised to reconcile trade rules with the consideration of food security issues. Several other enforceable solutions to reduce world hunger and malnutrition are also advanced, including national capacity building, the improvement of governance, and strategic development of biofuel programs. This book will be of great interest to agricultural trade professionals and consultant policy makers in the EU, US and developing countries. Students and researchers with a concentration on international trade, agriculture economics, global governance and international law will benefit greatly from this study.
Food Policy in the United States: An Introduction by
This new edition offers a timely update to the leading textbook dedicated to all aspects of U.S. food policy. The update accounts for experience with policy changes in the 2014 Farm Bill and prospects for the next Farm Bill, the publication of the 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the removal of Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) status for trans fats, the collapse of the Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP) treaty, stalled child nutrition reauthorization legislation, reforms in food-labeling policy, the consequences of the 2016 presidential election and many other developments. The second edition offers greater attention both to food justice issues and to economic methods, including extensive economics appendices in a new online Companion Website. As with the first edition, real-world controversies and debates motivate the book's attention to economic principles, policy analysis, nutrition science and contemporary data sources. The book assumes that the reader's concern is not just the economic interests of farmers and food producers but also includes nutrition, sustainable agriculture, food justice, the environment and food security. The goal is to make U.S. food policy more comprehensible to those inside and outside the agri-food sector whose interests and aspirations have been ignored. The chapters cover U.S. agriculture, food production and the environment, international agricultural trade, food and beverage manufacturing, food retail and restaurants, food safety, dietary guidance, food labeling, advertising and federal food assistance programs for the poor. The author is an agricultural economist with many years of experience in the nonprofit advocacy sector, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and as a professor at Tufts University. The author's blog on U.S. food policy provides a forum for discussion and debate of the issues set out in the book.
 |  |  |  |
© The Regents of the University of California. UCLA School of Law. All Rights Reserved.
