Climate Change and Agriculture by Noureddine Benkeblia (Editor)Climate Change and Agriculture Authoritative and comprehensive resource covering climate-smart agriculture with key insights into its implementation Climate Change and Agriculture provides a complete overview of the development of sustainable agroecosystems and cropping systems and details how to improve the resilience of cultivated crops and cropping systems to the adverse conditions of the climate, such as drought, increasing levels of carbon dioxide, global warming, and many other secondary effects such as soils fertility depletion, uncommon disease, and pests. Additionally, the text suggests different agricultural practices to face the severity of frequency of the natural events. Climate Change and Agriculture also delves into the different climate-resilient methods and climate-smarter agriculture (CSA) for food production by building healthier soils through different sustainable practices, redesigning diverse agroecosystems, and developing new crop varieties, livestock breeds, and farm practices. Insight into how modern technology has affected the field, and how it may affect the field in the future, is included. Other topics discussed in Climate Change and Agriculture include: Climate change and agriculture (state of the art, challenges, and perspectives), plus studies on crop yields and their extreme value analysis over India Symbiosis for food security and sustainability in changing climate and emerging issues related to conservation agriculture in Africa The role of periurban agriculture in sustainability and climate change, with additional information on nutrient management in agro-ecosystems Soil fertility management and biofertilization in changing climate and biochar mitigating abiotic stress-induced damages under changing climate For academics and students; seed, fertilizer, and chemical producers; farmers and farming communities; and policy makers, Climate Change and Agriculture contains invaluable insights into the subject that are helpful in understanding the current state of the field and preparing for potential future developments.
Publication Date: 2022-10-17
Environmental Impact of Agro-Food Industry and Food Consumption by Charis M. Galanakis (Editor)Environmental Impact of Agro-Food Industry and Food Consumption covers trends associated with the impact of food production on the environment using lifecycle analysis and the standard methods used to estimate the food industry's environmental impact. The book discusses city-scale actions to estimate the environmental impact of food systems, including the meat chain, feeding crops to farmed fish, the confectionary industry, agriculture, tea processing, cheese production, the dairy industry, cold chain, and ice cream production. Food waste and consumption in hospitality and global diets round out these interesting discussions. Written for food scientists, technologists, engineers, chemists, governmental regulatory bodies, environmentalists, environmental technologists, environmental engineers, researchers, academics and professionals working in the food industry, this book is an essential resource on sustainability in the food industry.
Handbook of Climate Change Across the Food Supply Chain by Walter Leal Filho (Editor); Ilija Djekic (Editor); Sergiy Smetana (Editor); Marina Kovaleva (Editor)This book presents climate change as a global phenomenon which affects the entire food chain. Many studies analyzing environmental impacts of food systems confirm significant effects of food production on climate change. Most of them associate primary production with emission of greenhouse gasses identified as one of the causes resulting in warming the atmosphere and global climate effects. A wider perspective shows that the food chains start at farms with consumers being at the end of the pipeline. This approach emphasizes the role of the entire food chain highlighting different kinds of environmental impacts affecting climate change. On the other side, temperature changes and variations of precipitation patterns, together with extreme weather events and water reduction, are recognized as predictors for producing less food, decreased food quality, new food safety risks, biodiversity losses, and depletion of resources associated with food production in modified circumstances. Last but not least, these effects introduce new threats known as food security where some assumptions stress that almost one billion of people are hungry not receiving enough food as a result of climate changes. As a result, the UN highlights the need for combating climate change and promotes sustainable (food) consumption and production. Based on the perceived need to promote and disseminate information on climate change related to food system, the "Handbook of Climate change across the food supply chain" is being produced. The publication compiles information, experiences, practical initiatives, and projects around the subject matter and makes it available to a wide audience. It is expected that the "Handbook of Climate change across the food supply chain" makes many benefits of climate service clearer and, inter alia, leads to an increase in the demand for such important services.
Publication Date: 2022-04-23
The Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Food and Gastronomy by Philip Sloan (Editor); Willy Legrand (Editor); Clare Hindley (Editor)The issues surrounding the provision, preparation and development of food products is fundamental to every human being on the planet. Given the scarcity of agricultural land, environmental pollution, climate change and the exponential growth of the world's population where starvation and obesity are both widespread it is little wonder that exploring the frontiers of food is now a major focus for researchers and practitioners. This timely Handbook provides a systematic guide to the current state of knowledge on sustainable food. It begins by analyzing the historical development surrounding food production and consumption, then moves on to discuss the current food crisis and challenges as well as the impacts linked to modern agriculture and food security. Finally, it concludes with a section that examines emerging sustainable food trends and movements in addition to an analysis of current food science innovations. Developed from specifically commissioned original contributions the Handbook's inherent multidisciplinary approach paves the way for deeper understanding of all aspects linked to the evolution of food in society, including insights into local food, food and tourism, organic food, indigenous and traditional food, sustainable restaurant practices, consumption patterns and sourcing. This book is essential reading for students, researches and academics interested in the possibilities of sustainable forms of gastronomy and gastronomy's contribution to sustainable development. The title includes a foreword written by Roberto Flore, Head Chef at the Nordic Food Lab, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Publication Date: 2015-06-12
Smart and Sustainable Food Technologies by Shalini Sehgal (Editor); Barinderjit Singh (Editor); Vasudha Sharma (Editor)This book presents a comprehensive view of emerging smart technologies in various food processing sectors. Specifically, it covers smart technologies applied in food production, food manufacturing, food packaging, storage, distribution, and food supply chain. Contributing authors are the key scientists with diverse backgrounds in either industry or academia. The book contains four parts with four chapters each, presenting recent smart technologies developed in their respective areas. Part I primarily focuses on the recent smart food production innovations such as precision agriculture, vertical farming, automation, robotics , livestock technology, modern greenhouse practices, artificial intelligence, and block chain that dramatically increase the quality of raw materials for the food industry. Part II provides the current knowledge and developments related to the recent smart technologies in manufacturing pertaining to various food sectors, non-thermal food preservation technologies, and 3D printing, developed for the food manufacturing industries that improve the organoleptic and nutritional quality, enhance chemical and microbial safety, as well as cost-effectiveness and convenience of processed foods. Part III covers smart technologies to ensure food safety in the supply chain, with monitoring and surveillance of food contamination, use of IoT and blockchain for food traceability and neural network approach for risk assessment. Part IV provides expert opinions on using smart technologies for minimizing waste and maximizing co-product recovery in food processing; upcycling technologies in food and sustainable value stream mapping in the food industry. This book will be a useful resource to graduate/undergraduate students and researchers in advanced food technology, practicing technologists/engineers in the food and related industries, food packaging industry, entrepreneurs and other scientists and technologists in smart and sustainable processes who seek information on design and development of these processes.
Publication Date: 2022-05-14
Sustainable Food Production: An Earth Institute Sustainability Primer by Shahid Naeem; Suzanne Lipton; Tiff van HuysenIndustrial agriculture is responsible for widespread environmental degradation and undermines the pursuit of human well-being. With a projected global population of 10 billion by 2050, it is urgent for humanity to achieve a more sustainable approach to farming and food systems. This concise text offers an overview of the key issues in sustainable food production for all readers interested in the ecology and environmental impacts of agriculture. It details the ecological foundations of farming and food systems, showing how knowledge from the natural and social sciences can be used to create sustainable alternatives to the industrial production methods used today. Beginning with a discussion of the role of agriculture in human development, the primer examines how twentieth-century farming methods are environmentally and socially unsustainable, contributing to global change and perpetuating inequalities. The authors explain the principles of environmental sustainability and explore how these principles can be put into practice in agrifood systems. They emphasize the importance of human well-being and insist on the centrality of social and environmental equity and justice. Sustainable Food Production is a compelling guide to how we can improve our ability to feed each other today and preserve the ability of our planet to do so tomorrow. Appropriate for a range of courses in the natural and social sciences, it provides a comprehensive yet accessible framework for achieving agricultural sustainability in the Anthropocene.
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Transforming Food Systems under Climate Change Through Innovation by Bruce Campbell (Editor); Philip Thornton (Editor); Ana Maria Loboguerrero (Editor); Dhanush Dinesh (Editor); Andreea Nowak (Editor)Our food systems have performed well in the past, but they are failing us in the face of climate change and other challenges. This book tells the story of why food system transformation is needed, how it can be achieved and how research can be a catalyst for change. Written by a global interdisciplinary team of researchers, it brings together perspectives from multiple areas including climate, environment, agriculture, and the social sciences to describe how different tools and approaches can be used to tackle food system transformation. It provides practical, actionable insights for policymakers and advisors, demonstrating how science together with strong partnerships can enable real transformation on the ground. It also contributes to the academic debate on the transformation of food systems, and so will be an invaluable reference for researchers and students alike. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.