Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCLA School of Law History Archive: UCLA University Archives

This guide provides an inventory of the Law Library's archive of resources relating to the history of the UCLA School of Law

UCLA University Archives

The UCLA University Archives, housed in the Special Collections Department at the Young Research Library (YRL), includes significant holdings of the Law School’s historical documents that concern a variety of topics from the late 1940s through the 1990s: various phases of construction of the Law School building and Law Library, including blueprints and planning and budgeting documents; policies on curriculum, admissions and grading; the growth and activities of the Law School faculty; various student organizations; the origins and development of clinical legal education, externship programs, and other special programs at the Law School; the Law School’s early pioneering of affirmative action policies; and general administrative and fiscal records, among others. Access to some materials may be unavailable to the public or may require special permission.

Archival finding aids for the manuscript collections concerning the Law School include one for Dean's Office files from 1949-1982,  one for Dean Prager's papers, and one for Law Library files from 1952-54.  For additional information on the use of archival materials, please contact Special Collections at YRL.