Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCLA School of Law History Archive: Misc. Publications

This guide provides an inventory of the Law Library's archive of resources relating to the history of the UCLA School of Law

Miscellaneous Publications

  1. UCLA on the Move: during fifty golden years 1919-1969 by Andrew Hamilton and John B. Jackson. Pages 115-16 give a brief summary of the founding of the Law School, stating: “The UCLA Law School came about almost by accident. Without any pressure on the part of University officials or alumni…”
  1. Rumors and Truths: a booklet to help your start at UCLA School of Law (1960 and 1965) published by the Law Students’ Association. These are short (15 page) pamphlets aimed at entering law students. They begin with a list of LSA officers for that year. The table of contents includes:
    1. Objectives of the Legal Education by Dean Maxwell
    2. Academic Performance by James L. Malone, Assistant Dean
    3. Classes and Studying – an overview of the Socratic method and tips on annotating, briefing, using Hornbooks, outlines, and law reviews, and reviewing
    4. Attendance by James L. Malone
    5. The Number System
    6. Books and Supplies
    7. Honor System
    8. Student Activities – gives a paragraph describing each activity: The Student Bar Association, Committees, The Docket, Legal Forum, Orientation – Curriculum, Services Committee, Athletics, Law Day, Parking Committee, Alumni Relations Committee, Elections, The Law Wives, Law Review, Moot Court, Professional Fraternities, Federal Criminal Indigent Defense Program, and State Criminal Appeals Program.
  1. A funny thing happened to Ruben Gomez and Alfred Johnson on their way back from the ghetto…They became lawyers. This 1970 pamphlet discusses the need for lawyers from minority communities, gives a brief history of the Legal Education Opportunity Program (LEOP), provides an overview of admissions and performance, discussed the impact the program has started to have in the legal community, and talks about financial assistance.
  1. The Minority Student at UCLA Law School: twelve years of success. This 1979 informational pamphlet provides an overview of the minority program. It gives statistics that “undisputably make UCLA one of the leading centers for minority legal education in the nation, and speak to its institutional commitment to serve all parts of the population.”  It discusses the Educational Program, Placement Program, and financial aid.
  1. From Reform to Institution: the history of the UCLA Law School’s affirmative action admissions procedure by Sam Magavern. As the subtitle suggests, this is a history of the UCLA Law School’s minority admissions procedures from the Legal Education Opportunity Program (LEOP) in the 1960’s to the 1978 Bakke decision to 1988, when the piece is written. 
  1. UCLA School of Law: the building and the law library. This 1953 pamphlet describes the law building in detail, including the types of materials used. It includes a diagram of the original building. 
  1. UCLA Law Library Addition & Related Improvements: detailed project program, prepared by UCLA Capital Programs. March 1992, v.1-2. This is an extremely detailed report, which describes the current conditions of the Law Library and Law School before the renovation. It details building systems (electrical, water, etc), staff workflows, descriptions of departments, and services provided to students and faculty. It also contains pictures of proposed changes to the exterior, and floor plans. There are some major differences between the plans proposed in this report, and the layout of the building after renovation. But it could be valuable as a record of services offered, and the state of the building in the early 1990s.
  1. UCLA Law Library administration newsletter. September 29, 1995 – September 29, 1997. This is mostly a very whimsical newsletter containing weekly updates relevant to library staff during construction. Many of the “articles” are purely of entertainment, so this was probably also a means of boosting morale during a very hectic time in the library.
    1. Vol.1 no.1 – “The Law Library has hired a pool of five law students for its new Law Library Research Assistant program.” They are: Cathy Putnam, Lucy Rosas, Jeremy Halpern, Jose Guerrero, and Jovi Orantes.
    2. Vol.2 no.4 – Dean Prager held ground-breaking ceremony for the newly named Hugh and Hazel Darling Law Library on January 23, 1996.