Employment Law: Federal and California Sources: 1. Federal/Multi-Jurisdictional

I. Online Government Resources

   A. Federal

   B. California

II. General Secondary Sources

   A. Federal/Multi-Jurisdictional

   B. California

III. Topical Resources

   A. Discrimination and Harassment

   B. Wage and Hour Law

   C. Employee Privacy

   E. Independent Contractors

   F. Workers' Compensation

Corporate Counsel’s Guide to Employment Contracts. (Westlaw, April 2020). A one volume, practical guide for drafting effective employment contracts; discusses legal implication of restrictive covenants, employee raiding, ownership of invention, change of control and severance agreements, and many other legal issues. This looseleaf also includes forms and checklists.

Dealing With Problem Employees. 5th ed.  Lisa Guerin (Nolo, 2019). A practical guide for employers covering specific kinds of problems and presenting techniques to address them.

Employee Medical Leave Benefits and Disabilities Laws.  David G. Evans.  (West Group, 1999- ). This is a two-volume set that provides coverage of all state disability discrimination laws and state family and medical leave, pregnancy, and parental leave law and regulations.  The guide also includes information about cafeteria plans, flexible spending accounts, medical spending accounts, and other programs.

Employment Law, 4th ed.  Mark A. Rothstein, et al. (West Group, 2004- ). This is a two-volume treatise aimed at practitioners covering the basic rules, principles and issues relating to employment law.  It includes extensive footnotes referencing cases, statutes, regulations, and other secondary sources.  Volume 2 also includes a detailed appendix on how to search various issues in employment law, as well as a table of the statutes and cases covered and where they are referenced in the treatise.

Employment Law in a Nutshell, 4th ed.  Robert N. Covington, Joseph A. Seiner (West Academic Publishing, 2017). This is part of the “Nutshell” series and is meant as an introduction to employment law.  In discussing employment law topics, Employment Law in a Nutshell identifies various federal laws regarding employment.  

Employment Law Stories. Edited by Samuel Estreicher & Gillian Lester (Foundation Press Thomson/West, 2007). Each chapter provides in-depth discussion of a major employment law case.

Federal Employment Litigation. Gerald Rosen, et al. (Rutter Group, 2006- ). This two volume practice guide has twelve chapters, including information on litigating employment discrimination claims, with more in-depth information on age discrimination, disability discrimination, and harassment; also includes chapters on wages and hours, leaves of absence, workplace safety, and layoffs and plant closings.

Unjust Dismissal.  Lex K. Larson & Susan G. Daniels.  (Matthew Bender, 2013- ). This is a three volume set that reviews the laws potentially implicated by the wrongful termination of employment.  Contractual, tort and statutory theories of unjust dismissal are analyzed. 

Your Rights in the Workplace. 9th ed.  Barbara Repa (Nolo, 2018). A general overview of workplace rights for employees by the popular self-help publisher.

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.