Access to Databases

UCLA Library databases are marked with  on the lists of databases and are accessible to:

• Anyone who is on campus and using any campus wifi network, including:
  • eduroam: A private, encrypted network that requires you to log in with a UCLA username (in the format jbruin@ucla.edu) and password. Recommended for UCLA students, faculty, and staff.
  • UCLA_WEB: A public network that does not require a log in. Recommended for visitors. 
• UCLA students, faculty, and staff who are off campus and using the UCLA VPN or UCLA Law VPN.
• UCLA students, faculty, staff, and authorized visitors who are on campus and using UCLA desktop computers.

UCLA Law Library databases are marked with  on the lists of database and are accessible to:

• UCLA Law students, faculty, and staff who are using any campus wifi network and connected to the UCLA Law VPN. (Please note that the UCLA Law VPN is required to access UCLA Law Library () databases, even when on the campus wifi.)
• UCLA Law students, faculty, and staff who are off campus and using the UCLA Law VPN.
• UCLA students, faculty, staff, and authorized visitors who are at the law school and using UCLA Law desktop computers.

Please note that some UCLA Law Library () databases (such as Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law) require individual registration and are only available to current UCLA Law students, faculty, and staff.

For additional details on database access by patron type, please see this guide's pages on database access for: