Access to Databases

UCLA Law students, faculty, and staff can access UCLA Library () databases:

• On campus, while connected to any UCLA wifi network, including:
  • eduroam: A private, encrypted network that requires you to log in with a UCLA username (in the format jbruin@ucla.edu) and password. Recommended for UCLA students, faculty, and staff.
  • UCLA_WEB: A public network that does not require a log in. Can be used as a backup option if you are having trouble logging in to eduroam. 
• On campus, using computers in any UCLA office, classroom, computer lab, or library. 
• Off campus, with the UCLA Law VPN enabled. 

Please see below for instructions on enabling the UCLA Law VPN:

UCLA Law students, faculty, and staff can access UCLA Law Library () databases:

• On campus, while connected to any UCLA wifi network, with the UCLA Law VPN enabled. Because anyone on campus can join UCLA wifi, you must have the UCLA Law VPN enabled to access UCLA Law Library () databases when using UCLA wifi. 
• At the law school, using computers in any law school office, any law school classroom, or in the law library.
• Off campus, with the UCLA Law VPN enabled.

Please see below for instructions on enabling the UCLA Law VPN:

If you are a current UCLA Law student, faculty member, or staff member who is having trouble accessing UCLA Law Library () databases, the most common issues are:

• Not turning on the UCLA Law VPN when using campus wifi. Even if you are on campus and using UCLA wifi, you must turn on the UCLA Law VPN to access UCLA Law Library () databases.
• You are using the UCLA VPN (ssl.vpn.ucla.edu), rather than the UCLA Law VPN (law.ssl.vpn.ucla.edu). The UCLA Law IT department can help you confirm that your VPN is configured correctly. 
• There is an error on the database's end. Email lawpatrons@law.ucla.edu to report the error and we will work to fix it. If possible, we will suggest workarounds and alternative options to use until the database is fixed. 

If you are having trouble accessing UCLA Law Library () databases using the VPN, one alternative option is to access them from a UCLA Law desktop computer.

The UCLA Law Library has desktop computers for UCLA Law student, faculty, and staff use on the first floor of the law library, next to the IT office and in the reference reading room. Please don't hesitate to ask a staff member for help if you are having trouble locating them. 

Additionally, classroom computers and desktop computers in faculty and staff offices all provide automatic access to UCLA Law Library () databases. 

Some UCLA Law Library () databases (such as Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law) require individual registration. 

Please click the link below for a list of all databases that require individual registration, with registration instructions: