LibGuides: Arizona and National Immigration Crisis: In-Depth Research on Arizona

Important Note About Access to Databases

Be sure to read the Access to Databases Guide carefully before beginning your research.

Other Resources

Securing Arizona: What Americans Can Learn from Their Rogue State
Tom Barry, Boston Review, March/April 2011.

Arizona, Immigrants & Race: Journal Articles

Most of the articles listed below are not freely available. UCLA, like many colleges and universities, subscribes to JSTOR, Sage, EBSCO, and other articles databases.

Criminal Justice for Noncitizens: An Analysis of Variation in Local Enforcement
Ingrid Eagly, 88 NYU Law Review 1126 (2013).
Accounting for "Racism": Responses to Political Predicament in Two States
Authors: Bryon D'Andra Orey, Marvin L. Overby, Barbara J. Walkosz and Kimberly R. Walker
Source: State Politics & Policy Quarterly, Vol. 7 (Fall 2007), pp. 235-255.
more...less...
Links to the EBSCO abstract. Click on "UC eLinks" button to find an electronic or print copy.
After Pearl Harbor: Arizona's Response to the Gila River Relocation Center
Author: Samuel T. Caruso
Source: Journal of Arizona History, Vol. 14 (Winter 1973), pp. 335-346
more...less...
Links to EBSCO abstract only. Click on "UC eLinks" button to find out if we have an electronic or print copy available.
The Anti-Japanese Crusade in Arizona's Salt River Valley, 1934-35
Author: Jack August
Source: Arizona and the West, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Summer 1979), pp. 113-136
Arizona and Japanese History: The World War II Colorado River Relocation Center
Author: Thomas Fujita-Rony
Source: Journal of the Southwest, Vol. 47, No. 2 (Summer 2005), pp. 209-232
As I Kill This Chicken So May I Be Punished If I Tell An "Untruth": Chinese Opposition to Legal Discrimination in Arizona Territory
Author: Andrea Pugsley
Source: Journal of Arizona History, Vol. 44 (June 2003), pp. 171-190.
more...less...
Links to EBSCO abstract. Click on "UC eLinks" button to find a copy on campus.
Between Mendez and Brown: Gonzales v. Sheely (1951) and the Legal Campaign Against Segregation
Authors: Jeanne M. Powers & Lirio Patton
Source: Law & Social Inquiry, Vol. 33 (Winter 2008), pp. 127-171
Chinese Americans in the Tucson Community
Author: Wensheng Wang
Source: Chinese Studies in History, Vol. 34 (Spring 2001), pp. 82-97
Continuity Amidst Change: Undocumented Mexican Migration to Arizona
Author: John P. Harner
Source: Professional Geographer, Vol. 47 (Nov. 1995), pp. 399-412.
"Creative Conflict": Lincoln and Eleanor Ragsdale, Collaboration, and Community Activism in Phoenix, 1853-1965
Author: Matthew C. Whitaker
Source: The Western Historical Quarterly, Vol. 34, No. 2 (Summer 2003), pp. 165-190
Cultural-Historical Continuity Between Sonora and Arizona
Author: John P. Harner
Source: Journal of Cultural Geography, Vol. 15 (Feb. 1995), pp. 17-33
more...less...
Click on "Linked Full Text" to view the article.
The Educational Outcomes of Hispanics and Non-Hispanics in Arizona: Implications for National and State Policy Makers
Authors: Arturo Gonzales & Adela de la Torre
Source: Educational Policy, Vol. 16 (May 2002), pp. 288-311
Exploring the Defeat of Arizona's Marriage Amendment and the Specter of the Immigrant as Queer
Author: Karma R. Chávez
Source: Southern Communication Journal, Vol. 74 (July 2009), pp. 314-324
Fatal Footsteps: Murder of Undocumented Border Crossers in Maricopy County, Arizona
Author: Laura C. Fulginiti
Source: Journal of Forensic Sciences, Vol. 53 (Jan. 2008), pp. 41-45.
Illegal Migration from Mexico to the United States: A Longitudinal Analysis
Author: Parker Frisbie
Source: Int'l Migration Review, Vol. 9 (Spring 1975), pp. 3-13.
Immigration Policing Through the Backdoor: City Ordinances, the "Right to the City," and the Exclusion of Undocumented Day Laborers
Author: Monica W. Varsanyi
Source: Urban Geography, Vol. 29, (Jan-Feb 2008), pp. 29-52.
Implementation of Congressional Intent: A Study of Amnesty Policy and the Immigration and . . .
Authors: William Arp III & Sherrie L. Baver
Source: International Migration, Vol. 32 (1994), pp. 425-445.
more...less...
Click on link to view EBSCO abstract. Use the "Linked Full Text" link or the "UC eLink" buttom to find the full text.
Is Public Discourse About Language Policy Really Public Discourse About Immigration? A Corpus-Based Study
Author: Shannon Fitzsimmons-Doolan
Source: Lanuage Policy, Vol. 8 (Nov. 2009), pp. 377-402.
Issues of Production vs. Reproduction/Maintenance Revisited: Toward an Understanding of Arizona's Immigration Policies
Author: Tamar Diana Wilson
Source: Anthropological Quarterly, Vol. 81 (Summer 2008), pp. 713-718
Language Policy and the Drawing of Social Boundaries: Public and Private Schools in Territorial Tucson
Author: Elise M. DuBord
Source: Spanish in Context, Vol. 7 (2010), pp. 25-45
Latino Immigrants' Perceptions of Crime and Police Authorities in the United States: A Case Study from the Phoenix Metropolitan Area
Authors: Cecilia Menjívar & Cynthia Bejarano
Source: Ethnic and Racial Studies, Vol. 27 (Jan. 2004), pp. 120-148.
"The Men Have Become Organizers": Labor Conflict and Unionization in the Mexican Mining Communities of Arizona, 1900-1915
Author: Phil Mellinger
Source: The Western Historical Quarterly, Vol. 23, No. 3 (August 1992), pp. 323-347
Minutemen and Desert Samaritans: Mapping the Attitudes of Activists on the United States' Immigration Front Lines
Authors: Luis Cabrera & Sonya Glavac
Source: Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, Vol. 36 (2010), pp. 673-695.
Murderers All: The Treatment of Indian Defendants in Arizona Territory, 1880-1912
Author: Clare V. McKanna Jr.
Source: American Indian Quarterly, Vol. 17 (Summer 1993), pp. 359-370.
more...less...
The full text is linked on the EBSCO record.
The Oral History of the Mexican American Community of Douglas, Arizona, 1901-1942
Author: Josiah Heyman
Source: Journal of the Southwest, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Summer 1993), pp. 186-206
Performing Exclusion and Resistance: Anti-Chinese League and Chee Kung Tong Parades in Territorial Arizona
Author: Floyd Cheung
Source: The Drama Review, Vol. 46, No. 1 (Spring 2002), pp. 39-59
The Phoenix Indian School Band, 1894-1930
Authors: Greg Handel & Jere Humphreys
Source: Journal of Historical Research in Music Education, Vol. 26, No. 2 (April 2005), pp. 144-161
Protecting the "White Citizen Worker": Race, Labor, and Citizenship in South-Central Arizona, 1929-1945
Author: Eric V. Meeks
Source: Journal of the Southwest, Vol. 48, No. 1 (Spring 2006), pp. 91-113
Racial Integration in the Public Schools of Arizona, Kansas and New Mexico
Author: Ellis O. Knox
Source: The Journal of Negro Education, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Summer 1954), pp. 290-295
The Rise of the Black Phoenix: African-American Migration, Settlement and Community Development in Maricopa County, Arizona 1868-1930
Author: Matthew C. Whitaker
Source: The Journal of Negro History, Vol. 85, No. 3 (Summer 2000), pp. 197-209
Seeking Sunbelt Freedom: African Americans in the Urban Southwest, 1865-1970
Author: Quintard Taylor
Source: Magazine of History, Vol. 18, No. 1 (October 2003), pp. 17-20
Separate but Equal? A Case Study of "Romo v. Laird" and Mexican American Education
Author: Laura K. Muñoz
Source: Magazine of History, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Winter 2001), pp. 28-35
Sojourners and Settlers: The Chinese Experience in Arizona
Author: Lawrence M. Fong
Source: Journal of Arizona History, Vol. 21 (Fall 1980), pp. 227-256
A Surprising Amount of Justice: The Experience of Mexican and Racial Minority Defendants Charged with Serious Crimes in Arizona, 1856-1920
Author: Paul T. Hietter
Source: Pacific Historical Review, Vol. 70 (May 2001), pp. 183-219.
more...less...
The link takes you to the EBSCO abstract. For subscribers, click on the "Linked Full Text" link to view the full text.
"This Is Not Right": Rural Arizona Women Challenge Segregation and Ethnic Division, 1925-1950
Author: Mary Melcher
Source: Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies, Vol. 20, No. 2 (1999), pp. 190-214
Understanding the Black Box of Gang Organization: Implications for Involvement in Violent Crime, Drug Sales, and Violent Victimization
Authors: Scott H. Decker, Charles M. Katz and Vincent J. Webb
Source: Crime Delinquency, Vol. 54 (2008), pp. 153-172
Undocumented Mexican Migration: In Search of a Just Immigration Law & Policy
Author: Gerald P. López
Source: 28 UCLA L. Rev. 615 (1980-1981)
Unpacking Longings to Return: Guatamalans and Salvadorans in Phoenix, Arizona
Authors: Michelle Moran-Taylor & Cecilia Mejívar
Source: International Migration, Vol. 43 (2005), pp. 91-119
A Wink and a Nod: Notes from the Arizona Borderlands
Author: Linda Green
Source: Dialectical Anthropology, Vol. 32 (2008), pp. 161-167

Books

The following books are owned by the UCLA Libraries. It is not a comprehensive list. For information on the libraries, see the UCLA Libraries page (links to College Library, the Law Library, the Research Library (YRL), and the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF) for library locations and hours. Visit the "Using the Library" page for borrowing information.