LibGuides: Arizona and National Immigration Crisis: Nationwide Immigrant Rights Organizations

List of Organizations Included

ACLU Immigrants' Rights
Advocates for Human Rights
American Friends Service Committee
American Immigration Council
American Immigration Lawyers Association
Arizona Coalition for Migrant Rights
Arizona Interfaith Network
Asian Americans Advancing Justice - LA
Black Alliance for Just Immigration
Border Action Network
CLINIC, Catholic Legal Immigration Network
Detention Watch Network
Equal Justice Society
Immigration Advocates Network
Immigrant Defense Project
Immigrant Legal Resource Center
Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service
MALDEF
Migration Information Source
National Immigrant Justice Center
National Immigration Law Center
National Immigration Project of the NLG
Race Forward: The Center for Racial Justice Innovation

ACLU Immigrants' Rights

ACLU's Immigrants' Rights Project
Founded in 1987, the ACLU Immigrants' Rights Project is dedicated to expanding and enforcing the civil liberties and civil rights of non-citizens and to combating public and private discrimination against immigrants. Includes information on relevant cases, news, blogs, legal documents, multimedia, and more.
About ACLU's Immigrant's Rights
Immigration Myths & Facts
January 2008. May download a PDF version of this publication.
Issue Brief: Prolonged Immigration Detention of Individuals Who Are Challenging Removal
July 1, 2009. May download a PDF copy (105.41KB).

The Advocates for Human Rights

The Advocates for Human Rights
"The mission of The Advocates for Human Rights is to implement international human rights standards to promote civil society and reinforce the rule of law. By involving volunteers in research, education, and advocacy, we build broad constituencies in the United States and select global communities."
Refugee and Immigrant Rights
Located on the Advocates for Human Rights Website.

American Friends Service Committee

American Friends Service Committee
The American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) is a Quaker organization that includes people of various faiths who are committed to social justice, peace and humanitarian service. Our work is based on the principles of the Religious Society of Friends, the belief in the worth of every person, and faith in the power of love to overcome violence and injustice
Immigrant Rights
Cambridge Project Voice
Project Voice's purpose is to strengthen the voices of immigrant-led organizations in setting the national agenda for immigration policy and immigrants' rights, in order to foster a fuller integration of immigrants and refugees in their new communities.

American Immigration Council

American Immigration Council
The mission of the American Immigration Council is to strengthen America by honoring our immigrant history and shaping how Americans think and act towards immigration now and in the future.
American Immigration Council
American Immigration Council - Topics
American Immigration Council
The New American Electorate: The Growing Political Power of Immigrants and Their Children
American Immigration Council, Special Report, Oct. 2010 [25 page PDF]

American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA)

American Immigration Lawyers Association
Senators Menendez and Leahy Introduce the Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2010 (S. 3932)
AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 10093066 (posted Sep. 30, 2010). Includes full text of the bill, a 73-page section-by-section summary of the bill, AILA's 16-page summary of the bill, and a short 3-page bullet point summary of the bill.

Arizona Coalition for Migrant Rights

Arizona Coalition for Migrant Rights
"The Arizona Coalition for Migrant Rights is an effort by local organizations and advocates to come together in an inclusive and diverse network from across the state to work pro-actively to change the social/political climate of immigration in Arizona and to stop the anti-immigrant tide. Adopting the term migrant from the United Nations to reflect global patterns of migration, we have come together to pool our collective skills and experience to develop shared analysis and plans of action; to advocate for justice and raise awareness of migrants and refugees; to increase communication and information sharing across the state; and to organize and educate to promote justice and positive change." (from About Us).
ACMR Resource Guide
A searchable directory of organizations "to help facilitate communication between organizations across the state working on or concerned with the rights of immigrants, refugees and asylum seekers and to help community members identify local organizations to turn to, either for help or as volunteers."
Arizona Immigrant Rights & Arizona Immigration Reform News
From Google News

Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Los Angeles

Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Los Angeles
Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Los Angeles (Advancing Justice - LA) is the nation’s largest legal and civil rights organization for Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders (NHPI).

Founded in 1983 as the Asian Pacific American Legal Center, Advancing Justice - LA serves more than 15,000 individuals and organizations every year. Through direct services, impact litigation, policy advocacy, leadership development, and capacity building, Advancing Justice - LA focuses on the most vulnerable members of Asian American and NHPI communities while also building a strong voice for civil rights and social justice.

Black Alliance for Just Immigration

Black Alliance for Just Immigration
The mission of the Black Alliance for Just Immigration is to engage African Americans and other communities in a dialog that leads to actions that challenge U.S. immigration policy and the underlying issues of race, racism and economic inequity that frame it.
About BAJI
Crossing Boundaries, Connecting Communities: Alliance Building for Immigrant Rights and Racial Justice
This new report includes detailed case studies of 16 organizations from across the country that are forging effective cross racial alliances between immigrant and native-born communities in order to build power and win just policies and practices in their communities.

Border Action Network

Border Action Network
Formed in 1999, Border Action Network works with immigrant and border communities in Arizona. Their mission is "to ensure that our rights are respected, our human dignity upheld and that our communities are healthy places to live." They are a membership-based organization that combines grassroots community organizing, leadership development, litigation and policy advocacy.

Reports & Publications:

Accountability, Community Security and Infrastructure on the U.S.-Mexico Border: Policy Priorities for 2009-2010

Arizona's Legislative Scorecards:

2007 Arizona Legislative Scorecard

2007 Arizona State Legislative Scorecard

Arizona's Human Rights Record: 2008 Legislative Scorecard

Arizona's Human Rights Record: 2008 Legislative Scorecard

Abuse Documentation Reports:

Human and Civil Rights Violations Uncovered: A Report from the Arizona/Sonora Border - 2006

Human and Civil Rights VIolations Uncovered: A Report from the Arizona/Sonora Border, 2006

Human and Civil Rights Violations Uncovered: a Report from the Arizona/Sonora Border - 2007

Human and Civil Rights Violations Uncovered: A Report from the Arizona/Sonora Border, 2007

Human and Civil Rights Violations Uncovered: A Report from the Arizona/Sonora Border - 2008

Human and Civil Rights Violations Uncovered: A Report from the Arizona/Sonora Border, 2008

CLINIC, Catholic Legal Immigration Network

CLINIC, Catholic Legal Immigration Network
CLINIC's mission is to enhance and expand delivery of legal services to indigent and low-income immigrants principally through diocesan immigration programs and to meet the immigration needs identified by the Catholic Church in the United States.
Catholic Immigration Network - Advocacy
Catholic Immigration Network, Inc. - Training and Legal Support
A More Perfect Union: A National Citizenship Plan

Detention Watch Network

Detention Watch Network
Detention Watch Network (DWN) is a national coalition of organizations and individuals that works to reform the U.S. detention and deportation system. DWN was founded in 1997 by the Catholic Legal Immigration Network, Inc., the Florence Immigration and Refugee Project and Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service in response to the rapid growth of the immigration detention system in the U.S., as a result of the immigration laws passed by Congress in 1996.
Reports & Other Publications

Equal Justice Society

Equal Justice Society
The Equal Justice Society is a national strategy group heightening consciousness on race in the law and popular discourse. Using a three-prong strategy of law and public policy advocacy, cross-disciplinary convenings and strategic public communications, EJS seeks to restore race equity issues to the national consciousness, build effective progressive alliances, and advance the discourse on the positive role of government.
Immigration posts (Equal Justice Society)

Full-Text Documents & Reports

Deportation Without Due Process
Jennifer Lee Koh, Jayashri Srikantiah, and Karen C. Tumlin (Sept. 2011)
Detention in Isolation
National Immigrant Justice Center, Sept. 2010.
Jailed Without Justice: Immigration Detention in the USA
Amnesty International USA, 2009
U.S. Detention Seekers: Seeking Protections, Finding Prison
Human Rights First, 2009.
Detention and Deportation in the Age of ICE: Immigrants and Human Rights in Massachusetts
ACLU of Massachusetts, 2008.
Uncover the Truth Behind ICE and Police Collaboration: Teach-in Toolkit
Organizing a Community Response to Raids
Open Letter to President Obama to End Merger of Criminal Justice & Immigration Systems (August 2010)
Signed by the National Immigration Law Center, Partnership for Safety and Justice, Rights Working Group, Sentencing Project, and VOTE Nola. [4 page PDF]
Facing Race: 2009 Legislative Report on Racial Equality (California)
Applied Research Center, 2009. [27 page PDF]
Failure of Immigration Enforcement flyer
2 page PDF.

Immigration Advocates Network (IAN)

Immigration Advocates Network
The mission of the Immigration Advocates Network "is to enhance and unify the work of the nation's immigrants' rights organizations by providing an online resource and communication site to support joint work. Our goal is to enable each organization to serve its members while simultaneously strengthening the immigrants' rights movement as a whole." (from About page, linked at the top of the screen)

Immigrant Defense Project

Immigrant Defense Project
The Immigrant Defense Project (IDP), formerly an initiative of the New York State Defenders Association, defends the legal, constitutional and human rights of immigrants facing criminal or deportation charges.

Immigrant Legal Resource Center

Immigrant Legal Resource Center
The Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights. The mission of the ILRC is to work with and educate immigrants, community organizations, and the legal sector to continue to build a democratic society that values diversity and the rights of all people.
ILRC Books & Trainings
Information on Immigration Law
ILRC Community Resources
Know Your Rights, Community Resources for Immigrants, etc.
Red Cards
Criminal & Immigration Law: Defending Immigrants' Rights
Scroll to the bottom of the page for links to free resources.
Citizenship & Naturalization
Scroll to the bottom of the page for links to free resources.

Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service

Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service
"For over 70 years, Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service has led a ministry of welcome to some of America’s most vulnerable newcomers. We express this ministry in our mission statement and live out our mission in the bold hope that our vision will become reality and the values we hold most dear will be embraced by all."
Locking Up Family Values: The Detention of Immigrant Families

MALDEF

Mexican American Legal Defense & Educational Fund (MALDEF)
Founded in 1968, MALDEF is the nation’s leading Latino legal civil rights organization. Often described as the “law firm of the Latino community”, MALDEF promotes social change through advocacy, communications, community education, and litigation in the areas of education, employment, immigrant rights, and political access.
MALDEF's Immigrants' Rights
Sections include Litigation, Public Policy, and Truth in Immigration.
Anti-Immigrant State Legislation and Ordinances
Links to Tool kits [PDFs] at the bottom of the page.
MALDEF Litigation
Includes links to Vicente v. Barnett, Melendres v. Sheriff Joseph Arpaio, Multi-Ethnic Immigrant Workers v. City of Los Angeles, California, and many more.

Migration Information Source

Migration Information Source - The Online Journal of the Migration Policy Institute
The Migration Information Source provides fresh thought, authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. A unique, online resource, the Source offers useful tools, vital data, and essential facts on the movement of people worldwide.
United States Resources page
Federal Judge Blocks Key Provisions of Arizona Law, Setting Stage for Long Legal Battle
Muzaffar Chishti and Claire Bergeron, Migration Policy Institute, Aug. 16, 2010.
Focus Remains on Arizona as Justice Department Files Lawsuit against SB 1070
Muzaffar Chishti and Claire Bergeron, Migration Policy Institute, July 15, 2010.
Political Considerations Surround Decision to Deploy National Guard to Southwest Border
Muzaffar Chishti and Claire Bergeron, Migration Policy Institute, June 15, 2010.
New Arizona Law Engulfs Immigration Debate
Muzaffar Chishti and Claire Bergeron, Migration Policy Institute, May 17, 2010.
Arrested on Entry: Operation Streamline and the Prosecution of Immigration Crimes
Donald Kerwin and Kristen McCabe, Migration Policy Institute, April 2010.
Research Publications
Download full-text PDF reports from this page. Subject areas include: European Migration, Immigration Integration, Migration and Development, Refugee Protection, and United States Immigration (links at the top).
Still an Hourglass? Immigrant Workers in Middle-Skilled Jobs
Randy Capps, Michael Fix and Serena Yi Ying-Lin, Migration Policy Institute, September 2010. Links to Press Release. Scroll to bottom for links to Report in Brief and the full report [PDF].

National Immigrant Justice Center

National Immigrant Justice Center
Heartland Alliance's National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC) is dedicated to ensuring human rights protections and access to justice for all immigrants, refugees and asylum seekers. NIJC provides direct legal services to and advocates for these populations through policy reform, impact litigation, and public education.
Attorney Resources
Must register for full access.
Immigrant Resources
Asylum resources, detainee resources, basic immigration tips, glossary of terms, and more. NIJC also has consultation hours.
News & Research
NIJC's policy advocacy and public education efforts build bridges among immigrant rights supporters. Our research and reporting strengthens policy makers and advocates’ capacity to monitor current policies, expose violations of human and constitutional rights, and present viable recommendations to the White House, members of Congress, the Department of Justice, the Department of Homeland Security and international human rights bodies.
Isolated in Detention: Limited Access to Legal Counsel in Immigration Detention Facilities Jeopardizes a Fair Day in Court
Brief summary of the 48-page report. Provides link to download full report.

National Immigration Law Center (NILC)

National Immigration Law Center
The mission of the National Immigration Law Center (NILC) is to defend and advance the rights and opportunities of low-income immigrants and their family members.

Includes sections on Immigration Law & Policy, Employment Issues, Public Benefits, Drivers' Licenses, and the Dream Act.
Immigration Reform & Executive Actions
Includes Comprehensive Immigration Reform, DREAM Act, and Victims of Trafficking and U-Visas.
Immigration Enforcement
Includes Federal Enforcement, State & Local Enforcement, Arrest & Detention, and Resources for Advocates.
Overview of the Key ICE ACCESS Programs: 287(g), the Criminal Alien Program, and Secure Communities
Melissa Keaney & Joan Friedland, National Immigration Policy Center, November 2009.

National Immigration Project of the NLG

National Immigration Project
The National Immigration Project is a national non-profit organization that provides legal assistance and technical support to immigrant communities, legal practitioners, and all advocates seeking to advance the rights of noncitizens.
Newsroom
Practice Advisories
Community Resources
Work with Us
Internships, Fellowships and Employment

Race Forward: The Center for Racial Justice Innovation

Race Forward
Race Forward (formerly the Applied Research Center) advances racial justice through research, media and practice. Founded in 1981, Race Forward brings systemic analysis and an innovative approach to complex race issues to help people take effective action toward racial equity. Race Forward publishes the daily news site Colorlines and presents Facing Race, the country’s largest multiracial conference on racial justice.