Skip to Main Content

First Year Law Student Guide: Study Aids by 1L Subject

This guide provides resources to help new UCLA law students get started with Law School and become more familiar with the Law Library, UCLA and Westwood.
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/firstyearguide

West Academic Study Aids

The Law Library has a subscription to West Academic Study Aids, an online database which provides unlimited access to over 500 law school study aids/supplements. Case studies, hornbooks, exam outlines and audio lectures are included.  Note: This database available to the UCLA Law School community only.

Aspen Learning Library Study Aids Package

Aspen Learning Library (formerly Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library) contains all 38 titles of the popular Examples & Explanations Series. It also contains many other  study aids and outlines, such a Emanuel's, Glannon Guides, Casenote Legal Briefs, Academic Success series, Inside Series, and more. It also offers over 200 videos with coverage of 21 course areas. Each video covering a fundamental legal concept is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner

Table of Contents

Below you will find a list of study aids (supplements) for first year courses.  For a list of study aids on all topics, please visit the Law School Study Aids / Supplements Guide.

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

  1. Civil Procedure
  2. Constitutional Law
  3. Contracts
  4. Criminal Law
  5. Property
  6. Torts

Civil Procedure

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Constitutional Law

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Contracts

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Criminal Law

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Property Law

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Torts

All titles below are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

LexisNexis BARBRI Outlines

CALI Lessons

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction offers online tutorials on legal research, legal writing, all substantive topic covered in this guide and more. Most lessons are an hour or less. To get a student authorization code to set up a CALI account, visit the Lexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg & More page on MyLaw or mail lawlibrary@law.ucla.edu.

LexisNexis Courtroom Cast: Powered by Courtroom View Network

The Library has purchased a subscription for your use to LexisNexis Courtroom Cast from Courtroom View Network, which provides MP3 audio versions of over 1,000 cases, many of which are in your assigned casebooks. It also provides thousands of hours of trial video from hundreds of cases.

You can view the videos online, and you can either listen to the audio files on your computer or download them to an iPod or other MP3 player. The audio case database includes cases from the casebooks of our own Professor Yeazell (Civil Procedure) and Professor Grady (Torts), among others.

Register today at LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Sign up 

Step 1: Select University of California at Los Angeles from the dropdown list
Step 2: Complete the form (be sure to use your law school email address) 
Step 3: Check "I agree to the terms of Service"
Step 4: Click Sign Up.

You will then receive a verification email. Click the link to complete registration.

Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, UCLA School of Law, 385 Charles E. Young Drive East, 1112 Law Building, Los Angeles, California 90095

© The Regents of the University of California. UCLA School of Law. All Rights Reserved.