Skip to Main Content

First Year Law Student Guide: Legal Writing & Citation

This guide provides resources to help new UCLA law students get started with Law School and become more familiar with the Law Library, UCLA and Westwood.

URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/firstyearguide

Legal Writing

All titles are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

See Also: West Academic Study Aids Legal Writing Titles
Online Resources for the UCLA Law Community. Visit the West Academic Study Aids Subscription Box for access details.

Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell by Lynn Bahrych; Lauren Sancken
Call Number: KF250 .B34 2025 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 9798892097116

Publication Date: 2025-07-29
The Legal Scholar's Guidebook by Elizabeth E. Berenguer
Call Number: KF250 .B47 2020

ISBN: 9781543813050

Publication Date: 2020-02-03
Effective Legal Writing for Law Students and Lawyers by Gertrude Block
Call Number: KF250 .B56 1999

ISBN: 1566627931
Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers: A Practical Reference by Deborah E. Bouchoux
Call Number: KF250 .B68 2009

ISBN: 0735568561
The Lawyer's Essential Guide to Writing by Marie P. Buckley; Ilissa K. Povich
Call Number: KF250 .B83 2011

ISBN: 1616329653
Legal Method and Writing by Charles R. Calleros
Call Number: KF250 .C35 2011

ISBN: 0735585121
Clear and Effective Legal Writing by Veda Charrow, et al.
Call Number: KF250 .C43 2007

ISBN: 0735552290
The Complete Legal Writer by Alexa Z. Chew; Katie Rose Guest Pryal
Call Number: KF250 .C46 2016

ISBN: 1611638127

Publication Date: 2016-01-06
Just Writing: Grammar, Punctuation, and Style for the Legal Writer by Anne Enquist and Laurel Currie Oates
Call Number: KF250 .E57 2005 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 0735549559
Scholarly Writing for Law Students: seminar papers, law review notes, and law review competition papers by Elizabeth Fajans; Mary Falk
Call Number: KF250 .F35 2017 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 9781683282075

Publication Date: 2017-03-24
The Lawyer's Guide to Writing Well by Tom Goldstein; Jethro K. Lieberman
Call Number: KF250 .G65 2016

ISBN: 0520288432

Publication Date: 2016-01-08
Legal Writing in Plain English, Second Edition by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF250 .G373 2013

ISBN: 0226283933

Publication Date: 2013-08-26
Legal Drafting in a Nutshell by George Kuney; Donna Looper
Call Number: KF250 .H343 2021

ISBN: 1684675286

Publication Date: 2020-12-21
Legal Writing (Examples & Explanations Series) by Terrill Pollman; Judith M. Stinson; Elizabeth Pollman
Call Number: KF250 .L398 2019

ISBN: 145489122X

Publication Date: 2019-02-25
Objective Legal Writing and Analysis by Michael D. Murray & Christy Hallam DeSanctis
Call Number: KF250 .M87 2006a

ISBN: 1587789760
Adversarial Legal Writing and Oral Argument by Michael D. Murray & Christy Hallam DeSanctis
Call Number: KF250 .M88 2006

ISBN: 1587788993
Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing by Ellie Margolis; Kathryn M. Stanchi; Richard K. Neumann
Call Number: KF250 .N48 2021 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 9781543810851

Publication Date: 2021-02-23
The Legal Writing Handbook: Analysis, Research, and Writing by Laurel Currie Oates, et al.
Call Number: KF250 .O18 2002

ISBN: 0735524874
Legal writing: getting it right and getting it written by Mary Barnard Ray and Jill J. Ramsfield
Call Number: KF250 .R39 2010

ISBN: 0314262776
Legal Literacy and Communication skills: working with law and lawyers by Jennifer Murphy Romig; Mark Edwin Burge
Call Number: KF250 .R66 2020 (Location: Reserve & online)

ISBN: 9781531012618

Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Legal Writing by Design: a guide to great briefs and memos by Teresa J. Reid Rambo; Leanne J. Pflaum
Call Number: KF250 .R355 2013

ISBN: 1594608598

Publication Date: 2013-07-23
Writing and Analysis in the Law by Helene S. Shapo, et al.
Call Number: KF250 .S5 2008 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1599414244
Legal writing and other lawyering skills by Nancy L. Schultz, Louis J. Sirico, Jr.
Call Number: KF250 .S38 2010

ISBN: 0735594023
Academic Legal Writing: law review articles, student notes, seminar papers, and getting on law review by Eugene Volokh
Call Number: KF250 .V65 2016 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1634598881

Publication Date: 2016-02-22
Plain English for Lawyers by Richard C. Wydick; Amy E. Sloan
Call Number: KF250 .W9 2019 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 153100699X

Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Legal Reasoning, Writing, and Persuasive Argument by Robin Wellford
Call Number: KF250 .W436 2006

ISBN: 0820564753

Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Effective Lawyering: a checklist approach to legal writing and oral argument by Austen L. Parrish; Dennis T. Yokoyama
Call Number: KF250 P38 2012

ISBN: 1611630126

Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Winning Brief: 100 Tips for Persuasive Briefing in Trial and the Appellate Courts by Bryan Garner
Call Number: KF251 .G37 2014 (Location: Reference Reading Room)

ISBN: 0199378355

Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Point Made: how to write like the nation's top advocates by Ross Guberman
Call Number: KF251 .G83 2014 (Location: Reserves)

ISBN: 0199943850

Publication Date: 2014-04-04
Just Briefs by Laurel Currie Oates; Anne Enquist; Connie Krontz
Call Number: KF251 .O18 2013 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1454805544

Publication Date: 2013-01-10
Introduction to Advocacy: research, writing, and argument by The Board of Student Advisors, Harvard Law School
Call Number: KF281 .A2 I54 2013 (Location: Reserves)

ISBN: 1609303083

Publication Date: 2013-06-10
Writing Essay Exams to Succeed in Law School (not just to survive) by John C. Dernbach
Call Number: KF283 .D47 2014

ISBN: 1454841621

Publication Date: 2014-04-02
Persuasion: getting to the other side by Joseph William Singer
Call Number: KF380 .S54 2020

ISBN: 9781531012250

Publication Date: 2019-11-04
A Short and Happy Guide to Legal Writing by Deborah L. Borman
Call Number: Online Resource through West Study Aids Package (Law School Only)

ISBN: 1634599187

Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Legal Writing Handbook for Clinical Students by Nan L. Haynes
Call Number: Online Resource available through CALI

Publication Date: 2023

Online Citation Help

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (CALI-eLangdell) by Peter W. Martin
Now also available for Kindle, iPad and other devices.
Cite Checking Resources LibGuide

Legal Citation & Legal Style/Usage

All titles are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Black's Law Dictionary by A. Bryan Garner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: KF156 .B53 2014 (Location: Reference, Reserve & Main Reading Room)

ISBN: 0314613005

Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Lay Words for Lawyers by William Drennan
Call Number: KF156 .D74 2015

ISBN: 1627229175

Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Garner's Dictionary of Legal Usage by Bryan Garner
Call Number: KF156 .G367 2011 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 0195384202

Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Mellinkoff's Dictionary of American Legal Usage by David Mellinkoff
Call Number: KF156 .M45 1992 (Location: Reference, Reserve & Main Reading Room)

ISBN: 0314000682
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by Merriam-Webster, Inc. Staff (Created by)
Call Number: KF156 .M47 2016

ISBN: 0877797358

Publication Date: 2016-04-01
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation by Carolyn V. Williams; Association of Legal Writing Directors Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF245 .A45 2021 (Location: Reference Desk & Reserve)

ISBN: 9781543807776

Publication Date: 2021-05-05
Understanding and Mastering the Bluebook: a guide for students and practitioners by Linda J. Barris
Call Number: KF245 .B37 2020 (Location: Reference Reading Room)

ISBN: 9781531019150

Publication Date: 2020-08-01
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
Call Number: KF245 .B58 (Location: Reserve & Reference Desk)
Cite Checker: your guide to using The Bluebook by Deborah E. Bouchoux
Call Number: KF245 .B685 2016

ISBN: 1454820527

Publication Date: 2016-01-15
User's Guide to the "Bluebook" by Alan L. Dworsky; David Tomenes
Call Number: KF245 .D85 2015 (Location: Reference Reading Room)

ISBN: 0837740177

Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Legal Citation in a Nutshell by Larry Teply
Call Number: KF245 .T47 2021 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1647087481

Publication Date: 2021-10-11
Universal Citation Guide by American Association of Law Libraries, Digital Access to Legal Information Committee Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF245 .U57 2014

ISBN: 0837739586

Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Citations by Mary Miles Prince
Call Number: KF246 .P73 2011 (Location: Reference Desk)

ISBN: 0837739101
The Grammar and Writing Handbook for Lawyers by Lenné Eidson Espenschied
Call Number: KF250 .E84 2011

ISBN: 1616328827

Publication Date: 2012-04-16
The Elements of Legal Style by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF250 .G37 2002 (Location: Reference Desk)

ISBN: 0195141628
The Redbook: A Manual on Legal Style by Bryan Garner
Call Number: KF250 .G375 2018 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1642421006

Publication Date: 2018-06-27
The Modern Rules of Style by Paul Marx
Call Number: KF250 .M37 2007

ISBN: 1590318056
Manual of Style for Contract Drafting by Kenneth A. Adams
Call Number: KF807 .A33 2013

ISBN: 1614388032

Publication Date: 2013-12-06

Law Review/Moot Court Competition

All titles are in the Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

The Legal Scholar's Guidebook by Elizabeth E. Berenguer
Call Number: KF250 .B47 2020

ISBN: 9781543813050

Publication Date: 2020-02-03
Make Law Review by Cliff Ennico
Call Number: KF250 .E56 2009 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1607144948

Publication Date: 2009-10-06
Scholarly Writing for Law Students: seminar papers, law review notes, and law review competition papers by Elizabeth Fajans; Mary Falk
Call Number: KF250 .F35 2017 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 9781683282075

Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Making law review: the expert’s guide to mastering the write-on competition by Wes Henricksen
Call Number: KF250 .H46 2008 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 1594605203
Making Law Review: a guide to the write-on competition by Wes Henricksen
Call Number: KF250 .H46 2017

ISBN: 1611636582

Publication Date: 2017-02-27
Demystifying law review : a short guide to help you make law review, succeed as a new staff editor, publish your law review comment, and secure a top editorial board position by Jarecki, John P
Call Number: KF250 .J37 2023 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 9798376579749

Publication Date: 2023
The Scribes Manual for Law Review Editors by Darby Dickerson (Editor); Brooke Bowman (Editor)
Call Number: KF272 .S27 2022

ISBN: 1531022715

Publication Date: 2022-08-01
Law School Competitions in a Nutshell by Larry L. Teply
Call Number: KF279 .T46 2003 (Location: Reserve)

ISBN: 0314256911
The Little Black Book: A Do-It-Yourself Guide for Law Student Competitions by Barbara K. Bucholtz
Call Number: KF8918 .B83 2002

ISBN: 0890895120
Championship Mock Trial by David David; Justin B. Bernstein
Call Number: KF8918 .N45 2022

ISBN: 1639050922

Publication Date: 2022-07-01

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2025 8:48 AM
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/firstyearguide
Print Page

Subjects: 1L-Related Topics, Academic Success

Tags: first_year, law_library_guide, law_school, law_students, study_aids, ucla_guide