Skip to main content

Immigration Law Research Guide: Business Immigration Law

Provides general and specialized sources for researching U.S. immigration law, including online government resources, statutes, regulations & case law, plus general and specialized secondary sources and immigration-related organizations.

Treatises & Practice Guides

NOTE: Lexis Advance and Westlaw IDs and passwords are required for the digital versions of these practice guides.

 

Business Immigration Law: Strategies for Employing Foreign Nationals, Rodney A. Malpert, Amanda Peterson & Marketa Lindt. (Law Journal Press, Lexis Advance, April 2020)
Guide for practitioners working with nonimmigrant work authorization, recruitment, specialty occupations (H-1B), intra-company transferees (L-1), and treaty-traders and investors (E-1 & E-2); includes coverage of tax issues, discrimination law problems, employer sanctions, and the interaction between nonimmigrant and immigrant statuses.
 

H-1B Handbook, Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., Careen Shannon and Daniel Montalvo. (Westlaw, 2020)
Contains rules, regulations, forms and documentation for this non-immigrant visa category.
 

Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook, Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., Careen Shannon and Daniel Montalvo. (Westlaw, 2019-2020)
An annual guide to employment authorization, government investigations and employer sanctions litigation. Includes sample forms, select statutes and regulations and opinion letters from the Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices.
 

Immigration Law and Business, Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., Alfred J. Del Rey and Sam Bernsen. (Westlaw, April 2020)
Three-volume looseleaf updated semi-annually. Designed for the corporate business practitioner. Includes discussion of labor certification process, benefits available for noncitizens and tax consequences. Includes forms and reprints of administrative reports.  Also available in print in Law Library: Immigration Law and Business (Oct. 2019)
 

Labor Certification Handbook, Austin T. Fragomen, Jr. and Steven C. Bell. (Westlaw, 2019-2020)
Published annually; includes procedural guidance on the requirements of the Department of Labor, State Employment Security Agencies, and BALCA concerning employment-related visas. Has sample forms and instructions.
 

Newsletters

Immigration Business News & Comment (West Group, 1999- ).

Semi-monthly newsletter, edited by Austin T. Fragomen Jr. and Careen Shannon. Includes coverage of immigration law developments effecting the employment status of immigrant employees in the U.S., including case law, legislative activity, and actions by USCIS.

Library: KF 4802 .I472 (Stacks)
Westlaw: IBNC (2/2001- )