Skip to main content

Immigration Law Research Guide: News, Journals & Blogs

Provides general and specialized sources for researching U.S. immigration law, including online government resources, statutes, regulations & case law, plus general and specialized secondary sources and immigration-related organizations.

News & Journals

Bender's Immigration Bulletin. (Matthew Bender, 1996- ). Published twice a month. Analysis of new cases (federal courts, BIA, BALCA, OCAHO), regulations, and legislating affecting immigration law. Includes copies of new regulations from the Federal Register, administrative documents (DHS, EOIR) and visa numbers.

Library: KF 4802 .B46
Lexis Advance: Bender's Immigration Bulletin (2007- ; select coverage back to 2000)

 

CQ Roll Call Washington Immigration Briefing. (Westlaw, 2014- ).
“Congressional Quarterly's Roll Call Washington Immigration Briefing provides up to the minute information on developments in Immigration topical areas."  Signed articles; issued daily during the week. 
 

Immigration Briefings. (Federal Publications; Westlaw, 1988- ).
Immigration Briefings provides in-depth analysis of a timely immigration law topic each month.”

 

Interpreter Releases. (Thomson Reuters/West, 1923- ).
Widely read by practitioners. Weekly publication; analyzes proposed regulations in Homeland Security, Justice, Labor and State Departments; also includes analysis of legislation, agency memoranda, decisions, policy letters related to immigration, and judicial decisions. Contains summaries of recent cases from immigration court, the BIA and federal courts.

Library: KF 4802 .I58
Westlaw: INTERREL (1987- )

 

Los Angeles Times.

Online Access: ProQuest, Recent (1986- )

 

 

New York Times.

Online Access: Proquest, Recent (2005- )

 

Westlaw Immigration Daily Briefing. (Westlaw, 2013- ),
Provides up-to-the minute information on developments in the field of immigration.

 

*Note: For general information on how to find journal articles, please see the guides "How to Find Law and Non-Legal Journal & News Articles Online" and "Using Online Resources to Find Non-Legal Journal Articles."

AILA Law Journal. (Thomson Reuters/West, 1923- ).
A publication of the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA).
 

Library: K3275.A15 A34
Online Access: AILA Law Journal (Fastcase) (2019- )

 

Georgetown Immigration Law Journal. (Georgetown Univ. Law Ctr., 1985- ).
Contains scholarly articles and brief reviews of current legislative, executive and judicial developments related to immigration.
 

Library: K 7 .E64
Online Access: Georgetown Immigration Law Journal

 

Immigration and Nationality Law Review. (William S. Hein & Co., 1976- ).
Published annually. Most of the articles are reprinted from other journals, including non-legal journals.
 

Library: K 9 .M54
Online Access: Immigration & Nationality Law Review

 

International Journal of Refugee Law. (Oxford University Press, 1989- ).
Academic journal; includes scholarly articles, opinion pieces, cases, and book reviews.
 

Library: K 9 .N839
Online Access: International Journal of Refugee Law


 

Newsbank. Provides coverage of 1500 newspapers world wide. Over 130 California papers are included, some of which are not available via Lexis or Factiva. 

 

ProQuest Newspapers.  Includes Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Wall Street Journal. Also includes the following historical newspapers: New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post, and several others.

 

Academic Search Complete: Provides full text access to thousands of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities dating back to 1856.

 

Ingenta: Comprehensive collections of 17 million multidisciplinary academic and professional research articles. Content is from 28,000 publications, including 6,100 online.

 

JSTOR: Full-text back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and ends about two to five years before the most recently published volume.

 

Social Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Knowledge): a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the scocial sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and includes a Cited Reference Lookup search.

Blogs

ImmigrationProf Blog.  As the name implies, a blog written by immigration law professors.  Includes a list of links.

AILA Blog: Think Immigration.  Written by members and staff of AILA (American Immigration Lawyers Association).