Browse by subject and scroll down to "United Kingdom." Titles include Analysis of the Laws of England by William Blackstone (1758), Fourth Part of the Institutes of the Laws of England, Concerning the Jurisdiction of Courts by Edward Coke (1797), and Pleas of the Crown in Matters of Criminal and Civil: Containing a Large Collection of Modern Precedents by John Tremaine (1793-1794). Searching: Basic, Field and Advanced. May use Boolean operators; limit by subject, title, date, and section types to search.
MOML Trials is the result of a partnership between Gale and the Harvard and Yale law libraries. This digital collection includes the well known trials of Dred Scott, Lizzie Borden, Leopold and Loeb, the impeachment of Andrew Johnson as well as lesser known cases. Comprises of thousands of books and pamphlets and includes English-language titles about trials in non-commonwealth jurisdictions such as France.
MOML Legal Treatises provides full text searching of more than 21,000 works from 19th and early 20th century British Commonwealth and American law. The collection includes casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters and speeches.
Includes selected historical legal sources from the ancient world to 21st Century, including English sources. Examples include the English Bill of Rights 1689, The History of the Common Law of England by Matthew Hale 1713, and Blackstone's Commentaries on the Laws of England.
Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London, digitized and displayed through the O'Quinn Law Library of the University of Houston Law Center.
Includes: The First Legal System (1176-1348), The Second Legal System (1348-1529), The Third Legal System (1529-1649), and The Fourth Legal System (The Commonwealth 1649-[America] 1776). Please see link under "Conceptualization" for explanation of the legal tradition and legal systems of these time periods.
Links to tutorials on reading a case, TNA Latin tutorials, downloading and navigation (on the right side of the "Palaeography" page).
"Built by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles." (from the "About Us" page)
Includes Primary Sources (e.g. the journals of the houses of Parliament), Secondary Texts, Guides and Calendars, Gazetteers and Dictionaries, and Maps.
Primary Sources include the full-text editions of the Debates of the Commons (Grey), 1667-94, in 10 volumes; Commons Journal, volumes 1-12 (1547-1699) & 85 (1830), in 13 volumes; the Records of Eyres (court records of intinerent justices) from the 13th century, in 2 volumes; and Lords Journal (the official record of the proceedings in the House), 1509-1717, 1832-4, in 23 volumes.
Searching: Full-text simple searches or browsing by region, subject, period, type of source.