English Legal Materials

Free online database of UK legislation.

(Westlaw account required)
Includes statutes currently in effect in the UK as well as rules of the Supreme Court and county court rules. Coverage begins with 1267.

This set is the official source for all Public General Acts of Parliament published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office, Britain's official publisher. It includes all acts since 1235 that have not been wholly repealed (acts that have been partially repealed or amended are included). The set is arranged by subject, with acts listed chronologically within each subject. The statutes and accompanying index are usually about two years out of date. Consult the library catalog to determine which fiche contain supplements. The "Guide and Introduction" are on Fiche no. 631. Last updated in 1982.
Library: Microfiche KD132 1972

This is a commercially published, annotated subject arrangement of current statutes. The set is organized into fifty main volumes, an annual cumulative supplement, a looseleaf update called the Noter-up Service, which updates the Cumulative Supplement, and the Current Statutes Service, which includes new acts. An annual volume, Is It In Force?, gives the commencement date of public acts passed after January 1960. Is It In Force? indicates only when a statute went into force, not whether it is currently in force.
Library: KD 135 H3 1985

Keep track of legislation current and recent legislation at Parliament.

From 1996-2011, Parliament summarized that week's actions

This is an unofficial source for the Public General Acts of Parliament. The final volume of each year contains an index and tables. The tables list acts both alphabetically and chronologically, provide derivations and destinations of consolidated acts, and show the effect of each act on earlier acts. An earlier series, Statutes at Large from the Magna Charta...(KD 130 1225 P43) (1225-1831) dates back to the Magna Carta and is shelved just after the Law Reports.

his is annotated version of the official statutes. Arranged chronologically, it includes a Chronological Table, Index of Short Titles, Statute Citator, and index. The set is updated by a Service File, which provides pamphlet versions of new acts until they are published in bound volumes.
Library:
KD 135 C8

This is the official publication of regulations, orders, and rules promulgated under authority of a statute. The set includes local governmental by-laws made under Parliamentary authority. The Law Library receives the annual 3-part bound volume. The arrangement is chronological.

Includes annotations to administrative regulations.
Library: KD 135 H3 1985