Skip to main content

China Law Research

URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/chinalaw

Research Guides

In Print:

Online:

Finding Books

There are three online catalogs that can be used to identify books and other materials on topics related to China.  The UCLA catalog shows holdings for just the UCLA campus (you can even limit your search to particular libraries on campus).  The Melvyl catalog shows holdings for all UC campuses.  WorldCat shows holdings for libraries throughout the United States (and even worldwide!).

Search Tip: Most catalogs and journal indexes will attach subject headings, index terms, or descriptors to the records in their databases.  These headings are a good way to connect to a more focused set of results on a particular topic.  You can start with a keyword search, and once you find a title that is useful, click on relevant subject headings to find additional material.

Finding Articles in Law Journals

Search Tip: Not all of these databases provide full text access to the journal articles that appear in the results.

U.S. Indexes (both contain some full text):

Chinese Law Journals

Sources on Foreign Legal Systems

The sources below are good places to find general information about non-U.S. legal systems.  The Foreign Law Guide also identifies primary sources in the vernacular and in English translation.

Finding Articles in Law-Related Journals

The indexes below cover law-related topics such as business, economics, and policy.

Asian Studies Databases