LibGuides: Free Online Legal Research: Free Legal Forms

Free Forms

Below are several websites containing legal forms for various purposes. Some of the sites contain official forms that are designed to be completed as is. Some of the sites contain sample forms/clauses to be used as a guide in helping you to draft your own document. Always use sample forms with caution and verify that the provisions are in fact compliant with the relevant law and appropriate for your situation.

California Courts - Judicial Council Forms
This page from The Judicial Branch of California's official California Courts website provides access to both the mandatory and optional forms approved by the Judicial Council of California. Forms can be browsed as well as searched by form number, title or category. All forms can be downloaded in PDF, and some may be filled out electronically in a PDF Reader. Guidance on how to use Judicial Council forms is also provided.
Los Angeles Superior Court of California - Forms, Filings, & Files
This webpage includes a link to "All Locally Approved Forms" used in the Superior Court of Los Angeles as well as links to specific categories of forms (e.g., Appellate, Civil, Criminal, Family Law, etc.). The forms on this site are available in PDF and many can be filled out electronically.
U.S. District Court for the Central District of California - Forms
Includes appeals forms, civil and criminal forms, general forms, and pro se packets. Fillable PDFs.
9th Circuit Court of Appeals Forms
Categories of forms include Motions, Briefs, Sealed Documents, Mediation, and Attorney Admission & Student Practice. Forms can be filled out electronically.
California Franchise Tax Board Forms
Includes forms for the current and previous years. May search by by form number or keyword. Can also filer by taxpayer type. Forms can be filled out electronically.
California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division
Includes forms related to business entities, the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC), trademarks & service marks, and special filings. Forms can be filled out and submitted electronically.
FindLaw - Corporate Counsel - Contracts
This site "provides free access to a large archive of sample contracts from public companies that cover a variety of practice areas." May browse by industry, type of contract, and alphabetically by company name.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) - Forms, Instructions & Publications
This page provides links to popular federal tax forms, instructions, and publications and also includes a search box to find any IRS tax form/publication by form/publication number. Current and previous year forms are available in PDF and can be filled out electronically.
U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services Forms
Forms on this site can be searched by key word and filtered by category. Categories include adoptions, citizenship and naturalization, employment, family, green cards, and humanitarian benefits. Many of the forms can be filled out electronically.
ClauseBuilder
This web-based tool from the American Arbitration Association "is designed to assist individuals and organizations develop clear and effective arbitration and mediation agreements." Currently, ClauseBuilder can be used to create commercial, construction, employment/workplace, international, and healthcare arbitration and mediation clauses.
PublicLegal (Internet Legal Research Group)
This site's "Legal Forms & Documents" page provides links to over 2,000 business and personal legal forms. Many of the forms are tailored to specific states. While the forms on this site are free, there is a charge if you want the forms formatted for Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF.