Free Online Legal Research

Official Web site of the Supreme Court of the United States. The "Docket Search" page provides status information for cases filed since the 2001 Term. Users can search by using a Supreme Court docket number, a case name, or key words included in the docket report. There are also links to opinions, court filings and rules, oral arguments, and other case documents (court orders, a list of cases granted from the current term, and court minutes). The court opinions are posted on this site soon after they are issued.

A searchable database of Supreme Court opinions since 1760. Cases are arranged by year and U.S. Reports volume number and then alphabetically. Cases can also be searched full text or by party/case name, docket number, citation, or date range.

Contains all U.S. Supreme Court opinions since 1990 and a selection of over 600 historic opinions. Cases can be browsed by topic, opinion author, and party name.

Contains cases from 1792 to present. Provides a summary of the facts of each case, question(s) presented, and the Court's ruling(s). Links to the full text opinions are provided by Justia. In addition, Oyez is a multimedia archive, providing the audio and searchable transcripts of oral arguments.in U.S. Supreme Court cases decided since Oct. 1955, when the Court installed a recording system for its oral arguments.

Contains news, commentary and analysis as well as information on Supreme Court cases, going back to the Oct. 2007 term, including links to court opinions, oral argument recordings and transcripts, case dockets, briefs, and other filings. Also includes the Court's calendar.

Click the "Case law" button, then the "Select courts..." link to specify federal jurisdictions. You can select one or more individual courts or click "Select all" next to the "Federal courts" heading to search all federal courts simultaneously.

Provides cases and case summaries for the various U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeals (coverage varies by circuit). Each circuit must be searched separately, using the links under the "US Courts of Appeals, Opinions & Resources" heading. Cases can be searched full text or by party/case name, docket number, or date range.

Provides access to court opinions from all U.S. federal courts, including the Courts of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, and other specialized courts (coverage varies by court). Cases for a particular court can be browsed chronologically as well as by court reporter citation. Cases can also be searched by key word(s) and/or party name(s) using the main Justia search box.

This collection of federal cases from the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts provides opinions from the U.S. Courts of Appeals as well as selected district, bankruptcy, and other specialized federal courts (coverage varies by court). For the district and bankruptcy courts, not all states and districts are represented. Cases can be browsed (by court, year, and docket number) as well as searched (using the GovInfo website's "Advanced" search menu).