California
- The California Municipal Law Handbook Published by the League of California Cities. A good place to start if you are new to municipal law. Provides references to other sources which may cover a particular topic in detail.
- California State Association of Counties Represents county governments before the California legislature, administrative agencies and the federal government. Provides links to California counties, county map, the cities within each county and demographic data.
- League of California Cities
An advocacy group of California city officials. Click on the "Information Resources" link on the left. From this page, notice the gray boxes at the top of the page appear (News Room, Advanced Search, Library, City Books, FAQs, City Search). - Los Angeles City Council From this page one may access the Council File Management System and do an Ordinance Search (see links under LA City Clerk Connect on right), and look up the City Charter Rules & Codes (on the bottom left, in blue toolbar).
- City of Los Angeles Organizational Chart A PDF copy of the organization of the city of Los Angeles.
Other Resources
- National Association of Counties (NACo) Find A County NACo collects information on counties, including county seats and cities within a county. Click on the state on the hyperlinked map, use the pull-down menu, or search for a particular county in the search box at the bottom of the screen.
- National Association of Counties (NACo) City Search Find a county a city is located in by (1) searching by name of city, (2) by zip code, (3) by selecting a state and viewing all the cities within that state, and (4) by selecting a state, then a county from within that state to view a list of those cities.
- National League of Cities' (NLC) Member City Rosters Not comprehensive, only lists NLC members. Select a state, then select a city within that state. NLC provides a link to the cities' Web sites and its population (based on the 2000 Census).
Municipal Codes Online
None of these sources is comprehensive. If you are looking for a particular city's municipal code, go to that city's official Web site and look for a link or use a search engine. If this fails, go to the links to the 7 code publishers on the Seattle Public Library's site (listed below) and browse/search each individually.
If you would like to search several municipal codes at one time, you may use American Legal Publishing's site, subscribe to Municode, or use LexisNexis Academic Universe's Municipal Codes file, which includes approximately 300 city and county codes (see links below).
- Seattle Public Library's Municipal Codes Online The Seattle Public Library has compiled links to city and county codes available online. Links to the seven code publishers provided.
- UC Berkeley's IGS California Local Codes & Charters UC Berkeley's Institute of Governmental Studies Library maintains a large collection of local ordinance codes and charters issued by California cities and counties. If you need to find a California municode, check this site first.
- American Legal Publishing This site offers several search options: (1) search all the codes in their library, which covers 32 states; (2) search all the codes within a state; and (3) select a city and search/browse its code.
- Municode Go to the "Online Library" link to access the municipal codes from 49 states (Idaho is not represented on this site). Multiple code searching is available, but only for subscribers ($200 annual fee).
- LexisNexis' Municipal Codes Web Library LexisNexis offers their Municipal Codes Web Library for free. There are 35 states listed on this page.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe (UC) The default page is the "Search/General" screen. Click on the "Sources" tab next to the "Search" tab at the upper left-hand corner. In the "Find a Source" search box (upper right), enter "Municipal Codes," which includes over 300 city and county codes.
- Code Publishing Includes a list of online codes for 19 states. Especially useful for codes in Oregon and Washington state.
- Sterling Codifiers Choose the code to view by first selecting the state (20 states represented) and then selecting from a list of municipalities.
- General Code's E-Codes Codes from 22 states. Choose the state, then select a municipality.
- Walter H. Drane Company Includes mostly cities in Ohio. Click on "Search All Municipalities" at the top of the list of cities to search all ordinances. Select "Advanced Search" to search for exact phrases and words appearing near each other.
- Coded Systems Includes a list of online codes for cities and counties in 9 states. Especially useful for codes in New Jersey.
- Quality Code Publishing Includes a list of online codes for cities and counties in 5 states. The majority of the codes listed are for cities in California.
- Municipal Research and Services Center of Washington Web Site MRSC has compiled links to city and county codes for cities and counties located in Washington. MRSC allows for multiple code searching.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait