Dockets and Court Documents by Country

Legal professionals often seek court dockets and documents from cases around the world, hoping that there is an equivalent to PACER in the U.S., only to find that information is limited or entirely unavailable. The vast majority of non-US jurisdictions do not offer such a high level of access to case filings. This guide will help direct you to resources that may be available.

DISCLAIMER: this guide is a work in progress. We are adding information as we obtain it. Rather than wait until it is 100% complete, we are making it available as we work so that our worldwide colleagues can benefit along the way. If you have information to provide, please contact us. Thank you!

A - G

H - L

M - R

S - Z

Federal Courts and City of Buenos Aires 

• Dockets: Available on Sistema de Consulta Web. 
• Documents: Selected documents available on Sistema de Consulta Web. 
• Languages: Spanish.
• Confidentiality: Some cases, such as family law cases, are confidential. 

Link to access dockets and documents:

Source:

Province of Mendoza

• Dockets: Available on Poder Judicial Provincia De Mendoza website.
• Documents: Selected documents available on Poder Judicial Provincia De Mendoza website.
• Languages: Spanish.

Link to access dockets and documents:

Province of Jujuy

• Dockets: Available online with a docket number.
• Documents: Not available online. 
• Languages: Spanish.

Link to access dockets:

Province of Santa Cruz

• Dockets: Access from U.S. IP addresses prohibited.
• Documents: Access from U.S. IP addresses prohibited.
• Languages: Spanish.

Link to access dockets:

Federal Courts

• Dockets: Available on Federal Law Search.
• Documents:
  • Selected orders available on Federal Law Search.
  • High Court Transcripts are available on AustLII. 
  • Documents from selected high profile cases posted on the court's website. An Australian librarian additionally notes "It's worth looking to see if the parties involved may have published the files on their own sites - this sometimes happens with bigger cases like land title issues."
  • Some other documents can be purchased for a fee by email.
• Languages: English.
• Confidentiality: Varies- see "When can a Non-party Access Court Documents?" for details. 

Links to access dockets and documents:

Sources:

Thank you to librarians Melanie Elron and Benjamin Laing, and two other anonymous librarians for providing information.

• Documents: Documents filed in court are available to the public by contacting the Registry of the court where they were filed.

• Dockets: Not available to public. 
• Documents: Not available to public.
• Languages: French and Dutch; Sometimes German and/or English.
• Confidentiality: Names are removed even from published decisions, to protect party confidentiality. 

Links to access court decisions:

Sources:

Thank you to Professor Maximo Langer and Professor Pierre d’Argent for providing information.

Federal Courts

• Dockets: Available online.
• Documents: A small number of documents are available online. Other documents must be purchased. 
• Languages: English and French.
• Confidentiality: Civil cases are public by default, but can be sealed by the court. 

Links to access dockets and documents:

Sources:

Alberta

• Dockets: Not available. 
• Documents: Available by submitting a search request form to the court and paying a fee. 

Link to order documents:

British Columbia 

• Dockets: Civil dockets available online for a fee. Criminal dockets available online for free. 
• Documents: Some civil documents available online for a fee. Others can be purchased by visiting the court registry in person, or mailing or faxing a letter to the registry.
• Languages: English.

Links to access dockets and documents:

Ontario

• Dockets: Available online by creating a ONe-Key account.
• Documents: Must be purchased from the courts. 

Link to access dockets:

Sources:

• Dockets: Not available.
• Documents: Documents initiating cases and judgments and orders by the court are available online for a fee. Other documents are generally not available to non-parties.

Link to purchase documents:

Source:

• Confidentiality: Proceedings are confidential until they are concluded. 

Source:

• Documents: Documents are not available to non-parties. 

Source:

• Dockets: Case information and summaries for the Corte Nacional de Justicia are available by searching Sistema de Jurisprudencia – Buscador de jurisprudencia or eSATJE. 
• Languages: Spanish.

Links to access case information:

• Dockets: Not available to public. 
• Documents: Not available to public.
• Languages: French; Sometimes English.
• Confidentiality: Names are removed even from published decisions, to protect party confidentiality. 

Links to access court decisions:

Sources:

Thank you to Professor Maximo Langer and Professor Pierre d’Argent for providing information.

• Documents: Documents are not available to non-parties.

Source:

• Documents: Documents can be obtained from the Registrar.

Source:

• Documents: Documents can be obtained once the proceedings are concluded. 
• Confidentiality: Proceedings are confidential until they are concluded.

Source:

Federal High Courts

• Dockets: For the High Courts, search eCourts Services by known information. Retrieve “Case Status” information directly using a complete, sixteen-digit CNR (“Case Number Record”) Number. Cases also can be searched by party name, case number, or other criteria, so long as the specific High Court and Bench are known.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: High Court orders are linked from a Case Status page.
• Languages: English.

Link to access case information:

Federal Supreme Court

• Dockets: Dockets do not appear to be available to non-parties. The Legal Diary provides case lists, with case number and party name only, organized by date.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings) filed with the court: Documents are not available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Supreme Court judgments and determinations are searchable and browseable by year.
• Languages: English, Gaeilge
• Confidentiality: Consult the Access to Court Records under Data Protection and Freedom of Information - Access to Court Records.

Link to case lists, judgments, and determinations:

Federal High Court

• Dockets: Case information and summaries are available by searching Courts Services Online.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings) filed with the court: Documents are not available to non-parties. 
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: High Court judgments are searchable and browseable by year.
• Languages: English, Gaeilge
• Confidentiality: Consult the Access to Court Records under Data Protection and Freedom of Information - Access to Court Records.
• General tips: To locate contact information for a particular court, consult the Courts Service of Ireland Find Us webpage.

Link to access dockets:

Sources for more information:

• Dockets and Documents:
  • Dockets are still maintained in paper and are not available electronically. 
  • Dockets and documents must be requested in person. Dockets and documents for civil cases are kept at the courthouse that heard the dispute and dockets and documents for criminal cases are kept at the local prosecutor's office.
  • In theory, the law allows public inspection of cases but, in practice, access is up to the discretion of court officials and requires the person requesting access to demonstrate that they have an "interest in the case", such as having legal rights that are directly or indirectly affected by it.
  • Court officials will provide a specific case, if provided with the case number and the names of both parties, but will not perform a search for all cases filed against a company or individual. 
  • Inspection requests typically cost 150 yen per request, with additional fees for copying.
  • Local bar associations and other legal services offer non-commercial courier services that retrieve dockets and court documents for local attorneys.
• General Tips:
  • A record of who has inspected the court documents is kept with the file and can be viewed by anyone who subsequently views the file. 

Source:

Thank you to librarian Mike McArthur for obtaining this information and thank you to the Japanese prosecutor, judge, and attorneys who provided him with this information. 

Thank you also to Mike for identifying the following relevant laws and example inspection request forms:

Federal Supreme Court [Suprema Corte de Justicia de la Nación]

• Dockets: Search the Inicio of the Suprema Corte de Justicia de la Nación by the expediente number, or search the text field Tema by keyword. Search results will yield a brief summary of proceedings for each expediente retrieved. Case summaries typically include additional or related expediente numbers which may then be searched separately for more information.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings) filed with the court are not available to non-parties.
• Judges, Orders, or Decisions: Court decisions (orders, resolutions) are often attached to case summaries (typically in the documentos field).
• Languages: Spanish.

Link to access case summary search portal:

Lagos

• Dockets: Case docket information is available through a free online search on the court's website.  Users can search by various fields, including case number, party name, case type, start and end date, etc.

Federal Court of Appeals

• Dockets: Causelists with basic docket information are available on the court's website for free.  Information includes appeal number, party names, case type, and event type (e.g. hearing, motion, etc.).
• Case Types: Civil, Criminal.

Federal High Court

• Dockets: A causelist archive is available (search by date or suit number).
• Judges, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments are available for download.

Supreme Court

• Dockets: A causelist archive is available (search by date or case number).
• Judges, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments are available for download (search by date, appeal number, parties, etc.).
• Case Types: Civil, Criminal, Political.

Federal Shariat Court

• Dockets: Basic case status information is available and is searchable by case number or party name.  Cause lists are available and include details such as petition number, case/party names, and law(s) challenged.
• Documents: Case filings do not appear to be available electronically.
• Languages: English, Urdu.

Lahore High Court

• Dockets: Basic case status information is available and is searchable by location, judge, case number, hearing date, and party name.  Cause lists are available and are searchable by judge, bench type, hearing date, case number, party name, lawyer name, etc.
• Documents: Case filings do not appear to be available electronically.
• Language: English.

Sindh High Court

• Dockets: The homepage links to causelists and advanced case searches for different jurisdictions.  Advanced search features vary but generally include fields for case number, party name, attorney, case type, etc.
• Documents: Case filings do not appear to be available electronically.
• Languages: English, Urdu, Sindhi.

Peshawar High Court

• Dockets: Causelists are searchable by date and bench.
• Documents: Case filings do not appear to be available electronically.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Reported judgments are available for download and are searchable by year, judge, category, and remarks.
• Case Types: Criminal, Civil, Revenu, Constitutional, Service, Corporate.
• Languages: English, Urdu.

Balochistan High Court

• Dockets: Basic case status information is available and is searchable by court, category, case number, and case year.  Cause lists are available and are searchable by court and date.
• Documents: Full documents do not appear to be available electronically.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments are available for download and are searchable by Case ID, Case Info (Court, Category, Case Number, Year), and Judge.
• Languages: English, Urdu.

Islamabad High Court

• Dockets: Basic case status information is available and is searchable by category, case number, case year, case title, and party names.  Cause lists are available and are searchable by various criteria.
• Documents: Full documents do not appear to be available electronically.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments are available for download and are searchable through an advanced search system.  Judgments are also retrievable by judge name for sitting justices and former justices.
• Languages: English, Urdu.

Supreme Appellate Court Gilgit Baltistan

• Dockets: Basic case status information is available and is searchable by case type, case number, year, and case title.  Causelists are also available for the Gilgit and Skardu courts.
• Documents: Case documents may be requested via forms, with one form for attorneys and another for non-attorneys (non-attorneys must identify whether they are parties to the litigation and must identify a purpose for the request).
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments are available for download and are searchable via a general keyword search.
• Language: English.

Federal Supreme Court

• Dockets: Do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings) filed with the court are not available to non-parties.
• Judges, Orders, or Decisions: Decisions and signed resolutions are available through the Supreme Court e-library.
• Case Types: Cases involving original and appellate jurisdiction.
• Languages: English
• General Tips: The Office of the Court Administrator provides the latest court rules.

Link to decisions and resolutions:

Federal Court of Appeals

• Dockets: Basic case information (case number, case title, parties involved, and status) is available through the Case Status Inquiry System. The system is searchable by known item, but not browseable.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings): Contents of “records and rollos of pending cases” are listed as “non-disclosable information.” Appendix A, section (B)(d)(5) of the Court of Appeals Freedom of Information Manual describes the Court’s policy and procedure for requesting information in this regard.
• Judges, Orders, or Decisions: Recent Decisions and Resolutions are available through the case search portal.  Decisions and signed resolutions also are available through the Supreme Court e-library.
• Case Types: Civil, criminal, and special cases.
• Languages: English.
• Confidentiality: See the Court of Appeals Freedom of Information Manual.
• General Tips: Chapter 3 of the Court of Appeals Freedom of Information Manual describes the Court’s policy and procedure for requesting information.

Links to case information, decisions, and resolutions:

Federal Court of Tax Appeals

• Dockets: Comprehensive, updated dockets are available through the Case Status portal. Search by case number, case title, or by name of counsel. The system is searchable by known item, but not browseable.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings) filed with the court are not available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Decisions and resolutions are publicly available, 1954-present through the Decisions/Resolutions By Filters portal. Certain CTA decisions and signed resolutions also are available through the Supreme Court e-library.
• Case Types:Civil and criminal tax cases. Included local tax cases, property tax cases, and tax collection cases.
• Languages: English.
• Confidentiality: According to section 15 of Rules of the Court of Tax Appeals, As Amended, decisions of, and all evidence received by the Court and its divisions, including transcript of stenographic reports of the hearings, shall be public records open to the inspection of the public, with exceptions.
• General Tips: Consult Rules of the Court of Tax Appeals, As Amended for the latest information on the availability of materials.

Links to access dockets and decisions:

Federal Supreme Court [Sąd Najwyższy]

• Dockets: Dockets do not appear to be available to non-parties. E-Sprawa will yield basic case details, while e-Wokanda will yield calendar results with hearing information. Searching by case number (Sygnatura sprawy) is most helpful, if known.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings): case documents and pleadings filed with the court do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Available from the court’s database, Baza orzeczeń.
• Case Types: Civil, Criminal.
• Languages: Polish. The English version of the website includes brief summaries of judicial opinions in English.
• General Tips: The Polish version (sn.pl) of the website has more functionality than the English version of the website (sn.pl/en).Use the Polish version to access e-Sprawa for case searching.

Links to case information and decisions:

Federal Supreme Court [Supremo Tribunal de Justiça]

• Dockets: Dockets do not appear to be available to non-parties. The Regras de Pesquisa (DGSI) search portal will yield basic case details, as will ECLI (European Case Law Identifier) for cases after 1 January 2020.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings): Case documents and pleadings filed with the court do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Available from DGSI or ECLI.
• Case Types: Civil, Criminal.
• Languages: Portuguese.

Links to case information and decisions:

• Documents: Generally, non-parties can only obtain documents by written request, at the discretion of the court.

Sources:

Thank you to librarian Samantha Lim for providing information.

Federal Supreme Court of Appeal

• Dockets: Dockets do not appear to be available to non-parties. A Court Roll of each case enrolled for a hearing is published, with party names, case number, hearing date, and assigned judges. Along with other material, the Bulletin provides similar information for cases enrolled for a hearing, along with indexing of subject terms and a summary.
• Documents: Case documents and pleadings filed with the court are not available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments back to 1999 are searchable and publicly available, along with media summaries, from the Supreme Court of Appeal. Judgments back to 1955 are available from LawLibrary.org.za.
• Case types: Civil, Criminal Appeals.
• Languages: English.

Links to the court roll, bulletin, and court decisions:

• Documents: Documents filed in court are available to the public by contacting the court where they were filed. For older documents, researchers may need to contact the national archives.
• Confidentiality: Parties may request that some documents, such as those containing trade secrets, be kept confidential under the Swedish Secrecy Act.

Link to locate Swedish court's contact information:

Sources:

Thank you to librarian Sofia Sternberg for providing information.

• Documents: Documents are not available to non-parties. 

Source:

England & Wales

• Dockets: Case information is available online by creating a CE-File login to the official HM Courts & Tribunals E-Filing Service (free to register and search). Also available on Westlaw UK Courts and Tribunals Dockets. Bloomberg Law is no longer updated for UK cases, but provides basic docket information (e.g., type of claim, names of parties, date filed) for cases filed between approximately 2009 and 2019, with selected cases going back to 1996.
• Documents: Available documents can be ordered for a fee on CE-File (subject to permission from the clerk of the relevant court). Claim forms and Particulars of Claim only can be obtained from Westlaw UK Courts and Tribunals Dockets.
• Languages: English.

Link to access dockets and documents:

Sources:

Thank you to Karen Gordon for providing information.

Scotland

• Documents: Documents are not available to non-parties.

Source:

• Dockets: Dockets do not appear to be available to non-parties. Daily lists, with case numbers and parties, from the present day forward are available from the Judiciary of the Republic of Vanuatu.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings): Case documents and pleadings filed with the court do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, and Island Court are available from the Judiciary of the Republic of Vanuatu and PacLII.
• Case Types: Criminal, Civil.
• Languages: English

Links to daily lists and court decisions:

• Dockets: Dockets do not appear to be available to non-parties. Causelists, with case numbers and parties, are available for the Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, and the High Court. Causelists are available by court and by month.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings): Case documents and pleadings filed with the court do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Available through the Judiciary of Zambia website and ZambiaLII.
• Case Types: Constitutional, Civil, Criminal.
• Languages: English
• General Tips: The Judiciary of Zambia is undergoing a digitalization project of court records.

Links to causelists and court decisions:

• Dockets: Do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Documents (case documents and pleadings): Case documents and pleadings filed with the court do not appear to be available to non-parties.
• Judgments, Orders, or Decisions: Judgments of the Constitutional Courts, Supreme Court, High Courts, and Labour Court are available through ZimLII or Veritas Zimbabwe.
• Languages: English.

Links to access court decisions: