LibGuides: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) Resources: Legislation

Keep Your Health Plan Act of 2013

This bill would allow some currently offered health plans to stay on the market, outside the Exchange, through 2014.

H.R. 3350
Keep Your Health Plan Act of 2013, Sponsored by Rep. Fred Upton.
H. Res. 413
Providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 3350) to authorize health insurance issuers to continue to offer for sale current individual health insurance coverage in satisfaction of the minimum essential health insurance coverage requirement, and for other purposes, sponsored by Rep. Michael Burgess.

Bills Attempting to Repeal/Defund PPACA: 113th Congress

Bill summaries of legislation attempting to repeal or defund PPACA in the 113th Congress.

H.R. 45
To repeal the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and health care-related provisions in the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010. Sponsored by Rep. Michele Bachman.
CBO Letter on Budgetary Impact of H.R. 45
CBO declined to provide a cost estimate.
S. 177
ObamaCare Repeal Act. Sponsored by Sen. Ted Cruz.
S. 1292
Defund Obamacare Act of 2013, Sponsored by Sen. Ted Cruz

Keep the IRS Off Your Health Care Act of 2013

These bills would prevent the Department of Treasury from implemening the Treasury related portions of PPACA.

H.R. 2009
Keep the IRS Off Your Health Care Act of 2013, Sponsored by Rep. Tom Price
H.R. 1990
Keep the IRS Off Your Health Care Act of 2013, Sponsored by Rep. Tom Price
S.983
Keep the IRS Off Your Health Care Act of 2013, sponsored by Sen. John Cornyn
S.1315
Keep the IRS Off Your Health Care Act of 2013, sponsored by Sen. John Cornyn

Bills to Delay the Individual Mandate

H.R. 2667
Authority for Mandate Delay Act, Sponsored by Rep. Tim Griffin
H.R. 2668
Fairness for American Families Act, sponsored by Rep. Todd Young
H. Res. 300
Providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 2668) to delay the application of the individual health insurance mandate; and providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 2667) to delay the application of the employer health insurance mandate, and for other purposes, sponsored by Rep. Michael Burgess
S. 1488
A bill to delay the application of the individual health insurance mandate, to delay the application of the employer health insurance mandate, and for other purposes, sponsored by Sen. Daniel Coats.

Forty Hours is Full Time Act

These bills would modify the current definition of full-time under the ACA from 30 hours to 40.

H.R. 2988
Forty Hours Is Full Time Act of 2013, sponsored by Rep. Daniel Lipinski
S. 701
Forty Hours Is Full Time Act of 2013, sponsored by Sen. Susan Collins
S. 1188
Forty Hours Is Full Time Act of 2013, sponsored by Sen. Susan Collins

Bills Attempting to Repeal/Defund PPACA: 112th Congress

Bill summaries of legislation attempting to repeal or defund PPACA

H.R. 6079
Repeal of Obamacare Act, sponsored by Rep. Eric Cantor. Passed the House on July 11, 2012, with a vote of 244-185 (Roll no. 460)
H.R. 2
Repealing the Job-Killing Health Care Law Act, sponsored by Rep. Eric Cantor
H.R. 5
Protecting Access to Healthcare Act, sponsored by Rep. Phil Gingrey. Title III of this bill (the Medicare Decisions Accountability Act of 2012) would repeal the part of PPACA which establishes the Independent Payment Advisory Board (IPAB).
H.R. 127
To deauthorize appropriation of funds to carry out the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, sponsored by Rep. Tom Graves
H.R. 141
To repeal the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, sponsored by Rep. Steve King
H.R. 145
Revoke Excessive Policies that Encroach on American Liberties (REPEAL) Act, sponsored by Rep. Connie Mack
H.R. 215
To repeal the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and title I of the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 while preserving the reauthorization of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act, sponsored by Rep. Don Young
H.R. 429
To repeal the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the health care-related provisions in the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 and to amend title 5, United States Code, to establish a national health program administered by the Office of Personnel Management to offer Federal employee health benefits plans to individuals who are not Federal employees, and for other purposes, sponsored by Rep. Darrell Isa
H.R. 636
Affordable Health Care Expansion Act of 2011, sponsored by Rep. Kay Granger
H.R. 698
To deauthorize and rescind funding for the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and health-care-related provisions of the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, sponsored by Rep. Tim Scott
S. 16
Patient Choice Restoration Act, sponsored by Sen. David Vitter
S. 192
Repealing the Job-Killing Health Care Law Act, sponsored by Sen. Jim DeMint

Bill that would apply portions of PPACA to members of Congress

S. 902
A bill to amend the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act to apply the provisions of the Act to certain Congressional staff and members of the executive branch. Sponsored by David Vitter.

Bill that would create a religious exemption to the individual mandate

H.R. 6597
The Equitable Access to Care and Health Act (EACH Act) would create an exemption to the individual mandate for persons who file an affidavit with their tax returns that his or her "sincerely held religious beliefs would cause the individual to object to medical health care that would be covered under [minimum essential] coverage."

Bills that would repeal the medical device excise tax

H.R.436
Health Care Cost Reduction Act of 2012, sponsored by Rep. Erik Paulsen. Passed the House on June 7, 2012 with a vote of 270-146.
H.RES.679
Providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 436) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to repeal the excise tax on medical devices, and providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 5882) making appropriations for the Legislative Branch for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2013, and for other purposes. Sponsored by Rep. Tim Scott. Passed the House on June 7, 2012 with a vote of 241-173.
H.R.488
Save Our Medical Devices Act of 2011, sponsored by Rep. Jim Gerlach.
H.R.734
An act to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to repeal the medical device tax, and for other purposes; sponsored by Rep. Brian Bilbray.
S. 17
Medical Device Access and Innovation Protection Act, sponsored by Sen. Orrin Hatch
S. 262
A bill to repeal the excise tax on medical device manufacturers, sponsored by Sen. Scott Brown

Bills that would repeal other tax code provisions in PPACA

H.R. 6088
Total Repeal of the Unfair Taxes on Healthcare (TRUTH) Act of 2012, sponsored by Rep. David Schweikert. Would repeal all PPACA taxes.
H.R. 6048
Healthcare Tax Relief and Mandate Repeal Act, sponsored by Rep. Michael Turner. Would repeal the individual mandate, and the requirement that employers with more than 50 full time employees maintain employee health insurance coverage.
H.R. 1744
American Job Protection Act , sponsored by Rep. Charles W. Boustany, Jr. Would repeal the requirement that employers with more than 50 full time employees maintain employee health insurance coverage.
H.R. 3487
Job Creation Act of 2011, sponsored by Rep Vern Buchanan. Title VI (Repeal of Employer Health Insurance Mandate) would repeal the requirement that employers with more than 50 full time employees maintain employee health insurance coverage.
H.R. 6097
Religious Freedom Tax Repeal Act of 2012, sponsored by Rep. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. Would exempt employers from the requirements of section 2713(a)(4) of the Public Health Service Act if the refusal to provide coverage for preventive services is based on a moral or religious objection.

Bills that would repeal other individual sections of PPACA

H.R.5894
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Education and Outreach Campaign Repeal Act of 2012. This bill would repeal Sec. 4004 of PPACA (codified at 42 U.S.C. 300u–12), which authorizes a public/private education and outreach campaign about the preventive health benefits in PPACA. Sponsored by Rep. Jeff Flake.
S. 3337
Access to Physicians in Medicare Act of 2012, sponsored by Rep. Rand Paul. Section 3 of the bill would repeal the Medicaid/CHIP expansion in PPACA.

Bills that would allow states to opt out of certain parts of PPACA

S. 244
State Health Care Choice Act, sponsored by Sen. John Barasso
H.R. 782
State Health Care Flexibility Act of 2011, sponsored by Rep. Thaddeus McCotter
H.R. 3326
Medicaid Flexibility for States Act, sponsored by Rep. Benjamin Quayle

Bills trying to close the Medicaid Eligibility "Loophole"

These bills would address the "loophole" or "glitch" in PPACA that would allow some middle income people who retire early to qualify for Medicaid.

H.R. 2576
To amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to modify the calculation of modified adjusted gross income for purposes of determining eligibility for certain healthcare-related programs, sponsored by Rep. Diane Black
White House (Obama) Statement of Support for H.R.2576
Senate Bill (S.) 1376
A bill to conform income calculations for purposes of eligibility for the refundable credit for coverage under a qualified health plan and for Medicaid to existing Federal low-income assistance programs, sponsored by Sen Michael Enzi
S. 1378
Savings Through Eligibility Fairness Act, sponsored by Sen. Benjamin Nelson

Bills that Would Prohibit Funding Under PPACA from Being used for Abortions

H.R. 358
The Protect Life Act, sponsored by Rep. Joseph Pitts
S. 877
The Protect Life Act, sponsored by Sen. Orrin Hatch

Bills that would create a "rights of conscience" exemption

Bills that would amend PPACA to create a "rights of conscience" exemption to allow providers and health care plans not to provide services to which they have moral and/or religious objections.

H.R. 1179
Respect for Rights of Conscience Act of 2011, sponsored by Rep. Jeff Fortenberry
S. 1467
Respect for Rights of Conscience Act of 2011, sponsored by Sen. Roy Blunt
S. 1813, Senate Amendment 1520
Sponsored by Sen. Roy Blunt. Click "Printer Friendly Display" to see the full text of all amendments. More information about cosponsors may be found at this link: http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.uscongress/legislation.112samdt1520 The bill being amended is a federal highway funding bill, more information is available here: http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.uscongress/legislation.112s1813

Bills that would use Prevention and Public Health Fund monies for abstinence based sex education

These bills would use funds from the Prevention and Public Health Fund established by Sec. 4002 of PPACA (codified at 42 USC Sec. 300u-11) to sponsor abstinence based sex education.

S. 2185
Abstinence Education Reallocation Act of 2012, sponsored by Sen. Lindsey Graham.
H.R. 2874
Abstinence Education Reallocation Act of 2011, sponsored by Rep. Randy Hultgren.

My Profile

Lynn McClelland

Subjects: Foreign and International Law, Health Law