Newspapers in the United States: U.S. Newspaper Databases

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects. The majority of the newspapers have never before been accessible online.

Access World News provides access to full-articles from over 2400 U.S. and international Blogs, Journals, Newspapers, Newswires, Video, Web-Only Sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Formerly called NewsBank.

Full text from five 19th Century African American newspapers: Freedom's Journal, (March 16, 1827 - March 28, 1829); The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), (Jan. 7, 1837 - Dec. 25, 1841); The North Star, (Dec. 3, 1847 - April 17, 1851); Frederick Douglass Paper, (continuation of The North Star), (1851-1856); The National Era, (Jan. 7, 1847 - March 22, 1860); Provincial Freeman, (1854-1857); and The Christian Recorder, (1861-1876).

Features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820," this database concentrates primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.

Features the digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals. Published between 1740 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.

Collections include: American broadsides and ephemera, Early American imprints, series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American imprints, series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American newspapers, series I, 1690-1876, and government publications including American state papers, 1789-1838, House and Senate journals, series I, 1789-1817, Senate executive journals, series I, 1789-1866 and U.S. Congressional serial set, 1817-1980.

This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches.

View newspaper pages from 1860 to 1922 from the following states: Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington (State). Find information about newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present in the Chronicling America Directory.

Contains the full text of over 11,000 articles (including over 700 graphic images of battlefield maps and illustrations) gleaned from over 2500 issues of newspapers published between Nov. 1, 1860 and Apr. 30, 1865, beginning with events preceeding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continuing through the surrender at Appomattox and concluding with the funeral of Abraham Lincoln.

Features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820. The database currently covers newspapers through 1859.

Contains the complete text of articles since 1990 from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980s. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.

Contains the retrospective backfile of Ethnic NewsWatch titles with coverage from 1959 through 1989. Includes news from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.

Provides access (mostly full text), through multiple language interfaces, to business and general news content covering more than 31,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.

Provides access to full-image reproductions published in Harper's Weekly from 1857-1883.

Full-text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Also useful for finding full text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles.

Provides cover-to-cover full-text for 35 national and international newspapers and full-text from more than 335 regional U.S. newspapers Selected full-text television & radio transcripts are provided. Coverage is from 1995.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. The database features billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, all of which are full-page and fully searchable. Users can browse search results by location by clicking on the desired state on the homepage. For paid content, students and faculty should contact a reference librarian for assistance before purchasing content.

Provides comprehensive coverage of national and international affairs, business, science and technology, politics, and the arts and entertainment. Selected article text from 1975.

This link provides access to all of ProQuest's Newspaper databases, including the historical newspapers referenced separately in this Guide.

Network evening news broadcasts (more than 30,000) from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.

This link will take you into WestlawNext's database for newspapers published in the United States News in addition to news and information about the U.S. from other newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts and newswires. Coverage varies by source. Law students can enter this database by using their WestlawNext usernames and passwords.