Newspapers in the United States: Georgia - Indiana

Provides access to over 20 Georgia newspapers and sources.

Provides access to Atlanta Daily Examiner (1857), Atlanta Daily Herald (1873-1876), Atlanta Georgian (1906-1911), Atlanta Intelligencer (1851, 1854-1871), Atlantian (1911-1922), Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion (1867-1868), Gate-City Guardian (1861), Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader (1860-1861), New Era (1869-1872), Southern Confederacy (1861-1864), Southern Miscellany, and Upper Georgia Whig (1847), Southern World (1882-1885), Sunny South (1875-1907), and Weekly Constitution (1869-1882).

The archive is free and open for public use and includes over two million Georgia newspaper pages between 1763 and 2021.

This link will take you into Westlaw's database for newspapers published in Georgia and news and information about Georgia from other newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and newswires. Coverage varies by source. Law students can enter this database by using their Westlaw usernames and passwords.

Provides access to digitized articles published in the August Chronicle dating back to 1792. Free previews are provided with search results; however, to view the full text of articles, a subscription is required. The UCLA Library holds historical issues of the newspaper in microfilm form at the YRL A-Level Service Desk. Electronic access to articles from 1993 to the present is provided via Access World News (see link above) and LexisNexis Academic (see listing under U.S. News Databases tab).

This link will take you into Westlaw's database for newspapers published in Hawaii and news and information about Hawaii from other newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and newswires. Coverage varies by source. Law students can enter this database by using their Westlaw usernames and passwords.

The publisher's website for the Honolulu Star Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin provides electronic access to articles published in the newspapers dating back to 1996. The archive may be searched by keyword or may be browsed by date).

Provides access to 13 Idaho newspapers and sources.

This link will take you into Westlaw's database for newspapers published in Idaho and news and information about Idaho from other newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and newswires. Coverage varies by source. Law students can enter this database by using their Westlaw usernames and passwords.

Provides access to over 100 Illinois newspapers and two video news sources. Coverage for most sources dates from the 1990s to the present, with a few sources providing coverage from the 1980s and 2000s.

The Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection contains digital facsimiles of historic Illinois newspapers, such as: Daily Illini (1916-1945), Urbana Daily Courier (1903-1935), and The Express (1895-1896). You can browse the newspapers by date or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. You can also print, download, or e-mail individual articles.

This link will take you into Westlaw's database for newspapers published in Illinois and news and information about Illinois from other newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and newswires. Coverage varies by source. Law students can enter this database by using their Westlaw usernames and passwords.

Provides access to digitized content from several Sterling, Ill. newspapers: Daily Gazette (2007), Evening Gazette (1887-1892), Great Northwestern Fair (1884), Republican and Gazette (1861), Sauk Valley Sunday (2007), Sterling Daily Gazette (1917-1951), Sterling Evening Gazette (1894-1906), Sterling Gazette (1866-2007), Sterling Republican Gazette (1861-1865), Sterling Standard (1872-1928), Sterling Times (1854), and Telegraph (2007).

The Chicago Defender was founded by Robert S. Abbott on May 5, 1905. The newspaper heralded itself as "The World's Greatest Weekly" and was the nation's most influential black weekly newspaper by the advent of World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership base located outside of Chicago. Provides access to full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Provides access to full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Provides access to digitized content from three Quincy, Illinois newspapers: Quincy Daily Herald, Quincy Daily Journal, Quincy Daily Whig, and the Illinois Bounty Land Register.

Provides access to 16 Indiana newspapers and news sources.

This link will take you into Westlaw's database for newspapers published in Indiana and news and information about Indiana from other newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and newswires. Coverage varies by source. Law students can enter this database by using their Westlaw usernames and passwords.