Historical U.S. Full-text Electronic Sources: U.S. News & Articles
The main part of this guide lists full-text searchable databases of historical U.S. and English legal and non-legal sources. The smaller boxes include links to research guides, government sites, databases indexes, and other Internet sources.
Provides newspaper coverage and indexes to news coverage from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, including the NY Times and Palmer's Index to the Times.
Collections include American Broadsides (1820-1900) and Ephemera (1760-1900), Early American Imprints (1639-1800), Early American Imprints II (1801-1819), and Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876).
Searching: Search full text across multiple collections or use a Simple or Advanced Search (limit keywords to full text and document sections) within individual collections. May also browse by genre, subject, author, history of printing, place of publication and language.
Consult "Search Hints" or "Help" pages for more information on using Readex's Archive of Americana.
Over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content. Includes periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically significant periodicals.
Digitized images of the pages from such titles as Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository.
May search for articles and publications using ProQuest's historical newspapers search (see details above).
Formerly named PCI Full Text, Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of articles published in over 500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1665 to 2000.
Provides access to the full text of articles indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online (link provided under "Database Indexes" in a small box on the right side of this guide).
May search by keyword, article title, author, journal title, language, journal subject, year of publication and ISSN.
Access to Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization."
Browse issues or Search the full-text (standard or proximity searches).
Links to Harper's Weekly Indexes, Literary Synopses, and Finding Aids (may browse by geography, literary genre, occupation or role in society, or by topic).
May view full page images, table of contents, issue thumbnails or page index.
For detailed information on this database, see the "Help" page.
The Library of Congress provides access to newspaper pages from 1890 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.
To see a listing of all available newspapers, including the date range available, click on the "All Digitized Newspapers" tab.
Searching: Keyword searching of newspaper pages and the directory; limit by state or publication, date or date range.
May also search or browse the Chronicling America Directory to find information on newspapers published in the U.S. from 1690 to present.
The materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to MoA. This site provides access to 267 monographs and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Searching: Simple, Advanced, and Browse collection
Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the audience
