Non-Legal Sources

Factiva
Factiva, a "mega" news & business information service, covers nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages.
Lexis News
U.S. and major world newspapers and more.
Google News
You can browse or search Google News directly by using this link. You can also run a general Google search and select "News" from the tabs at the top of your search results.

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Wall Street Journal. Also includes historical coverage of the following newspapers: New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post, and several others.
Los Angeles Times through ProQuest: Recent (1985 - ) This link opens in a new window
New York Times through ProQuest: Recent (1980 - current ) This link opens in a new window
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 2400 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies by newspaper. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.

Newspapers in the United States: U.S. News and Newspapers
This LibGuide provides a comprehensive state-by-state list of historical, contemporary, and current United States newspapers, with an emphasis on resources available online and in the UCLA Library collection.

VA National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS): Includes data on veteran population, reports, state summaries, maps, expenditures, utilization data, and surveys. Also includes "pocket cards" (released quarterly), which provide a snapshot of key data points. This site also includes a link to Additional Sources of Data About Veterans, which provides a guide to finding relevant data collected by various federal government agencies, including the U.S. Census Bureau.

Research Guides:

UCLA librarians with expertise in statistics have created several guides to help you locate relevant statistics:

Journal Articles

The UCLA Library maintains a helpful guide to databases by subject. For each subject, the guide lists the most significant databases and links to more detailed guides created by subject specialist librarians. There are also several general databases that include scholarly articles on multiple subjects. Among these databases are Proquest, Academic Search Complete, and Google Scholar.

Below are two journal databases that are very useful for searching for articles specifically in the psychology and medical/health fields respectively.

APA PsycInfo
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations on psychology and related topics.
PubMed
Citations to articles and books in the biomedical field. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on UC-eLinks. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.

Books:

To find books available at UCLA on any topics, including in the medical and psychology fields, conduct a UC Library Search. Enable your VPN to access e-books and articles. For books not available at UCLA, either in print or electronically, you can request them via inter-library loan (ILL):

If you find a catalog record for the book through your UC Library Search, log into your UCLA account to request an interlibrary loan.
If you do not find a record for the book through your UC Library Search, ask a librarian for help or click the ... at the top of the page and then select "Blank ILL Request."

The UC Library catalog includes catalog records for all types of library resources and also includes records for some individual book chapters (particularly for more recent books). After conducting a UC Library Search, you can use the filtering options on the left side of the screen to narrow your results to just books, book chapters, or other types of library resources.

If you would like to see what libraries in the U.S. or worldwide own a particular book, you can conduct a search on the Worldcat catalog, which contains holdings information for thousands of libraries worldwide. Access WorldCat from the A-Z Databases page (search for “worldcat” and select “WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)”).

Select Publications from the UC Catalog

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: available online (UCLA users only)
ISBN: 9780890425572
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA), is the standard source used in the mental health field to diagnose and classify mental disorders. This manual is also used by professionals in other fields, including social work, law, and public health. The PTSD diagnostic criteria was revised for the 5th edition and is now classified in a new category, "Trauma- and Stressor-Related Disorders."
"The Military Mental Health Disability System," by Jeffrey Guina et al., in Military and Veteran Mental Health: A Comprehensive Guide, edited by Laura Weiss Roberts and Christopher H. Warner
Call Number: available online (UCLA users only)
ISBN: 149397436X
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
This book chapter focuses on the disability system for military members' and veterans' mental health conditions, including clinical concerns related to the diagnosis and treatment of such conditions.
Treating PTSD in Military Personnel: A Clinical Handbook, 2d edition by Bret A. Moore and Walter E. Penk, editors
Call Number: UCLA YRL: RC552.P67 T7655 2019
ISBN: 9781462538447
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
In the second edition of this guide to assessing and treating PTSD in active-duty service members and veterans, leading authorities review available evidence-based treatments for different types of trauma and manifestations of PTSD. "Knowledge about military culture, the stressors experienced by service members, and common challenges for both military and civilian practitioners is woven through the volume and reflected in the vivid case examples."
Understanding and Treating Military Sexual Trauma by Kristen Zaleski
Call Number: available online (UCLA users only)
ISBN: 3319737236
Publication Date: 2018-05-11
This book presents research findings regarding the epidemic of sexual assault in the military and discusses new and emerging treatment options.
The author approaches the topic from a variety of disciplines and "examines in powerful detail how military culture enables a pervasive subculture of sexual violence, from consistently devaluing women to blaming victims and denying them justice. The author's dual attachment/trauma theory lens attends to a wide range of outcomes such as unit members closing ranks against survivors and the continuing impact of assault trauma on veterans' lives. And the book's second half critiques standard forms of treating military sexual trauma in favor of individualized therapy addressing the physical, psychological, and neurological aspects of trauma and recovery."

Other Online Publications

Psychological Harms and Treatment of Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment in Adults: Systematic and Scoping Reviews to Inform Improved Care for Military Populations, by Julia Rollison et al. Santa Monica, CA: RAND Corporation, 2023.
Evaluation of the Disability Determination Process for Traumatic Brain Injury in Veterans, by The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press, 2019.
Chapter 2 "provides an overview of traumatic brain injury (TBI), including how it is defined, its mechanisms of injury, and its neuropathology." The chapter also discusses the complexity of diagnosing TBI and recovering from this condition.
Gulf War Veterans: Treating Symptoms and Syndromes, by Institute of Medicine. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 2001.
Describes illnesses and conditions among Gulf War veterans, based on articles as well as data from the VA and Dept. of Defense, as well as models, theories, and research regarding the effective treatment/management of such conditions.

PTSD: National Center for PTSD (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)
"The mission of the National Center for PTSD is to advance the clinical care and social welfare of America's Veterans and others who have experienced trauma, or who suffer from PTSD, through research, education, and training in the science, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD and stress-related disorders." The center's webpage on PTSD provides general information on the nature and treatment of PTSD as well as links to more in-depth sources on this topic.
National Personnel Records Center
"The central repository for both Military Personnel Records and Civilian Personnel Records." Military Personnel Records include: Official Military Personnel Files (OMPF), Clinical Records, and Military Treatment Records.
Department of Defense, Chemical and Biological Exposures
"The DoD and the VA play distinct roles dealing with CB exposures. DoD identifies and validates veteran’s exposure to CB agents and provides the names of individuals along with their exposure information to the VA. The VA then notifies individuals of their potential exposure, provides treatment, if necessary, for these individuals and adjudicates any claim for compensation."
National Weather Service
A program of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). See the "Past Weather" tab for specific geographical areas, with data going back to the 1950s!