The Law Library offers a variety of online resources to assist faculty and students with their research.
The Law Library is pleased to recommend a variety of online resources to assist faculty and students with their research. Due to licensing restrictions, some resources are limited to the UCLA Law School community and are available only to users on the Law School Network. These resources are indicated with the lock icon after the title. Some resources require you to access the material from computers within the Law Library (these resources are indicated by the note: "Law Library Only"). All other resources are licensed for use by the UCLA community.
Visit the Database Access Guide for detailed access instructions to the resources listed below, including information about home access.
Click on Blue Letters below to jump to that section of the alphabet:
A | B | C | D | E | F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text access to thousands of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities dating back to 1856.
- ALM Legal Intelligencer
Provides access to current and historical law firm surveys. Law School use only.
See "Courtroom View Network"
- Bar Journals on HeinOnline
Provides full text access to bar journals from all fifty states.
- bepress Legal Repository
Working papers published by the Berkeley Electronic Press.
- Bloomberg BNA
Database of legal news, company profiles, case law, legal treatises, and docket information. Current UCLA Law Students may obtain a password at www.bloomberg.com/activate.
The Law Library subscribes to the BNA Law School Premier package.
- Broadcast NewsScape (UCLA Library)
Digital news archive of American and international television news programs from 2005 to the present.
- Business Source Complete
Comprehensive business articles database containing over 5,000 scholarly journals and trade publications.
- CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction)
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction offers online tutorials on legal research, legal writing, all substantive topic covered in this guide and more. Most lessons are an hour or less. To get a student authorization code to set up a CALI account, email email@example.com.
- California Ballot Propositions
Links to UC Hastings' California Ballot Measures Database, California Propositions Database, and California Initiatives Database.
- CCH IntelliConnect
Includes popular CCH works in Securities, Banking, Trade Regulation, Government Contracts, Telecommunications, Information Technology, Transportation and Products Liability. Also includes the Food Drug and Cosmetic Law Reporter, Medicare/Medicaid Guide, Labor Relations Reporter and EEOC Compliance Manual.
- CEB OnLaw
OnLaw is a web-based research tool containing the full text of over 80 CEB publications. The link directs you to our OnLaw Instructions & Titles page. Please note: OnLaw will be unavailable March 8-10, 2014 due to scheduled maintenance of the database.
- ChinaLawInfo (ask at the Law Library Reference Desk for password)
ChinaLawInfo offers both Chinese and English translations of Chinese laws and regulations, judicial cases, tax treaties, government issued law gazettes, legal news, and policy (white) papers. The database also incorporates the monthly legal periodical “China Law,” the Law Yearbook of China, and the English edition of the Peking University Law Review.
- Congressional Record via Heinonline
Provides access to full text pdf images of the Congressional Record, the Congressional Globe, and the Annals of Congress.
- Congressional Universe
See "ProQuest Congressional"
- Courtroom View Network
Provides audio opinions of cases in popular casebooks as well as video clips of actual trials.
- CQ Supreme Court Collection
Provides historical analysis of Supreme Ct. decisions, bios of justices, institutional history & the U.S. Constitution. Offers quantitative analysis of the Justices’ voting patterns. Provides full text & analysis of constitutions from over 100 countries.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Criminal Justice Abstracts also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations.
- Data Planet
Provides statistics in the fields of law, economics, housing, labor, health, governmen and politics.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides full text access to scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects.
Factiva, a "mega" news & business information service, covers nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages. Factiva also provides stock performance data, company-to-industry comparative reports, market index reports & business press releases.
- First Research Industry Reports
Provides in-depth profiles for more tha 900 U.S. industries.
- Foreign Law Guide
Online version of Reynolds and Flores' Current Sources of Codes and Legislation. Provides information on codes and legal publications in jurisdictions around the world.
- Global Books in Print
Provides publication information for forthcoming, in-print and out of print publications around the world.
- Global Financial Data
Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for more than 200 countries. Click the info button for more details.
- Getting the Deal Through Treatises (Bloomberg)
International guides to laws in 45 practice areas in 150 countries around the world.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Multilingual index to articles & book reviews published worldwide. Covers international (public & private), comparative & municipal law of countries other than the United States, the U.K., Canada & Australia. Coverage from 1985-present, updated quarterly.
- Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1777-1933 (Jones & Chipman) via HeinOnline
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, 1981-
Index of legal periodical articles dating from 1981 to the present. Some full text included.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, 1908-1981
Index of historical legal periodicals. Some full text included.
Contains searchable Tables of Contents and Indexes for over 6000 legal treatises. Search by key word, key phrase, chapter author, etc. to identify books having information relating to your subject.
Comprehensive collections of 17 million multidisciplinary academic and professional research articles. Content is from 28,000 publications, including 6,100 online.
- InterAm (Ask at the Law Library Reference Desk for the password)
Latin American law database developed by the National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade.
Full-text back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and ends about two to five years before the most recently published volume.
- Law Journal Press
Full text access to Law Journal Press treatises on the topics of finance, banking, securities and business law.
A labor and employment case law database. Law students may sign up to receive Employment Law Memo, NLRB Law Memo and Arbitration Law Memo via email.
- Legal Information Reference Center (Nolo Press e-books)
Provides online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books and contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
- Legal Source
Index to over 870 full text journals and 300 law reviews. Includes the Index to Legal Periodicals.
Index to law journal articles (mostly citations, with a few full text articles) 1980 - present.
- Legislative Insight
Federal legislative history materials from the 71st Congress (1929) to the present.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text legal, news, reference, and business sources. Legal Research section contains United States federal and state case law and codes, as well as law reviews and legal news.
- LLMC Digital
Provides access to full text United States federal material and Canadian materials with an emphasis on archived older documents. Also provides access to some military law materials.
Provides the full text of selected Aspen legal treatises.
- Los Angeles Times through ProQuest: Historical (1881-1989)
- Los Angeles Times through ProQuest: Recent (1985 - )
- Mergent Horizon
Provides detailed financial information for over 6,000 publicly traded companies, including stock performance, earnings, hierachies and major competitors.
- Mergent Online
Provides current and historical balance sheet information for thousands of U.S. and international public companies.
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
Includes treatises, commentaries, festschriften on foreign, comparative and international law.
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Full text searching of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Search results provide digital images of the original text.
- The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources I & II, 1620-1970
Contains constitutional conventions and compilations (including related reports, journals, proceedings, and debates), city charters and ordinances, law dictionaries, and early U.S. state codes.
- The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600 - 1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
- The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature
Provides full text pdfs of economic literature and data (including company information and tax records) from 1460-1850.
- OnLaw (CEB)
OnLaw is a web-based research tool containing the full text of over 80 CEB publications. The link directs you to our OnLaw Instructions & Titles page.
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History provides both historical & contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems. An international & interdisciplinary reference work, the Encyclopedia covers legal history from ancient to modern times.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Provides online access to hundreds of scholarly legal books.
- Practical Law Company
Provides overviews of several practice areas, model documents, checklists and practice tips.
- Practicing Law Institute on Bloomberg
Provides the full text of over 100 different PLI treatises in a variety of practice areas.
- ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Provides access to federal legislative history information from 1789, including committee prints, documents, reports, hearings, and CRS Reports. Dates of coverage for each type of document varies.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight
Full text federal legislative histories from 1929 to the present. Includes bills, hearings, debates, reports, and presidential statements
- ProQuest Newspapers
Includes Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Wall Street Journal. Also includes the following historical newspapers: New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post, and several others.
- Rand California
An online source for California and United States statistics.
- RIA Checkpoint
Collection of full-text primary and secondary tax research materials. Contains tax documents and secondary analysis for the areas of federal, state and local, estate planning, pensions and benefits, international and payroll taxation.
- Roper Center
Database of polling data.
- Serial Set
See "United States Congressional Serial Set"
- Social Science Research Network - SSRN
Provides abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming publications. Full text is available to the law school community; registration with a law school email is required.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary databases covering sciences, social sciences and humanities. Allows for cited reference and other citation searching.
- Springer Electronic Book Package
Provides the full text of Springer books published from 2005 to the present. Subjects include law, social science and the humanities.
Portal for business and industry, government, and demographic statistics that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from some 18,000+ public and commerical sources onto a single, easy-to-search platform.