UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

California Administrative Law: Finding Regulations

This guide provides an overview for researching California administrative or regulatory law in the UCLA Law Library. This guide covers finding, updating and tracking regulations, as well as agency decisions and rulings.
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/caladminlaw

More about Title 24, The California Building Standards Code

Title 24 of the California Code of Regulations, known as California Building Standards, is not included in the online or print version of the CCR because it contains copyrighted materials under the ownership of several model code publishers and is provided by the Calfornia Building Standards Commission. The code has 12 parts and the complete code is published every three years. The current triennial edition is for 2013. 

The California Building Standards Code is available online through the California Building Standards Commission website.

 

Current Regulations

The basic working tool of regulatory law is the California Code of Regulations (CCR).  Final regulations are arranged topically and grouped by subject.  The administrative rules and regulations of California administrative agencies are grouped into 28 different titles. Title 6 was reserved for the governor, but has never been used. Title 24, the Building Code, is published separately as the California Building Standards Code (KFC 35 1990 .A2 Title 24; http://www.bsc.ca.gov/codes.aspx). See the Title 24 box to the left for more information about this title.

Barclays Official California Code of Regulations (1990- ).   Cite by title number and section number.  Example:  Title 3, California Code of Regulations, Section 432.  (Short form: 3 CCR 432)

Library: KFC 35 1990 A2 (Level 2)
LexisAdvance: Type "Barclays" in the red search box and then click on the pop up box to run a keyword search in the regulations, or click the "table of contents" link to browse.
WestlawNext: California Regulations Database
Internet:

CCR through the Office of Administrative Law 
(Excludes Title 24)

Older Regulations

The CCR was formerly called the California Administrative Code and you may encounter references under this name. 

  1. California Administrative Code, 1945-1979.

    Library: Microfiche KFC 35 1945 .A2 (Microform Room)
    Titles 1-25 (1945-47) & Registers Nos. 1-79 (1945-1979)
  2. California Administrative Code, 1982-1987. 

    Library: Microfiche KFC 35 1972 .A223 (Microform Room)
      
  3. California Code of Regulations, 1988-1990

    Library: Microfiche KFC 35 1972 .A223 (Microform Room)
  4. Barclays California Code of Regulations, 1990-. 

    Library: Microfiche KFC 35 1990 .A2 (Microform Room) (Varied coverage 1990 - 2002)
    CD-ROM KFC 35 1990 .A2 (Selected years accessible on Public Terminal #6 in the Reference Room) (2002 - Current)

Indexes to Regulations

  1. Master Index.  Barclays Official California Code of Regulations (1990- ) includes a separate Master Index that has both a subject index and a Statutes to Regulations Table.  In addition, Volume 1 of the CCR includes a Master Table of Contents, which reproduces the detailed table of contents for each title of the Code. 

    Library: KFC 35 1990 A2 (Level 2)
  2. Comprehensive Index, California Code of Regulations.  Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms, 1988-1999.   Includes a subject index and conversion tables from California codes to Code of Regulations and vice versa.

    Library: KFC 35 1972 A223 Index (Level 2 & Microform Room)
  3. Comprehensive Index, California Administrative Code.  Ann Arbor, MI:  University Microfilms, 1980-1987.   

    Library: KFC 35 1973 A223 Index (Level 2)