Skip to main content

Journal Article Research (Non-Legal): Introduction/Google Scholar

This is a brief guide to searching for online articles using resources available at UCLA.

Important Note About Access to Databases

Be sure to read the Access to Databases Guide carefully before beginning your research.

Melvyl Library Catalog

Search UCLA Libraries and Beyond

Advanced Search Search with WorldCat

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Other Internet Resources

More and more scholarly resources are becoming available on the Web. Below is a list of a few well-regarded sites for journals and other academic resources. Click the "i" icon next to each resource for more information.

Introduction

This guide is designed to help you conduct research outside the realm of traditional legal materials.  Periodicals (magazines, journals, etc.) provide a rich source of scholarly and non-scholarly articles of general interest or in specific subject matter areas and disciplines.  This guide is designed to assist researchers in locating periodical materials online through the hundreds of e-resources available in the UCLA Library system.

As there are a variety of ways to conduct online research of periodicals, the instructions in this guide are by no means exhaustive.  However, they are intended to help you conduct your research and find relevant materials as efficiently and completely as possible. Keep in mind that not all articles are available online.  In some cases, although UCLA may have an electronic subscription to a journal or magazine, the article you want may not be within the scope of coverage of that subscription.  In other cases, only the abstract will be available in electronic form.  If the full text of your article is not available online, you may still be able to obtain a print copy at one of the libraries on campus.

Can't I just Google it?

You might be surprised to know that the answer to that question is yes--if you use Google Scholar! 

What is Google Scholar?


Google Scholar provides easy access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." In addition, the UC system has partnered with Google Scholar, so that links to some resources licensed by UC and UCLA will appear within Google Scholar! When using Google Scholar from on campus or from home with a UCLA IP address, "UC-eLinks" willl appear next to results where UC has a subscription to that resource.

Below is a sample title search where Google Scholar indicates that the article is available through "UC-eLinks" and provides you with a direct link to a full text PDF version.

Keep in mind that not all UC/UCLA licensed resources are searchable through Google Scholar.  Google Scholar will not enable you conduct the most comprehensive research, but it may be a good place to "get your feet wet." Google Scholar searches across databases and can quickly help you find an appropriate licensed resource to begin your more in-depth research.  It also may often be the quickest way to find a full-text version of a known item (i.e., one you already have some information about).

Ready to get started?  Just type your search in the Google Scholar box to the left of this box or go to http://scholar.google.com/.

UCLA Library links for Article & Database Searching

Quick List of Helpful Links