Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian Law & Tribal Law Materials: Home

HeinOnline's American Indian Law Collection is accessible across the UCLA campus (and off campus with a VPN).  It contains over 3,300 titles and more than 1.4 million pages relating to American Indian Law, including the following materials:

Many governments, including Indigenous national, tribal and community governments, are transitioning from print to solely digital formats for publishing their laws.  The LOC's Law Library is working to collect and preserve these materials.  To further these collection and preservation aims, the Library has created the Indigenous Law Web Archive, a collection of constitutions, codes, executive orders, and court forms and information of sovereign Indigenous governments and courts of 578 federally recognized nations, communities, and tribes in the United States, as well as some Indigenous legal information from Canada, published online.

Developed by the University of Arizona as an online resource center for Indigenous people across the nation.  It contains articles, case studies, videos, and other resources focused on governance, sovereignty, leadership, and sustainable economic and community development.

Sign up for a free VersusLaw Law School account. VersusLaw includes a Tribal Court Decisions database (see next tab).

Below is a selected list of sources, for which you must have a Lexis ID to access. The law school provides accounts for law students, law faculty, and law staff only.

To access Westlaw's Native American Law materials, click on the Practice Areas tab of the WestlawNext homepage, and then click on Native American Law.  Below is a description of these materials, along with a direct link.

For a complete list of Tower Reading Room (TRR) books, see http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/trrcollection. Note that only UCLA law students, faculty, and staff may check out books from the TRR.

The following online research guides are great places to start. Also see the books listed in the box below.