Skip to main content

Law Library Tour

An online tour of the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library at UCLA School of Law
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/librarytour

First Floor Home

Law Library Main Stairwell


The entrance to the Law Library is on the First Floor, where you will see the main stairwell and the Hugh & Hazel Darling donor column (pictured above). Immediately on the right is the Circulation Desk and to the left is the Main Reading Room. On the First Floor, you will also find:

Law Library First Floor Map

Circulation Desk / Reserve Collection

Law Library Circulation Desk


As you enter the Library, the Circulation Desk is to your right. Circulation Desk staff will assist you with general or directional questions, checking out or returning books, getting items from the reserve collection, searching for missing books and accepting interlibrary loan requests and more.

Reserve Collection

The Reserve collection is located in closed stacks behind the circulation area, and materials should be requested at the Circulation Desk. The reserve collection provides Law Students with easy access to course-related, frequently requested, and heavily used materials. Reserve materials are generally checked out for two hour periods.

The Reserve Collection includes:

  • Hard Copy Course Reserve: At least one copy of all materials (including APS materials) that students are required to purchase for courses given at the UCLA School of Law during the current semester is available. Supplementary materials may be placed on hard copy or electronic reserve by School of Law Faculty.
  • Permanent Reserve: Selected titles from the collection, including hornbooks, nutshells and other frequently used materials, are kept on Reserve. These materials are listed on the UCLA Library Catalog with the location "Law Library Reserve."  

Law & Popular Culture Collection

We have an extensive collection of videos and DVDs for the Law & Popular Culture course (Law 595). These can be viewed in one of the two library conference rooms equipped with video and/or DVD players or in many cases they can be checked out for overnight use. (Please note: priority use of these rooms and the video collection is given to students using them for required coursework.) Also, chess boards, backgammon sets and dominoes can be checked out from the Circulation Desk for use within the library. A list of Law & Popular Culture titles is available online.

Law Library Circulation Desk Map

Reference Desk & Reference Reading Room

Law Library Reference Desk


Reference Reading Room

The Reference Reading Room, located just past the central stairway on the First floor of the library, contains general reference materials and our self-help law collection, which includes many Nolo publications. Several public computers are also available in this room for accessing the UCLA Library Catalog, Shepard's Citators (now available only online from two computers within this room), and for other research purposes.

Reference Desk

The Reference Desk is located in the Reference Reading Room. Desk hours change according to school sessions. Current Reference Desk hours are available on the Hours page.

LibGuides Research Guide Series

The library staff has compiled a number of online research guides, which indicate the locations of materials within the law library and also list locations of materials on LexisNexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg and the Web where available. These guides are available online at https://libguides.law.ucla.edu.

1st Floor Map Reference

Student Computer Lab / Lab Computers

Student Computer Lab

The Student Computer Lab is located on the first floor of the Libray in Room 1112P.  The lab provides computers and printers for law student use only, as well as technical support. The lab is open nearly all hours the library is open, though support hours may vary. Additional lab computer stations are located just outside the lab to the left along the west wall of the stacks and on the east side of the Reference Reading Room.

Visit the LawNET Information Technology page on MyLaw for more information about hours, services and staffing hours.

Law Student Only Scanner

The library and IT maintain a high-quality color scanner for exclusive use of UCLA Law Students for unlimited free scanning, which is housed in the Student Computer Lab. Scans can be downloaded to a flash drive, saved to the cloud, emailed, or scanned by QR code into your device. An addition scanner is located in the Microform / Copy Room at the North end of the first floor.

Public Lockers

The Library has a bank of public lockers located outside of the Student Computer Lab. These are available to library users for 25 cents per use (you must deposit a quarter to release the key).

1st Floor Map Student Computer Lab

Main Reading Room

Law Library Main Reading Room

The Main Reading Room is home to federal cases, some case digests and legal encyclopedias like AmJur and Corpus Juris Secundum. Its spacious tables and beautiful setting make it one of the most popular places to study in the Library.

First Floor Map Main Reading Room

Rosenfield East Reading Room

Law Library East Reading Room

The Rosenfield East Reading Room is home to federal primary legal materials, including U.S. Supreme Court cases, federal statutes and regulations, and the legislative history materials contained in USSCAN. This reading room also houses current newspapers, couches, arm chairs, and study tables, with large windows and lots of natural light.

First Floor Map East Reading Room

North Reading Room

Law Library North Reading Room

The North Reading Room is home to our Regional Reporters, such as the Pacific Reporter and Atlantic Reporter, as well as digests, Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court, and American Law Reports (ALR). The Microform Room is located on the North end.

First Floor Map North Reading Room

Microform Room / Copy Room

Law Library Microform Room

Microforms

The Law Library collection includes over 97,000 microforms. A microform reader-printer is available to read and print both microfilm and microfiche. Details are listed below.

Copying

There are two photocopiers in the Microform Room (and one on the Second Floor). We also have a Microform Reader/Printer. To use the copier, you must have funds on your BruinCard to which you can add at the "Value Transfer Station" near the Circulation Desk.  Copies are 9 cents per page for UCLA users and 16 cents per page for non-UCLA users. Microform copying is 15 cents per copy for UCLA users and 27 cents per copy for visitors.Complete information about Self-Service Copying and Printing is available on the Library's Services page.

First Floor Map Microform Room

Stacks K - KD 400, including Legal Periodicals

!st Floor Stacks

Law Reviews / Journals

The Law Library’s collection of legal periodicals is located on the First Floor underneath the Mezzanine. Titles are shelved alphabetically in call numbers K 1 - 30.

Stacks

The First Floor stacks at the west of the building underneath the Mezzanine contain call numbers K 1 – KD 400, which encompass multiple areas of law, such as law and sociology, comparative and international materials, as well as English cases, statutes and digests. 

 

First Floor Map Stacks