This is the "Home" page of the "Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian Law & Tribal Law Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian Law & Tribal Law Materials   Tags: indian, native_american, tribal, tribe  

Covers both tribal law sources, including tribal constitutions, tribal codes and tribal court decisions, and federal law sources, including treaties.
Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/nativeamerican Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Indigenous Governance Database

Developed by the University of Arizona as an online resource center for Indigenous people across the nation. Pulls together in one central location articles, case studies, videos and other resources focused on governance, sovereignty, leadership, and sustainable economic and community development.

VersusLaw

Sign up for a free VersusLaw Law School account. VersusLaw includes a Tribal Court Decisions database (see next tab).

  • VersusLaw Law School Program  
      
    Create a new account from this page (or reactivate an exisiting account). Access to the Premium Plan is available from August 15 through July 15 of the following year. You must reactivate your account each year after August 15.
  • VersusLaw
    Sign in to VersusLaw (button on the left). After you sign in, you may select the library you would like to search. Click on the link to "Complete Library Directory" for more information on content and dates of coverage. Also, there is a FAQ/Help link in the upper right corner (above the Logout button).

LexisNexis Sources

From the LexisNexis Classic Search Legal page, go to Area of Law - By Topic, then click on Native American Law.

Below is a selected list of sources. You must have a Lexis ID to access. The law school provides accounts for law students, law faculty and law staff only.

Westlaw Databases

Native American law materials are not included in our academic subscription. We have access to only the following databases.

If you are searching for cases, you may use Topic 209 - Indians.

  • Native Land Law  Icon
    This treatise discusses general principles of law relating to Native lands and natural resources.
  • Am. Jur. 2d. - Indians; Native Americans  Icon
    This link will take you to a result list of over 230 sections within the topic area "Indians; Native Americans." Open a result and click on Table of Contents to view the contents.
 

New Tower Reading Room book

For a complete list of Tower Reading Room (TRR) books, see http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/trrcollection. Note that only UCLA law students, faculty and staff may check out books from the TRR.

Cover Art
Code Talker - Chester Nez; Judith Schiess Avila
Call Number: TRR Nez
ISBN: 0425244237
Publication Date: 2011
From the book description: He is the only original World War II Navajo code talker still alive—and this is his story . . .

His name wasn’t Chestesr Nez. That was the English name he was assigned in kindergarten. And in boarding school at Fort Defiance, he was punished for speaking his native language, as the teachers sought to rid him of his culture and traditions. But discrimination didn’t stop Chester from answering the call to defend his country after Pearl Harbor, for the Navajo have always been warriors, and his upbringing on a New Mexico reservation gave him the strength—both physical and mental—to excel as a marine.

During World War II, the Japanese had managed to crack every code the United States used. But when the Marines turned to its Navajo recruits to develop and implement a secret military language, they created the only unbroken code in modern warfare—and helped assure victory for the United States over Japan in the South Pacific.

Getting Started - Online Guides

The following online research guides are great places to start. Also see the books listed in the box below.

 

Getting Started - Print Sources

Cover Art
American Indian Law in a Nutshell - William C. Canby
Call Number: KF 8205 .Z9 C36 2009
ISBN: 031419519X
Publication Date: 2009
Law Library Reserve

Cover Art
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law - Felix S. Cohen & Nell Jessup Newton
Call Number: KF 8205 .C6 2012
ISBN: 0769855164
Publication Date: 2012
Law Library Stacks.
[Note: If you have a Lexis ID, you can get online access. See box to the left for direct link.]

 

Other Helpful Print Sources

Cover Art
American Indian Law Deskbook - Conference of Western Attorneys General Staff
Call Number: KF 8205 .A76 2008
ISBN: 0870819259
Publication Date: 2009
Law Library Stacks

Cover Art
American Indian Law: Native Nations and the Federal System - Carole E. Goldberg; Robert N. Clinton
Call Number: KF 8204.5 C55 2010
ISBN: 1422476472
Publication Date: 2010
Law Library Reserve

Cover Art
American Indian Sovereignty and Law - Wade Davies (Editor); Richmond Clow (Editor)
Call Number: KF 8201 .A1 A44 2009
ISBN: 0810862352
Publication Date: 2009
Young Research Library

Cover Art
American Indian Tribal Law - Mathew L.M. Fletcher
Call Number: KF 8205 .F54 2011
ISBN: 0735599750
Publication Date: 2011
Law Library Reserve

Cover Art
American Indians and the Law - N. Bruce Duthu; Colin G. Calloway (Editor)
Call Number: KF 8210 .R32 D88 2008
ISBN: 0670018570
Publication Date: 2008
Law Library Stacks

Cover Art
Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies - Justin B. Richland; Sarah Deer
Call Number: KF 8205 .R53 2010
ISBN: 0759112118
Publication Date: 2010
Law Library Reserve

Cover Art
Native Americans and the Law - Gary A. Sokolow
Call Number: KF 8203.6 .S66 2000
ISBN: 0874368774
Publication Date: 2000
Law Library Stacks

Cover Art
Native Americans and the Law: Contemporary and Historical Perspectives on American Indian Rights, Freedoms, and Sovereignty - John R. Wunder
Call Number: KF 8205 .A1 N38 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Law Library Stacks, Second Floor; 6 volumes: Vol. 1. Native American law and colonialism, before 1776 to 1903 -- v. 2. Constitutionalism and native Americans, 1903-1968 -- v. 3. The Indian Bill of Rights, 1968 -- v. 4. Recent legal issues for American Indians, 1968 to the present -- v. 5. Native American cultural and religious freedoms -- v. 6. Native American sovereignty.

Cover Art
The Rights of Indians and Tribes - Stephen Pevar
Call Number: KF 8210 .C5 P48 2012
ISBN: 0199795355
Publication Date: 2012-01-25
Law Library Stacks


My Profile

Profile Image
June Kim
Contact Info
Send Email

Organizations

Directories

Research Guide Articles


HUGH & HAZEL DARLING LAW LIBRARY • UCLA SCHOOL OF LAW
385 CHARLES E. YOUNG DRIVE, EAST • LOS ANGELES, CA 90095-1458 • PHONE: 310.825.4743

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip