Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
- Amazon App Store
The Amazon App Store is curated by reviewers. Android users may search, browse, and purchase apps in the store and special discounts on apps and a "free app of the day" may be offered.
AppsZoom (formerly AndroidZoom) is a search alternative for Android, and now iOS, users. Apps may be downloaded from the site by using links or scanning QR Codes.
- Apple Web Apps
Easier to navigate than the iTunes App Store, allows users to search and browse iPhone and iPad web apps.
- Blackberry App World
Available online and as a download for Blackberry smartphones. Users may browse and search apps.
- Evernote App Center
Evernote App Center (formerly Evernote Trunk) is an app store for Evernote users and Center features many add-ons for users of the Evernote mobile productivity app.
- Facebook App Center
The Facebook App Center highlights "high-quality social apps that run on its platform." The apps are not hosted on the Facebook platform -- links point to websites from which the apps may be downloaded.
- Facebook App Store
Handy features include a Featured tab, which helps you identify popular and "essential" apps available in the iTunes store and a Search & Share tab that allows you to search for and to share links to apps within Facebook.
- Google Play
Users may browse--and now search--for Android apps at this site both from their devices and online. Google Play was formerly known as Android Market.
- Mobile Apps for Law
Mobile Apps for Law is a searchable database that includes links and information for more than 900 mobile apps for all kinds of devices. The database features a user-friendly interface that makes searching a breeze. For details about pricing, click HERE
- New York Times App Index
Described as a collection of all of the mobile app coverage that has appeared in The New York Times. Includes lists of favorite apps from Times writers.
- Nokia Store
This site allows Nokia smartphone users to search and browse apps compatible with their devices.
A great tool for searching hundreds of thousands of iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch applications.
- USA.gov Mobile Apps
This site provides information and download links for a variety of mobile apps created by the U.S. government.
Mobile applications are becoming increasingly popular and relevant to all aspects of our daily lives. This LibGuide highlights a number of mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Please check each listing for download links for your specific device. If you know of a mobile app that is not listed in this guide, please let us know by sharing the link in the box below titled "Got Apps?"
A word of caution: while many mobile apps are incredibly helpful, they should not be used as replacements for official sources of law. Please rely on the official sources available at the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, in your employer's law library, or on certified governmental websites when referencing sources of law.
California Courts (iOS)
The California Courts app facilitates access to California's bar directory of attorneys, PACER, the California rules of procedure, federal rules of procedure, California appellate court opinions, appellate dockets, and more. The app is $2.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
Cite-Checker App: Your Guide to Using the Bluebook (iOS)
Many thanks to Deborah Bouchoux, who alerted us to the app she developed entitled Cite Checker: Your Guide to Using The Bluebook, which was published by Wolters Kluwer. Cite-Checker is easy to navigate and provides explanations of Bluebook rules and illustrates the application of rules with examples. The app also features a quiz that users may take to test their Bluebook knowledge. The app may be purchased from the iTunes App Store
Court Directory (iOS)
Court Directory by Bloomberg BNA is an iOS app that provides information about federal, state, and territorial courts in the United States. The app provides listings for state and federal court administrators, contact information for clerks and courts, information about the official reporters for case law in each state, and more. The app may be downloaded for $9.99 from the iTunes App Store
eDepoze is an app optimized for the iPad that provides convenient access to digitized deposition exhibits and other documents through a secure, cloud-based software system. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
Hudway is an augmented reality app that provides a Heads-Up Display for drivers on their windshields, projecting images of road directions that are particularly helpful in low visibility conditions. Simply place your device on the dashboard with the Hudway app open, and the projected images will appear. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
. An app for Droid devices is in development.
Paper Chase: Contracts (iOS)
Paper Chase: Contracts is an iOS app designed to help law students study for first-year contracts courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
SCOTUSblog is the mobile app version of the popular blog that offers comprehensive coverage of cases and breaking news concerning the Supreme Court of the United States. The app provides access to news notifications, briefs and analysis for every case on the SCOTUS merits docket and cert. petitions that could be granted, videos, and more. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
U.S.C. is a reference app that provides full access to all titles of the United States Code. The app is optimized for use on the iPad and you may bookmark sections, search by keyword or citation, and forward sections of text via email. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
Mobileappsforlaw.com hosts a free RSS feed that provides information regarding new mobile apps that may be of interest to law students and lawyers. To view the full entry for featured apps, users must be subscribed to the Mobileappsforlaw.com database. Additional information about the database may be found at www.mobileappsforlaw.com.
Please note that we are working hard to add more links to apps for non-Apple devices, such as the Android, Blackberry, and Palm as they become available. If you know of a mobile application that might be of interest to law students and lawyers that is not listed in this Guide, please help make this Guide better by emailing the author (firstname.lastname@example.org) or by submitting a link to the app here. Simply click on the "Submit a Link" button below and enter the requested information. Thanks!
A big thank you to everyone who has submitted apps! Keep 'em coming!
What type of smartphone or handheld device do you use? If you use more than one type of device (such as the iPad and an Android phone), please let us know the types in a comment. Thank you!