UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

Environmental Law Research Guide: WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, & Bloomberg Law

URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/environmental

WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law

All of these digital resources are only available to the Law School community. Some individual resources noted here may be available in print in the library, but digital access for the general public is not available.

Westlaw Resources

WestlawNext offers curated lists of materials including cases, statutes, regulations, and secondary sources, on specific areas of law under their Practice Areas tab. Visit the Energy & Environment Practice Area to see the resources that Westlaw offers.

Highlights of Westlaw offerings include:

State Environmental Law discusses state laws and regulations along with emerging trends in environmental law.

Clean Air Act Handbook covers both federal and state clean air regulation.

RCRA & Superfund: A Practice Guide provides in depth analysis of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) and the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) and discusses legislative and regulatory initiatives, administrative trends, and judicial decisions related to the regulation of hazardous waste.

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance offers Practice Centers that provides a selection of Environmental Law resources including cases, statutes, regulations, forms, legal news, and secondary sources. 

Highlights of Lexis offerings include:

Treatise on Environmental Law provides broad coverage of environmental law topics from climate change to hazardous substances. It reviews emerging issues and international initiatives. This is a great resource for beginning your research.

Waters and Water Rights gives an overview of water rights and proceeds to an in depth analysis of the complex legal issues surrounding water. It includes state specific discussion of water law.

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law is a relative newcomer to legal databases and offers some traditional content along with unique resources that may be useful in your research. Environmental & Safety Practice Centers offers compiled resources including BNA resources. 

Highlights of Bloomberg Law offerings include:

The BNA Portfolio on The Environmental Impact Statement Process "covers pre-statement procedures, the content and format of the statement, responses to the statement, decision-making based on the statement, and the role that counsel for a private applicant should take in the statement process."

EPA Compliance and Enforcement Answer Book covers practical topics including compliance reporting, criminal enforcement, and civil penalties.