This is the "Database Access Information" page of the "Important Information about Access to Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Important Information about Access to Databases   Tags: database_access, databases, lexisnexis, licensed_resources, online_resources, westlaw  

Many resources listed in these guides require UC, UCLA or UCLA Law School IP addresses for access. Other resources, such as Westlaw & LexisNexis, require individual user accounts. Be sure to read this guide before using our other LibGuides.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/databaseaccess Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Database Access Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

LexisNexis and Westlaw Access

IMPORTANT:  LEXISNEXIS & WESTLAW ARE SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES THAT REQUIRE INDIVIDUAL USER ACCOUNTS FOR ACCESS!


You will see links to LexisNexis and Westlaw databases throughout our guides, however, according to our contract with these companies, the UCLA Law Library is able to provide these accounts ONLY for UCLA Law Students, Staff and Faculty!  Non-UCLA users should contact the companies directly for access.

 

Glossary of Terms

IP-restricted Resource: Almost all of the resources licensed for the UC system and UCLA are IP-restricted resources.  You don't need a specific password for each of these resources, but you do need be using a computer on a UCLA network.  If you are off campus, you can use the proxy server or a VPN to give your computer a UCLA IP address.

BruinOnline (BOL) Proxy Server: Provides the UCLA community with access to UC & UCLA IP-restricted resources, by making computers on non-UCLA networks appear to these resources as if they are coming from the UCLA campus.

Virtual Private Network (VPN):  A VPN is a secured private network connection built on top of publicly accessible infrastructure. The VPN provides an alternative to using the proxy server for remote access to campus resources. There are two VPNs available to UCLA Law Students: The Law School VPN and the UCLA Campus VPN.  Mac users need to use the campus VPN as the law school VPN currently does not work with Macs.  To find out more about how VPNs work, view the short, fun video on the right "Virtual Private Matrix."

 

Using UC, UCLA & UCLA Law Licensed Resources

Some items in these guides are links to UC, UCLA or UCLA Law licensed database resources; these are indicated by notes such as UC only, UCLA Only or UCLA Law School only next to the title. These resources are available from all public computers in the library, as well as all computers signed into the Law School network either through Ethernet or Wireless access.

However, when using these materials from off‐campus, UCLA Students, Staff and Faculty will need to use either the Law School VPN (for Law School community only), the UCLA VPN or the BruinOnline Proxy Server to gain access. When you click on the link and you are prompted by that specific database to enter a password, it means that the proxy server or VPN still needs to be set up (or if you have already set up a VPN connection, it may just need to be activated).

The various off-campus access options are presented below, in order of preference for UCLA Law Students.

 

UCLA Law School VPN (UCLA Law Community Only)

For the UCLA Law School Community, using the Law School Virtual Private Network (VPN) is the preferred method since it gives you access to resources licensed for the Law School community only†, as well as to all other resources licensed to UCLA and UC. Instructions for setting up the Law School Student VPN are found on the LawNET MyLaw Site (login required) - look for the "Remote Access" documents category on the rigth side of the home page. Contact help@law.ucla.edu or (310) 825-4689 for assistance.

Be sure to login to the VPN with your LawNet account before beginning your research.

†For a complete list of resources that are restricted to the UCLA Law School Community, visit our Law Library Digital Collection page. Restricted resources are indicated by a lock icon:

 

UCLA Campus VPN (UCLA Students, Staff and Faculty)

A VPN is a secured private network connection built on top of publicly accessible infrastructure. The VPN provides an alternative to using the proxy server for remote access to campus resources. To use the campus VPN, you must first create a UCLA  Logon ID if you don't already have one.  Simply go to: https://logon.ucla.edu.  After creating a UCLA Logon ID, follow the instructions on the BruinOnline VPN page.

Be sure to login to the VPN with your UCLA Logon ID before beginning your research.

PLEASE NOTE: The UCLA Campus VPN not give you access to Law School restricted resources. For these, you must use the Law School VPN -- See box above.

 

BruinOnline Proxy Server (UCLA Students, Staff and Faculty)

To use the BOL Proxy server, you must first create a BOL Logon ID if you don't already have one.  Simply go to: https://logon.ucla.edu.  After creating a BOL ID, follow the instructions to configure your computer for access to the BOL Proxy Server.  Once this has been set‐up, you will only be prompted to enter your UCLA logon ID and password the first time you need to access a restricted database in any given internet session.  

 

Want to know more about VPNs?

Check out this YouTube Video "Virtual Private Matrix."

My Profile

Profile Image
Donna Gulnac
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
(310) 794-5408
Send Email
 

Find us on Facebook!

 

Using CEB's OnLaw

CEB OnLaw contain's full text of many California Continuing Education of the Bar (CEB) publications and treatises.  These titles are available only to the UCLA Law School community, therefore users must be using computers on the Law School network, including Law Library public computers, or the Law School VPN from home in order to gain access.

More details on using this resource and available titles is available from the CEB OnLaw page of this guide.


HUGH & HAZEL DARLING LAW LIBRARY • UCLA SCHOOL OF LAW
385 CHARLES E. YOUNG DRIVE, EAST • LOS ANGELES, CA 90095-1458 • PHONE: 310.825.4743

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip